Quota Payments

Memorandum D13-3-14

Ottawa,

This document is also available in PDF (238 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

Quota Payments

This memorandum provides guidance on the treatment of payments made for export quota when determining the value for duty of imported goods under sections 48 to 53 of the Customs Act.

Legislation

Sections 48 to 53 of the Customs Act.


Guidelines and General Information

1. The term "quota", in respect of imported goods and for the purposes of this memorandum, refers to a right granted in an exporting country to an allocation of a specified quantity of certain goods for export to Canada. The goods identified in the quota allocation will be under some form of export restraint negotiated by the appropriate authorities in Canada and the country of export. The total quantity of the goods that may be exported to Canada is usually allocated by the authority in the country of export, free of charge, among manufacturers who have a history of exporting to Canada. Each manufacturer may then use their quota allocation to obtain the necessary export licence authorizing the export of a specified quantity of their goods to Canada.

2. When the quota holder is permitted by its domestic government to transfer part or all of its allocation to another exporter, the initial quota holder may receive payment for the transferred quota allocation. The new quota holder may then obtain an export licence in respect of the goods it seeks to ship to Canada. It is the payment or charge for the transfer of the quota allocation (the "quota payment") which is addressed in this memorandum.

3. Ordinarily, a quota allocation is obtained in one of the following four scenarios:

  • (a) a manufacturer is allocated quota by its domestic government and manufactures goods for export sale;
  • (b) the initial quota holder sells the quota to a vendor who intends to sell goods for export;
  • (c) the initial quota holder sells the quota to a broker or to an intermediary who in turn sells the quota to a vendor who intends to sell goods for export; or
  • (d) an agent in the country of export, acting on behalf of the purchaser, purchases the quota from a quota holder or quota broker to effect a sale between a vendor in the country of export and the purchaser.
  • Note: In scenario (a) above, the vendor in the sale of goods for export to Canada is the manufacturer. In scenarios (b), (c) and (d) above, the vendor can either manufacture the goods subject to quota allocation, or can acquire them in the domestic market of the country of export.

Quota Payments and the Transaction Value Method

4. In the scenario provided in paragraph 3(a) of this memorandum, any amount invoiced by the exporter for the quota whether or not invoiced separately from the goods, will be considered to be a payment made or to be made, in respect of the goods, directly to the vendor in accordance with subsection 48(1) of the Customs Act (the Act), and will form part of the price paid or payable for determining the value for duty of the imported goods.

5. Where the vendor of the goods has purchased the quota, as described in paragraphs 3(b) and 3(c) above, and either invoices the purchaser in Canada for an amount which includes the cost incurred by the vendor for the quota, or invoices the purchaser separately for the two charges, the total amount to be paid by the purchaser is to be included in the price paid or payable for the goods. The payment for the quota is made in respect of the goods, directly to the vendor in accordance with subsection 48(1) of the Act, and is included in the price regardless of whether or not the vendor was aware that there was a purchaser for the goods when the quota was obtained.

6. In the scenario provided in paragraph 3(d) of this memorandum the purchaser through their agent, acquires and pays for the quota and provides it to the vendor, who exports the goods from the country of manufacture. The payment made for the quota by the agent on behalf of the purchaser is not to be included in the price paid or payable of the goods imported to Canada. The fact that the payment for the quota was necessary to effect the export of the goods does not of itself constitute a benefit to the vendor, as required by section 45(1) of the Act.

7. If a vendor/exporter derives a financial benefit from the payment for quota made to a third party quota holder by or on behalf of a purchaser, then any portion of the quota payment made to the vendor may be considered to be for the vendor's benefit and included as part of the payment made in respect of the goods by the purchaser to the vendor.

8. The treatment of quota payments under the transaction value method is addressed in the situations and policy interpretations included in the Appendix to this memorandum.

9. Memorandum D13-4-3, Customs Valuation: Price Paid or Payable outlines and explains the types of payments included as part of the price paid or payable for the purpose of determining transaction value.

Quota Payments and the Transaction Value of Identical Goods and Similar Goods Methods

10. Goods that are deemed "identical" to the goods for which a quota has been obtained will ordinarily have been subject to quota as well. Goods that are deemed "similar" may or may not have been exported subject to quota. If either the transaction value of identical or similar goods methods is used to value goods subject to quota, the transaction value of the identical or similar goods is an acceptable basis for the calculation of value for duty, regardless of whether or not an amount paid for quota is required to be included in their price paid or payable (as indicated in paragraphs 4 to 6 of this memorandum).

11. Memorandum D13-5-1, Application of Sections 49 and 50 of the Customs Act explains the methods for determining value for duty based on the transaction value of identical or similar goods.

Quota Payments and the Deductive Value Method

12. If the deductive value method is used to value imported goods subject to quota, any amount that an importer has paid to obtain a quota allocation is an expense related to the purchase of the goods abroad. As such, this expense is not considered to be "in connection with sales in Canada" and cannot be included in the amount of deduction for profit and general expenses in the calculation of value for duty under this method.

13. Memorandum D13-7-3, Deductive Value Method - Deductions From the Price per Unit explains the deductions to be made from the price per unit in determining the deductive value.

Quota Payments and the Computed Value Method

14. If the computed value method is used to determine the value for duty of imported goods which are subject to quota, the amount to be included in the value for duty calculation for profit and general expenses shall reflect the profit and general expenses of producers in the country of export who manufacture and sell for export to Canada the narrowest group or range of goods of the same class or kind as the goods being appraised. "Of the same class or kind" in this context, refers to goods which are subject to a quota allocation of the same category, group or class as the goods being appraised.

15. Memorandum D13-8-1, Computed Value Method explains the requirements for the calculation of value for duty under this method. Memorandum D13-1-1, Value for Duty of Imported Goods present the Regulations respecting the determination of value for duty under the Customs Act and provides information on establishing an amount for profit and general expenses under the computed value method.

Application of Residual Basis of Appraisal Method

16. If the residual method is used to determine the value for duty of imported goods which are subject to quota allocation, the flexible application of a previously rejected method cannot exclude an amount paid for quota that would have been included if the provisions of that method were used to determine value for duty.

17. Memorandum D13-9-1, Residual Basis of Appraisal Method outlines and explains the application of this method.

Additional Information

18. The Appendix to this memorandum includes examples that illustrate the treatment of quota payments in the determination of value for duty under the transaction value method.

19. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 - 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Examples of Quota Payments and Their Treatment Under the Transaction Value Method

This appendix includes two situations involving payments for quota. Two examples, each with a corresponding solution that illustrates the interpretation of policy included in this memorandum, are provided for each situation.

In situation 1, quota may have been obtained by the vendor (exporter) in the circumstances outlined in scenarios (a), (b) and (c) of paragraph three of this memorandum. In situation 2, quota is obtained by the vendor (exporter) in the circumstances outlined in scenario (d) of paragraph three of this memorandum.

Situation 1

Where a purchaser in Canada buys goods from a vendor who is either a manufacturer or a re-seller and the vendor has paid an amount to obtain a quota, the amount paid for the quota will usually be included in the price paid or payable for the goods. If the amount paid for the quota is not already included in the price paid or payable for the goods and is separately invoiced by the vendor, the amount paid for the quota must be added to the price paid or payable for the goods by the purchaser. The quota payment is made directly for the benefit of the vendor.

Example #1 to Situation 1

ABC Co. of Toronto, Ontario enters into a contract of sale with a foreign manufacturer for the sale for export to Canada of goods for which an export license is required. The manufacturer has the necessary quota needed to obtain the export license. ABC Co. is charged by the manufacturer a price for the goods which includes the manufacturer's cost incurred in the purchase of the quota.

Solution to Example #1 of Situation 1

The manufacturer's expense in purchasing the quota is a cost and is factored into the price of the goods. The total price paid for the goods, inclusive of the quota cost, forms the basis for the determination of the transaction value.

Example #2 to Situation 1

ABC Co. enters into a contract of sale with a foreign manufacturer for the sale for export to Canada of goods for which an export license is required. The manufacturer does not own the necessary quota and must purchase it from an independent quota broker. Instead of factoring the cost of the quota into the manufacturing cost of the goods, the manufacturer generates separate invoices to ABC Co. for the quota charge and for the price of the goods.

Solution to Example #2 of Situation 1

Where a purchaser in Canada buys goods from a vendor who is either a manufacturer or a re-seller and the purchaser in Canada had to purchase quota from a third-party quota holder, then the price paid for the quota will not usually be included in the price paid or payable in a calculation of the transaction value. A payment for quota that is not made for the benefit of the vendor is not an element of the price paid or payable for the goods.

If a vendor benefits directly or indirectly from the payment for quota made to a third-party quota holder, then any portion of the quota payment identified as "for the vendor's benefit" must be included as part of the price paid or payable for the goods.

Situation 2

Where a purchaser in Canada buys goods from a vendor who is either a manufacturer or a re-seller and the purchaser in Canada had to purchase quota from a third-party quota holder, then the price paid for the quota will not usually be included in the price paid or payable in a calculation of the transaction value. A payment for quota that is not made for the benefit of the vendor is not an element of the price paid or payable for the goods.

If a vendor benefits directly or indirectly from the payment for quota made to a third-party quota holder, then any portion of the quota payment identified as "for the vendor's benefit" must be included as part of the price paid or payable for the goods.

Example #1 to Situation 2

ABC Co. enters into a contract of sale with a foreign manufacturer for the sale for export to Canada of goods for which an export license is required. However, ABC Co., believing that they can negotiate a better price for the required quota on their own, purchases quota from an independent quota broker and supplies the quota they have purchased to the manufacturer free of charge in order to expedite the manufacture and sale for export of the goods.

Solution to Example #1 of Situation 2

The amount paid for the quota by purchaser ABC Co. does not form part of price paid or payable for the imported goods. Although the quota was acquired on behalf of, and supplied to the vendor, the payment is not considered to form part of the price paid or payable for the imported goods. The contract of sale between ABC Co. and the manufacturer was for the manufacture and sale of goods. The quota was purchased on the account of ABC Co. and was not an element of the contract of sale between the purchaser ABC Co. and the vendor (the manufacturer).

Example #2 to Situation 2

ABC Co. engages an overseas agent to enter into a contract of sale with a foreign manufacturer for the sale for export to Canada of goods for which an export license is required. Acting on ABC Co.'s instructions, the agent purchases quota in the foreign manufacturer's country and provides it without charge to the manufacturer to expedite the manufacture and sale for export of the goods. The agent then invoices ABC Co. for the quota at the agent's cost of acquisition.

Solution to Example #2 of Situation 2

The quota obtained by the agent was purchased on the account of ABC Co. and was not an element of the contract of sale between the purchaser (ABC Co.) and the vendor (the manufacturer). The contract of sale between the purchaser and vendor was for the sale of the goods, and the payment made for the quota does not form part of the price paid or payable for those goods.

If the buying agent was related to the vendor of the goods, or had earned a profit on the charge to their principal (the purchaser) for the quota acquired on the principal's behalf, the "bona fides" of the buying agent/purchaser relationship may be examined to determine if any commission paid to the agent should be included in the value for duty of the imported goods. Memorandum D13-4-12, Commissions and Brokerage provides additional information on the treatment of commissions in calculating value for duty under the transaction value method.

References

Issuing office
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
79070-4-3
Legislative references
Customs Act, sections 45 and 48 to 53
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D13-3-14,

Services provided by the Canada Border Services Agency are available in both official languages.

Date modified:

Paiement des frais relatifs aux contingents

Mémorandum D13-3-14

Ottawa, le

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (321 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Paiement des frais relatifs aux contingents

Le présent mémorandum donne des précisions sur la manière de traiter les paiements effectués pour les contingents à l'exportation au moment de déterminer la valeur en douane de marchandises importées en vertu des articles 48 à 53 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Références législatives

Articles 48 à 53 de la Loi sur les douanes.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le mot « contingent », dans le cadre des marchandises importées et aux fins du présent mémorandum, désigne le droit, pour un pays d'exportation, d'exporter une quantité précise de certaines marchandises au Canada. Les marchandises visées par le contingent sont assujetties à une forme de restriction à l'exportation négociée entre les autorités compétentes du Canada et du pays d'exportation. La quantité totale de marchandises qui peut être exportée au Canada est habituellement répartie par les autorités du pays d'exportation, sans frais, parmi les fabricants qui ont déjà exporté au Canada. Chaque fabricant peut ensuite se servir du contingent pour obtenir la licence d'exportation nécessaire, en vertu de laquelle il pourra exporter une quantité précise de marchandises au Canada.

2. Lorsque le détenteur d'un contingent reçoit du gouvernement de son pays l'autorisation de transférer en tout ou en partie le contingent à un autre exportateur, il est possible que le détenteur initial reçoive en retour un paiement de l'autre exportateur. Le nouveau détenteur du contingent peut alors obtenir une licence d'exportation pour les marchandises qu'il désire expédier au Canada. Le présent mémorandum traite des paiements ou des frais qui s'appliquent au transfert des contingents (les « paiements relatifs aux contingents »).

3. Habituellement, l'exportateur des marchandises obtient un contingent dans l'un des quatre scénarios suivants :

  • a) le gouvernement national du fabricant attribue un contingent à ce dernier, qui fabrique les marchandises pour fins de vente à l'exportation;
  • b) le détenteur initial du contingent vend ce dernier à un vendeur qui a l'intention de vendre des marchandises à l'exportation;
  • c) le détenteur initial du contingent vend le contingent à un courtier ou à un « intermédiaire » qui le revend à un vendeur ayant l'intention de vendre des marchandises à l'exportation;
  • d) dans le pays d'exportation, un mandataire, agissant pour le compte de l'acheteur, achète le contingent d'un détenteur de contingent ou d'un courtier de contingents pour effectuer une vente entre un vendeur du pays d'exportation et l'acheteur.
  • Note : Dans le scénario a) qui précède, le vendeur dans la vente de marchandises pour exportation au Canada est le fabricant. Dans les scénarios b), c) et d) susmentionnés, le vendeur peut fabriquer les marchandises visées par l'attribution du contingent, ou alors les acheter au sein du marché intérieur du pays d'exportation.

Paiements relatifs aux contingents et méthode de la valeur transactionnelle

4. Dans le scénario présenté au paragraphe 3a) du présent mémorandum, tout montant que facture l'exportateur pour le contingent, qu'il soit facturé séparément ou non des marchandises, sera considéré comme un paiement versé ou à verser directement au vendeur en rapport avec les marchandises, conformément au paragraphe 48(1) de la Loi sur les douanes (Loi), et ce montant fera partie du prix payé ou à payer aux fins de l'établissement de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées.

5. Lorsque le vendeur des marchandises a acheté le contingent, de la manière décrite aux paragraphes 3b) et 3c) ci-dessus, et qu'il facture l'acheteur au Canada un montant qui comprend à la fois le prix de vente des marchandises et le prix que le vendeur a payé pour le contingent, ou qu'il facture séparément les marchandises et le contingent à l'acheteur au Canada, le montant total que l'acheteur est tenu de payer doit être inclus dans le prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises. Le paiement relatif au contingent est effectué à l'égard des marchandises, directement au vendeur, conformément au paragraphe 48(1) de la Loi, et est inclus dans le prix indépendamment du fait que le vendeur était au courant ou pas qu'il y avait un acheteur pour les marchandises lorsque le contingent a été obtenu.

6. Dans le scénario présenté au paragraphe 3d) du présent mémorandum, l'acheteur, par l'entremise de son mandataire, achète et paie le contingent et le remet au vendeur qui exporte les marchandises du pays de fabrication. Le paiement relatif au contingent qu'effectue le mandataire pour le compte de l'acheteur ne doit pas être inclus dans le prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées au Canada. Le fait qu'il soit nécessaire d'effectuer le paiement relatif au contingent pour procéder à l'exportation des marchandises n'est pas considéré en soi comme ayant été fait au profit du vendeur, tel qu'établi à l'article 45(1) de la Loi.

7. Lorsqu'un vendeur/exportateur tire un avantage financier d'un paiement de contingent effectué à un tiers détenteur de contingent par l'acheteur ou en son nom, alors toute portion du paiement de contingent versé au vendeur peut être considéré comme étant au profit du vendeur et inclus comme partie du paiement que l'acheteur a effectué au vendeur à l'égard des marchandises.

8. La manière de traiter les paiements relatifs aux contingents selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle est analysée dans les interprétations de situation et de politique qui figurent à l'annexe jointe au présent mémorandum.

9. Le Mémorandum D13-4-3, Valeur en douane : prix payé ou à payer, décrit et explique les types de paiements qui sont inclus dans le cadre du prix payé ou à payer aux fins de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle.

Paiements relatifs aux contingents et valeur transactionnelle des marchandises identiques ou semblables

10. Les marchandises qui sont réputées « identiques » aux marchandises pour lesquelles un contingent a été obtenu auront, elles aussi, été assujetties à un contingent en temps normal. Les marchandises réputées « semblables » peuvent avoir été exportées en étant assujetties à un contingent ou non. Si la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises identiques ou semblables est utilisée pour établir la valeur des marchandises assujetties à un contingent, la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises identiques ou semblables peut être utilisée pour calculer la valeur en douane, peu importe s'il faut inclure le montant payé pour le contingent dans le prix payé ou à payer (comme l'indiquent les paragraphes 4 à 6 du présent mémorandum).

11. Le Mémorandum D13-5-1, Application des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi sur les douanes, explique comment déterminer la valeur en douane en se fondant sur la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques ou semblables.

Paiements relatifs aux contingents et méthode de la valeur de référence

12. Si l'on se sert de la méthode de la valeur de référence pour établir la valeur des marchandises importées qui sont assujetties à un contingent, le montant que l'importateur a payé pour obtenir le contingent est une dépense liée à l'achat des marchandises à l'étranger. Dans ce contexte, cette dépense n'est pas considérée comme étant « supportée lors de la vente au Canada » et ne peut donc être incluse dans le montant de la déduction allouée pour les bénéfices et les frais généraux aux fins du calcul de la valeur en douane selon cette méthode.

13. Le Mémorandum D13-7-3, Méthode de la valeur de référence – Déductions du prix unitaire, explique les déductions à effectuer du prix unitaire au moment de déterminer la valeur de référence.

Paiements relatifs aux contingents et méthode de la valeur reconstituée

14. Si l'on se sert de la méthode de la valeur reconstituée pour déterminer la valeur en douane de marchandises importées qui sont assujetties à un contingent, le montant de l'ensemble des bénéfices et des frais généraux à être inclus dans le calcul de la valeur en douane doit tenir compte des bénéfices et des frais généraux des producteurs se trouvant dans le pays d'exportation qui fabriquent et vendent pour fins d'exportation au Canada la plus proche catégorie ou gamme de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce que les marchandises à apprécier. Dans ce contexte, « de même nature ou de même espèce » se dit des marchandises qui sont assujetties à un contingent et qui font partie de la même catégorie, du même groupe ou de la même classe que les marchandises qui font l'objet de l'appréciation.

15. Le Mémorandum D13-8-1, Méthode de la valeur reconstituée, explique les exigences qui doivent être respectées dans le cadre du calcul de la valeur en douane selon cette méthode. Le Mémorandum D13-1-1, Détermination de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées présente le règlement relatif à la détermination de la valeur en douane en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes et fourni des renseignements sur l'établissement d'un montant pour les bénéfices et les frais généraux selon la méthode de la valeur reconstituée.

Application de la méthode de la dernière base de l'appréciation

16. Si l'on se sert de la méthode de la dernière base de l'appréciation pour déterminer la valeur en douane des marchandises importées assujetties à un contingent, l'application souple d'une méthode rejetée précédemment ne peut exclure un montant payé pour le contingent qui aurait été compris si les dispositions de cette méthode étaient utilisées pour déterminer la valeur en douane.

17. Le Mémorandum D13-9-1, Méthode de la dernière base de l'appréciation, décrit et explique l'application de cette méthode.

Renseignements supplémentaires

18. L'annexe du présent mémorandum comporte une série d'exemples qui illustrent la manière de traiter les paiements relatifs aux contingents au moment de déterminer la valeur en douane selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.

19. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Exemples de paiements relatifs aux contingents et le traitement de ces derniers selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle

La présente annexe comporte deux situations mettant en cause des paiements relatifs à un contingent. Deux exemples, assortis d'une solution qui illustre l'interprétation de la politique exposée dans le présent mémorandum, sont fournis pour chaque situation.

Dans la situation no 1, il est possible que le vendeur (exportateur) ait obtenu le contingent dans les circonstances décrites dans les scénarios a), b) et c) du paragraphe 3 du présent mémorandum. Dans la situation no 2, le contingent est obtenu par le vendeur (exportateur) dans les circonstances décrites au scénario d) du paragraphe 3 du présent mémorandum.

Situation no 1

Lorsqu'un acheteur au Canada achète des marchandises d'un vendeur qui est soit un fabricant ou un revendeur et que ce vendeur a payé un montant pour obtenir un contingent, ce montant est habituellement inclus dans le prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises. Si le montant en question n'est pas déjà inclus dans le prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises et est facturé séparément par le vendeur, il doit être ajouté au prix payé ou à payer, par l'acheteur, pour les marchandises. Le paiement relatif au contingent est effectué directement au profit du vendeur.

Exemple no 1, Situation no 1

La société ABC Co. de Toronto (Ontario) conclut un contrat de vente avec un fabricant étranger en vue de la vente pour exportation au Canada de marchandises pour lesquelles une licence d'exportation est exigée. Le fabricant détient le contingent nécessaire pour obtenir la licence d'exportation. Le fabricant facture à ABC Co. un prix pour les marchandises qui comporte les frais qu'il a engagés pour acheter le contingent.

Solution à l'exemple no 1, Situation no 1

Les frais qu'a engagés le fabricant pour acheter le contingent ont un coût et ils sont inclus dans le prix des marchandises. Le prix total payé pour les marchandises, inclusion faite du coût du contingent, constitue le fondement de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle.

Exemple no 2, Situation no 1

La société ABC Co. conclut un contrat de vente avec un fabricant étranger en vue de la vente pour exportation au Canada de marchandises pour lesquelles une licence d'exportation est exigée. Le fabricant ne détient pas le contingent nécessaire et doit l'acheter d'un courtier de contingent indépendant. Au lieu d'inclure le coût du contingent dans le coût de fabrication des marchandises, le fabricant produit deux factures distinctes pour ABC Co. : l'une pour le prix du contingent et l'autre pour le prix des marchandises.

Solution à l'exemple no 2, Situation no 1

Le paiement que fait la société ABC Co. au fabricant pour le contingent fait partie du prix payé ou à payer, même s'il a été facturé séparément des marchandises importées. Le paiement fait par l'acheteur pour le contingent est considéré comme un paiement effectué à l'égard des marchandises, directement au profit du vendeur.

Situation no 2

Lorsqu'un acheteur au Canada achète des marchandises d'un vendeur, qui est soit un fabricant soit un revendeur, et que cet acheteur au Canada a dû acheter un contingent auprès d'une partie non liée au vendeur, le prix payé pour le contingent n'est habituellement pas inclus dans le prix payé ou à payer lors du calcul de la valeur transactionnelle. Étant donné que le paiement du contingent n'est pas fait au profit du vendeur, le montant payé pour le contingent n'est pas un élément du prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises.

Si un vendeur profite, directement ou indirectement, d'un paiement relatif à un contingent fait à une tierce partie détenteur de contingent, toute partie du paiement relatif au contingent identifiée comme étant « au profit du vendeur » doit être inclus comme partie du prix payé ou à payer des marchandises.

Exemple no 1, Situation no 2

La société ABC Co. conclut un contrat de vente avec un fabricant étranger en vue de la vente pour exportation au Canada de marchandises pour lesquelles une licence d'exportation est exigée. Cependant, croyant qu'elle peut négocier un meilleur prix pour le contingent exigé, ABC Co. achète un contingent d'un courtier indépendant et fournit, sans frais, le contingent en question au fabricant en vue d'accélérer la fabrication et la vente à l'exportation des marchandises.

Solution à l'exemple no 1, Situation no 2

Le montant que paie l'acheteur ABC Co. pour le contingent ne fait pas partie du prix payé ou à payer des marchandises importées. Bien que le contingent ait été acheté pour le compte du vendeur et fourni à ce dernier, le paiement n'est pas considéré comme faisant partie du prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées. Le contrat de vente conclu entre ABC Co. et le fabricant portait sur la fabrication et la vente des marchandises. Le contingent a été acheté pour le compte d'ABC Co. et n'était pas un élément du contrat de vente conclu entre l'acheteur ABC Co. et le vendeur (le fabricant).

Exemple no 2, Situation no 2

La société ABC Co. a engagé un mandataire étranger pour conclure un contrat de vente avec un fabricant étranger en vue de la vente pour exportation au Canada de marchandises pour lesquelles une licence d'exportation est exigée. Se conformant aux instructions d'ABC Co., le mandataire achète un contingent au pays du fabriquant étranger et le fournit par la suite, sans frais, au fabricant en vue d'accélérer la fabrication et la vente à l'exportation des marchandises. Le mandataire facture ensuite à ABC Co. le prix du contingent, au prix qu'il a payé.

Solution à l'exemple no 2, Situation no 2

Le contingent que le mandataire a obtenu a été acheté pour le compte d'ABC Co. et n'était pas un élément du contrat de vente conclu entre l'acheteur (ABC Co.) et le vendeur (le fabricant). Le contrat de vente conclu entre l'acheteur et le vendeur portait sur la vente des marchandises et le paiement effectué pour le contingent ne fait pas partie du prix payé ou à payer pour ces marchandises.

Si le mandataire acheteur était lié au vendeur des marchandises, ou s'il avait réalisé un bénéfice sur les frais facturés à leur mandant (l'acheteur) pour le contingent acquis pour le compte de ce dernier, « l'authenticité » de la relation entre l'acheteur et le mandataire acheteur pourrait être examinée afin de déterminer s'il convient d'inclure, dans la valeur en douane des marchandises importées, toute commission payée au mandataire. Le Mémorandum D13-4-12, Commissions et frais de courtage, fournit de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de traiter les commissions lors du calcul de la valeur en douane selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale
79070-4-3
Références légales
Loi sur les douanes, articles 45 et 48 à 53
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D13-3-14, le

Les services fournis par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada sont offerts dans les deux langues officielles.

Date de modification :