Place of Direct Shipment

Memorandum D13-3-4

Ottawa, April 28, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (71 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been updated to include information on the identification of the place of direct shipment to Canada of goods transported through an intermediate country before they are imported to Canada.

This memorandum explains how the place of direct shipment is determined under the value for duty provisions of the Customs Act.


Legislation

Customs Act
Direct Shipment of Goods Regulations


Guidelines and General Information

1. Sections 44 to 56 of the Customs Act (the Act)require that transportation and associated costs of imported goods be determined to properly apply all methods of valuation. To determine how these costs are treated under all methods of valuation, you must establish the place of direct shipment. For more information on transportation and associated costs, refer to Memorandum D13-3-3, Transportation and Associated Costs.

Place of Direct Shipment

2. The extent to which transportation charges will be part of the value for duty depends on what is called "the place of direct shipment to Canada." To establish the place of direct shipment, it may be helpful to examine the three following elements that are involved in the transportation of goods: the event, the time, and the place.

Event

3. Some type of event will have occurred to cause the goods to be shipped to Canada. The event will be determined based on the circumstances of the importation. For example, in a case where goods are sold for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada and the goods are shipped to Canada directly from the foreign vendor's premises, the sale would be the event which caused the goods to be shipped to Canada.

Time

4. The time is the specific moment the goods begin their journey to Canada. It will be the moment when Canada can be identified as the specific destination for the goods. It is also from this time that the date of direct shipment is determined for the purpose of identifying foreign currency exchange rates so that the value for duty of the goods can be expressed in Canadian dollars.

Place

5. The place will be the physical location of the goods when the event and the time coincide.

Establishing the Place of Direct Shipment

6. The place of direct shipment is the physical location of the goods, following an event, at the point in time when the goods begin their direct and uninterrupted journey to a specific destination in Canada. This will usually be the location where the goods are loaded onto the carrier with a specific location in Canada identified on transportation documents as their destination.

7. For example, a Canadian firm purchases 5,000 jewelry boxes from a Mexican manufacturer. The jewelry boxes are manufactured, painted, and packed in cartons at the manufacturer's plant in Mexico City and transported by truck directly from the plant to the firm in Canada.

8. The sale between the Canadian firm and the supplier in Mexico is the event which caused goods to be shipped to Canada. The time is the moment the cartons containing the jewelry boxes are identified as being destined for a specific Canadian location. The coincidence of the event and the time serve to establish the place of direct shipment. Given these facts, the place of direct shipment is the manufacturer's plant in Mexico City.

Transhipment

9. The Direct Shipment of Goods Regulations require that the direct journey of goods exported from another country with a Canadian destination that pass through an intermediate country must be uninterrupted. However, for a number of reasons, goods which are shipped to Canada may stop at some place along their route. If the journey is broken temporarily because the goods must change carriers, the goods are said to be transhipped. This point along the route is a transhipment point. Transhipment also occurs when goods are consolidated or deconsolidated to make shipping easier, more convenient or more cost effective. This type of stoppage along the way is not considered to interrupt the direct journey of the goods to Canada. Minor operations at the transhipment point, such as adding extra packing needed to protect the goods on the next carrier, are also not considered to interrupt the direct journey to Canada of the goods. In these cases, the transhipment does not affect the identification of the place of direct shipment.

10. It should be noted that activities at an intermediate point along the route, even if the goods remain under foreign customs control, which change or enhance the goods or add extra value to them will cause this intermediate point to be considered the place of direct shipment. If the goods are warehoused at a location along the route for any reason other than transhipment, even if they remain under foreign customs control, the warehouse would be considered the place of direct shipment. This presumes that the journey of the goods to Canada is not interrupted again along their route.

First Example

11. A Canadian firm located in Vancouver wishes to purchase plywood sheets. A Denver, Colorado company manufactures plywood sheets. Purchase orders from American and Canadian customers are all submitted to the factory in Denver. Once orders are received from the Vancouver firm, the requested amount of sheets are manufactured at the factory and shipped in bundles by truck to a reloading centre 100 kilometers from Denver. The commercial invoice prepared at the factory indicates the Vancouver firm as the purchaser, the date the bundles are transported to the reloading centre, and that Vancouver is the ultimate destination of the sheets. These bundles are taken off the truck at the reloading centre and stored there until six days later, when they are loaded on a single railcar and shipped to their Vancouver destination. The freight invoice from the rail carrier shows Vancouver as the destination of the sheets, and references the vendor's commercial invoice number.

12. The event that prompted the shipment of the sheets to Canada is the sale between the Denver vendor and the Vancouver. The commercial invoice indicates that Vancouver was identified as the destination of a specific amount of bundles of sheets at the time the goods were shipped from the Denver factory. The reloading centre is only a transhipment point as the bundles are merely awaiting a carrier change. The coincidence of the event and time serve to establish the place of direct shipment. In this example, that place is Denver.

13. In this example, assuming the requirements of the transaction value method are satisfied, any charge borne by the Vancouver firm to transport the goods from the place of direct shipment and invoiced separately is not to be added to the price paid or payable of the imported sheets. Any charge included in the invoice price to recover the vendor's actual cost to transport the goods from the place of direct shipment may be deducted from the price paid or payable of the imported sheets.

Second Example

14. In a situation similar to the one described in the first example, the Denver company continually produces plywood sheets regardless of the orders that are received. Once the sheets are produced and bundled, they are immediately shipped to the reloading centre. On March 15, the Vancouver firm sends a purchase order to the Denver factory requesting them to ship 2,000 sheets of plywood to Vancouver. On March 17, 2,000 sheets at the reloading centre are loaded onto a rail car. The freight invoice from the rail carrier shows Vancouver as the ultimate destination of the sheets.

15. The event that prompted the shipment of the sheets to Canada is the sale between the Denver company and the Vancouver firm. The time is March 17, which is the moment the loaded rail car identified by a "destination tag" to Vancouver begins its direct and uninterrupted journey to Canada. Again, the coincidence of the event and the time establishes the place of direct shipment. In this case, it is the reloading centre, as it is only from this place that the goods begin their direct and uninterrupted journey to Canada.

16. The plywood sheets may have been produced the day before, the day after, or the same day that the order was received. It is not important to know when the plywood sheets were produced or when they were shipped to the reloading centre. The key point to consider is that it is impossible to link the Vancouver firm's order with any specific sheets of plywood leaving the factory until the moment in time the plywood sheets are identified with a "destination tag" or other type of documentation such as a bill of lading, a waybill, or an invoice indicating the Vancouver destination. When the plywood sheets leave the factory, it is not known at that time which specific sheets are destined for Canada. Denver, Colorado is therefore not the place of direct shipment.

Third Example

17. A Canadian purchaser negotiates a supply agreement with a Japanese manufacturer to purchase a certain amount of chain-saws, for a fixed price, over a one-year period. The purchaser does not have sufficient space in Canada to warehouse the requested amount of chain-saws all at once. The manufacturer produces chain-saws regularly and transports them to its warehouse at an ocean port in Japan. The Canadian purchaser will issue a release order once a month for a specified number of the chain-saws. Per their agreement, the purchaser will pay on a monthly basis for the chain-saws shipped during that month. Release orders from various customers, including the orders received from the Canadian purchaser, are filled from stock in the manufacturer's warehouse.

18. The event that prompted the shipment of the chain-saws to Canada is the transmission of the monthly release orders by the purchaser, not the supply agreement, since that agreement has not caused goods to be shipped to Canada. Each time a release order is issued by the purchaser, the specified number of chain-saws is prepared, identified as being destined to Canada, and shipped, therefore establishing the time the goods begin their continuous journey to Canada. The coincidence between the event and the time establishes the place of direct shipment. In this case, it is the warehouse, not the manufacturer's premises.

Fourth Example

19. A Canadian purchaser of cut and bundled flowers receives a shipment with a sales invoice from a grower in South America. The flowers were harvested in South America and then transported in bulk to a warehouse in the United States (US) where they were separated into lots and identified for delivery to individual customers both in Canada and in the US. The flowers were accounted for to US Customs upon arrival in the US and released from customs control. They were then sent to a local warehouse to be separated and packaged for individual Canadian and American customers.

20. The event which caused the specific quantity of flowers to be shipped to the Canadian purchaser is the separation of the flowers at the American warehouse following their release from customs control and not the sale between the purchaser and the South American grower. Even if the commercial invoice from the grower identifies the parties to the sale transaction and indicates that a quantity of the goods departed the place of export "destined for Canada", the fact that the goods are cleared by a foreign Customs authority precludes the grower's premises from being the place of direct shipment. The time is the moment at which the separation for packaging at the American warehouse occurs. By clearing US Customs, the goods cannot be said to have passed "in transit" through the US. The accounting of the flowers to US Customs and their subsequent release was an interruption of their journey, and the time of direct shipment cannot be identified before the interruption occurred. The concurrence of the event and time establish the place of direct shipment. In this case, the American warehouse is the place of direct shipment.

21. Alternatively, if a quantity of flowers is separately identified as destined for Canada before leaving the grower's South America premises and is delivered to a customs bonded warehouse in an intermediate country without clearing customs control or otherwise entering the intermediate country's economy, then the event is the sale of the goods to the Canadian purchaser and the time is established when the goods were labeled with a Canadian destination. In these circumstances, the grower's South America premises are the place of direct shipment.

22. In different circumstances, a quantity of flowers is harvested and delivered to a customs bonded warehouse in an intermediate country. Purchase orders from individual customers are only received after the flowers leave their country of origin. The event which causes the shipment to Canada is the sale of the goods to a Canadian purchaser. The time is established when the goods were labeled with a Canadian destination. In this case the labelling occurs at the customs bonded warehouse after the goods leave the grower's premises. The warehouse is the place of direct shipment. Even if the grower anticipated selling the goods to a Canadian customer, no confirmation exists that Canada was the destination of the goods when they were exported from their country of origin.

Documentation Needed

23. In support of the value for duty declaration, an importer must possess documentation that indicates the place of direct shipment and the date of direct shipment (the date the goods began their continuous and uninterrupted journey to Canada). It should be noted that there is no prescribed requirement that only a specific document is acceptable. Place and/or date of direct shipment may be identified on commercial invoices, confirmations of sale, destination tags, and freight invoices. A bill of lading may also be an acceptable source of information. Sometimes, however, a bill of lading may only cover the shipment from the seaport in the country of export to the Canadian destination. An inland bill of lading may also be needed to substantiate that the Canadian destination of the goods was known at the place and at the time the goods began their journey to Canada.

24. Documentation should also support the identification of the event that caused the goods to be shipped to Canada. It may be necessary for importers to obtain this information from sources other than the vendor (e.g., agent, exporter, transportation company).

25. For example, a Canadian purchaser of clothing in Winnipeg places an order for cotton shirts with a manufacturer in Hong Kong. The purchaser instructs the manufacturer to ship the shirts by boat to San Francisco. The purchaser makes arrangements to unload the shirts at San Francisco where a trucking company will consolidate them with other goods and deliver them to Winnipeg.

26. The event which caused the shirts to be shipped to Winnipeg is the sale between the purchaser and the Hong Kong manufacturer. The time is the moment the shirts left the manufacturer's plant in Hong Kong to begin their direct journey to Canada. If the commercial invoice only indicates that the shirts were sold to a Canadian customer for shipment to San Francisco, documentation from the trucking company would be necessary to support that the shirts were collected in San Francisco without clearing US Customs before being loaded with other goods for delivery to Canada. Such documentation supports that the place of direct shipment is the manufacturer's plant in Hong Kong.

27. For more information on the treatment of transportation costs in a calculation of value for duty in circumstances where a Canadian importer collects its goods at an intermediate point outside Canada and subsequently imports them into Canada, refer to Memorandum D13-3-5, Treatment of Transportation Costs for Goods Delivered to a Location Outside of Canada for Subsequent Importation.

Currency Conversion

28. If any element of the value for duty calculation is expressed in a foreign currency it must be converted to Canadian funds using the exchange rate that is recognized by the Canada Border Services Agency for that foreign currency on the date of direct shipment. For additional information on currency conversion, refer to Memorandum D13-2-3, Exchange Rate for Calculation of Value for Duty Under the Customs Act.

Additional Information

29. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
79070-4-4
Other references :
Superseded memorandum "D"-
D13-3-4, dated July 11, 2005
Date modified:

Lieu d'expédition directe

Mémorandum D13-3-4

Ottawa, le 28 avril 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (91 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour afin d'inclure des informations supplémentaires sur la détermination du lieu d'expédition directe vers le Canada pour les marchandises passant en transit par un pays intermédiaire avant d'être importées au Canada.

Ce mémorandum explique comment déterminer le lieu d'expédition directe en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les douanes concernant la valeur en douane..


Législation

Loi sur les douanes
Règlement sur l'expédition directe


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Selon les articles 44 à 56 de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi), les coûts de transport des marchandises et les frais connexes doivent être déterminés pour bien appliquer chacune des méthodes d'établissement de la valeur. Pour déterminer le traitement des coûts de transport conformément aux diverses méthodes d'établissement de la valeur, vous devez d'abord établir le lieu d'expédition directe. Pour plus d'informations sur les coûts de transport et les frais connexes, consultez le Mémorandum D13-3-3, Coûts de transport et frais connexes.

Lieu d'expédition directe

2. Le montant des coûts de transport qui doit être inclus dans la valeur en douane est calculé en fonction de ce qu'on appelle le « lieu d'expédition directe jusqu'au Canada ». Pour déterminer le lieu d'expédition directe, il peut être utile d'examiner les trois éléments suivants relatifs au transport des marchandises, soit l'événement, le moment et le lieu.

Événement

3. Un certain événement doit avoir eu lieu pour que les marchandises soient expédiées au Canada. L'événement sera déterminé selon les circonstances entourant l'importation. Par exemple, dans le cas où les marchandises sont vendues pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur au Canada et où les marchandises sont expédiées directement au Canada à partir des installations du vendeur étranger, l'événement qui cause l'expédition des marchandises vers le Canada sera la vente des marchandises.

Moment

4. Il s'agit du temps précis où les marchandises entament leur voyage vers le Canada. Il est donc possible, à ce moment, d'identifier le Canada comme la destination spécifique des marchandises. C'est également à partir de ce moment qu'est déterminé la date d'expédition directe des marchandises pour l'identification des taux de change afin d'exprimer la valeur en douane des marchandises en dollars canadiens.

Lieu

5. Le lieu est l'endroit où se trouvent les marchandises lorsque l'événement et le moment coïncident.

Établir le lieu d'expédition directe

6. Le lieu d'expédition directe est l'endroit où se trouvent les marchandises suivant un événement, au moment où débute leur transport direct et sans interruption vers une destination spécifique au Canada. Il s'agit habituellement de l'endroit où les marchandises sont chargées à bord du moyen de transport et où les documents de transport identifient clairement une destination spécifique au Canada.

7. Par exemple, une entreprise au Canada achète 5 000 coffrets à bijoux d'un fabricant au Mexique. Les coffrets sont fabriqués, peints et sont emballés dans des boîtes de carton à l'usine du fabricant à Mexico, et transportés directement par camion de l'usine jusqu'au Canada.

8. La vente conclue entre l'entreprise au Canada et le fournisseur au Mexique constitue l'événement qui a causé l'expédition des marchandises au Canada. Le moment est lorsque les boîtes contenant les coffrets à bijoux sont identifiées comme étant expédiées à une destination canadienne précise. La concordance entre l'événement et le moment sert à établir le lieu d'expédition directe. Dans ces circonstances, le lieu d'expédition directe est l'usine du fabricant à Mexico.

Transbordement

9. Le Règlement sur l'expédition directe exige que le transport des marchandises exportées d'un pays étranger à destination du Canada par l'intermédiaire d'un pays étranger, s'effectue sans interruption. Toutefois, des marchandises qui sont expédiées au Canada peuvent s'arrêter quelque part au cours du voyage pour de nombreuses raisons. Lorsque le transport est interrompu temporairement pour le transfert des marchandises à un autre transporteur, les marchandises sont considérées comme étant transbordées. Cet endroit est le point de transbordement. Un transbordement a aussi lieu lorsque les marchandises sont groupées ou dégroupées afin de faciliter l'expédition ou de la rendre plus rentable. Ce genre de pause en cours de route n'est pas considéré comme une interruption du transport direct des marchandises vers le Canada. Les opérations mineures effectuées au point de transbordement, telles que l'ajout d'emballage pour mieux protéger les marchandises pour le prochain moyen de transport, ne sont pas non plus considérées comme des interruptions du transport direct des marchandises vers le Canada. Dans de tels cas, le transbordement ne change pas la détermination du lieu d'expédition directe.

10. Il faut souligner que lorsque des activités effectuées à un endroit intermédiaire au cours du transport transforment ou améliorent les marchandises, ou augmentent leur valeur, même si les marchandises demeurent sous contrôle douanier, cet endroit intermédiaire deviendra le véritable lieu d'expédition directe. Si les marchandises sont entreposées quelque part pendant leur transport pour tout autre raison que le transbordement, le lieu d'entreposage sera considéré comme le lieu d'expédition directe, même si les marchandises demeurent sous contrôle douanier. Cela suppose qu'il n'y ait pas d'autre interruption dans le transport des marchandises vers le Canada.

Premier exemple

11. Une entreprise canadienne, établie à Vancouver, désire se procurer des panneaux de contreplaqué. Une compagnie de Denver, Colorado, fabrique ces panneaux de contreplaqué. La compagnie de Denver reçoit des bons de commande provenant de clients américains et canadiens. Lorsqu'elle reçoit des commandes de l'entreprise canadienne, la compagnie de Denver rassemble le nombre approprié de panneaux à l'usine qu'elle expédie par camion à un centre de rechargement situé à 100 kilomètres de ses bureaux à Denver. La facture commerciale préparée à l'usine identifie l'entreprise de Vancouver comme l'acheteur, la date à laquelle les panneaux sont transportés vers le centre de rechargement, et Vancouver comme la destination finale des panneaux. Les panneaux sont déchargés au centre de rechargement et entreposés pendant six jours jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient chargés dans un seul wagon et expédiés par voie ferroviaire à Vancouver. La facture du transporteur indique la destination des panneaux comme étant Vancouver ainsi que le numéro de la facture commerciale du vendeur.

12. L'événement qui a entraîné l'expédition des panneaux à l'entreprise canadienne est la vente entre le vendeur de Denver et l'acheteur de Vancouver. La facture commerciale indique qu'un nombre spécifique de panneaux étaient destinés à Vancouver au moment où ils ont quitté l'usine de Denver. Le centre de rechargement n'est qu'un lieu de transbordement, car les panneaux n'y ont fait qu'attendre un autre transporteur. La concordance entre l'événement et le moment sert à établir le lieu d'expédition directe. Dans cet exemple, le lieu est Denver.

13. Dans cet exemple, en supposant que les conditions de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle soient rencontrées, tous frais encourus par l'entreprise de Vancouver pour transporter les marchandises du lieu d'expédition directe et facturés séparément ne seront pas ajoutés au prix payé ou à payer des panneaux importés. Tous frais incluent dans le prix des marchandises servant à récupérer les coûts réels de transport du vendeur depuis le lieu d'expédition directe pourraient être déduits du prix payé ou à payer pour les panneaux importés.

Deuxième exemple

14. Dans une situation semblable à celle décrite au premier exemple, l'usine de Denver fabrique continuellement des panneaux de contreplaqué, peu importe les commandes qu'elle reçoit. Une fois que les panneaux sont fabriqués et regroupés, ils sont expédiés immédiatement au centre de rechargement. Le 15 mars, l'entreprise de Vancouver envoie un bon de commande au fabricant de panneaux de contreplaqué à Denver, lui demandant d'expédier 2 000 panneaux à son entrepôt de Vancouver. Le 17 mars, 2 000 panneaux sont chargés sur un wagon au centre de rechargement. La destination finale qui est indiquée sur la facture du transporteur pour les panneaux est Vancouver.

15. L'événement qui a causé l'expédition des panneaux de contreplaqué au Canada est la vente qui a été conclue entre l'entreprise de Vancouver et la compagnie de Denver. Le moment est le 17 mars, c'est-à-dire le jour où le wagon est chargé et muni d'une « étiquette de destination » pour Vancouver et que débute le transport direct et sans interruption vers le Canada. À nouveau, la concordance entre l'événement et le moment sert à établir le lieu d'expédition directe. Dans ce cas, c'est le centre de rechargement, car c'est seulement à partir de cet endroit que débute le transport direct et sans interruption des marchandises vers le Canada.

16. Les panneaux de contreplaqué peuvent avoir été fabriqués la veille, le lendemain ou le jour même de la réception du bon de commande. La date à laquelle les panneaux de contreplaqué ont été fabriqués ou expédiés vers le centre de rechargement n'est pas importante. L'élément clé dont il faut tenir compte est qu'il est impossible de lier la commande de l'importateur à des panneaux de contreplaqué spécifiques quittant l'usine jusqu'au moment où les panneaux sont munis d'une « étiquette de destination » ou sont identifiés à l'aide d'un autre type de documentation tel un connaissement, une feuille de route ou une facture où apparaît l'entrepôt de l'entreprise à Vancouver. Lorsque les panneaux de contreplaqué quittent l'usine de Denver, il est impossible à ce moment-là de déterminer quels panneaux sont destinés au Canada. Denver, Colorado n'est donc pas le lieu d'expédition directe.

Troisième exemple

17. Un acheteur canadien conclut une entente d'approvisionnement avec un fabricant au Japon afin d'acheter un certain nombre de scies à chaîne à un prix fixe sur une période d'un an. L'acheteur ne dispose pas de suffisamment d'espace au Canada pour entreposer les scies à chaîne. Le fabricant produit continuellement des scies à chaîne et les transporte à un entrepôt au Japon. L'acheteur canadien produira un ordre de livraison tous les mois pour un nombre déterminé de scies à chaîne. Conformément à l'entente, l'acheteur versera un paiement mensuel pour les scies à chaîne qui ont été expédiées pendant ce mois. Tous les ordres de livraison provenant de divers acheteurs, y compris les commandes provenant de l'acheteur canadien, sont remplis à partir de l'inventaire de l'entrepôt du fabricant.

18. L'évènement qui a déclenché l'envoi des scies à chaîne au Canada est la transmission de l'ordre de livraison par l'acheteur, et non l'entente d'approvisionnement conclue, car l'entente n'a pas causé l'expédition des marchandises vers le Canada. Chaque fois qu'un ordre de livraison est émis par l'acheteur, les scies à chaîne, selon le nombre précisé, sont préparées, identifiées comme étant destinées au Canada et expédiées, établissant ainsi le moment où le transport direct et sans interruption des marchandises vers le Canada débute. La concordance entre l'événement et le moment détermine le lieu d'expédition directe. Dans ce cas, le lieu d'expédition directe est l'entrepôt et non les installations du fabricant.

Quatrième exemple

19. Un acheteur canadien de fleurs coupées et groupées reçoit une expédition avec une facture de vente d'un producteur d'Amérique du Sud. Les fleurs ont été récoltées en Amérique du Sud, puis transportées en vrac vers un entrepôt aux États-Unis où elles ont été séparées en lots et identifiées pour la livraison à des particuliers, tant au Canada qu'aux États-Unis. Les fleurs ont été déclarées à la douane américaine à leur arrivée aux États-Unis et la mainlevée a été accordée. Elles ont ensuite été envoyées à un entrepôt local pour être séparées et emballées pour les particuliers canadiens et américains.

20. L'événement qui a causé l'expédition d'une quantité définie de fleurs à l'acheteur canadien est la séparation des fleurs à l'entrepôt américain après leur mainlevée et non la vente entre l'acheteur et le producteur sud-américain. Même si la facture commerciale du producteur identifie les parties impliquées dans la transaction de vente et indique qu'une quantité de marchandises a quitté le lieu d'exportation "à destination du Canada", le fait que les marchandises sont dédouanées par une autorité douanière étrangère exclut les installations du producteur comme lieu d'expédition directe. Le moment est la séparation de l'emballage à l'entrepôt américain. En étant dédouanées, les marchandises ne peuvent pas être considérées avoir passé «en transit» par les États-Unis. Le dédouanement des fleurs à la douane américaine et leur mainlevée constitue une interruption de leur transport, et le moment d'expédition directe ne peut être identifié avant l'interruption. La concordance entre l'événement et le moment détermine le lieu d'expédition directe. Dans le cas présent, l'entrepôt américain serait le lieu d'expédition directe.

21. Toutefois, si une quantité de fleurs est identifiée séparément comme ayant pour destination le Canada avant de quitter les installations du producteur en Amérique du Sud et est livrée à un entrepôt de stockage dans un pays intermédiaire sans quitter le contrôle douanier ou entrer dans l'économie du pays intermédiaire, alors l'événement est la vente des marchandises à l'acheteur canadien et le temps est établi lorsque les marchandises sont étiquetées avec une destination canadienne. Dans ces circonstances, les installations en Amérique du Sud du producteur sont le lieu d'expédition directe.

22. Dans d'autres circonstances, une quantité de fleurs est récoltée et livrée à un entrepôt de stockage dans un pays intermédiaire. Les bons de commande des clients individuels ne sont reçus qu'après que les fleurs n'aient quitté leur pays d'origine. L'événement qui cause l'expédition au Canada est la vente des marchandises à un acheteur canadien. Le moment est établi lorsque les marchandises ont été étiquetées à une destination canadienne. Dans le cas présent, l'étiquetage se produit à l'entrepôt de stockage après que les marchandises aient quitté les installations du producteur. L'entrepôt est le lieu d'expédition directe. Même si le producteur prévoit la vente des marchandises à un client canadien, aucune confirmation n'existe que le Canada était la destination des marchandises quand elles ont été exportées à partir de leur pays d'origine.

Documentation requise

23. En appui de la déclaration de la valeur en douane, un importateur doit posséder les documents qui indiquent le lieu d'expédition directe et la date d'expédition directe (la date à laquelle les marchandises ont commencé leur transport continu et ininterrompu vers le Canada). Il est à noter qu'il n'y a aucune condition imposée par le règlement indiquant qu'un seul document spécifique est acceptable. Le lieu et la date d'expédition directe peuvent être inscrits sur les factures commerciales, les confirmations de vente, les étiquettes de destination, et les connaissements. Un connaissement peut aussi être un document acceptable. Mais dans certains cas, un connaissement ne vise que l'expédition des marchandises depuis le port maritime du pays d'exportation jusqu'à la destination canadienne. Un connaissement intérieur peut aussi être requis pour démontrer que la destination canadienne des marchandises était connue au moment et à l'endroit où a débuté leur transport vers le Canada.

24. Les documents doivent aussi permettre la détermination de l'événement qui a entraîné l'expédition des marchandises au Canada. Il se peut que l'importateur doive recueillir les renseignements auprès de sources autres que le vendeur (p. ex. l'agent, l'exportateur, la compagnie de transport).

25. Par exemple, un acheteur de vêtements canadien à Winnipeg commande des chemises de coton d'un fabricant à Hong Kong. L'acheteur demande au fabricant d'expédier les chemises à San Francisco par navire. L'acheteur fait des démarches pour que les chemises soient déchargées à San Francisco, où une société de camionnage les regroupera avec d'autres marchandises et les livrera à Winnipeg.

26. L'événement qui a causé l'expédition des chemises à Winnipeg est la vente qui a été conclue entre l'acheteur et le fabricant à Hong Kong. Le moment est la date à laquelle les chemises ont quitté l'usine du fabricant de Hong Kong pour débuter leur transport direct vers le Canada. Si la facture commerciale indique seulement que les chemises ont été vendues à un acheteur canadien pour livraison à San Francisco, les documents de la société de camionnage seront nécessaires afin de supporter le fait que les chemises ont été recueillies à San Francisco sans être dédouanées avant d'être chargées avec d'autres marchandises pour livraison au Canada. Une telle documentation supporte le lieu d'expédition directe comme étant l'usine du fabricant à Hong Kong.

27. Pour plus d'information sur le traitement des coûts de transport dans le calcul de la valeur en douane lorsqu'un importateur canadien recueille ses marchandises à un point intermédiaire à l'extérieur du Canada et les importe par la suite au Canada, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D13-3-5, Traitement des coûts de transport pour les marchandises expédiées à un endroit à l'extérieur du Canada pour importation subséquente.

Conversion de devises étrangères

28. Si des éléments du calcul de la valeur en douane sont exprimés en devises étrangères, ils doivent être convertis en argent canadien en utilisant le taux de change qui est reconnu par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada pour la devise étrangère à la date de l'expédition directe. Pour plus d'information sur le taux de change, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D13-2-3, Taux de change à appliquer aux fins du calcul de la valeur en douane en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes.

Renseignements supplémentaires

29. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-4
Autres références :
Ceci annule le mémorandum « D »
D13-3-4 daté le 11 juillet 2005
Date de modification :