Responsibility of Importers and/or Authorized Agents With Respect to Valuation

Memorandum D13-2-1

Ottawa, November 21, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (77 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the role of importers and/or their authorized agents with respect to the calculation and declaration of value for duty of imported goods.

Legislation

Sections 40, 45 and 164 of the Customs Act and Imported Goods Records Regulations.


Guidelines and General Information

1. Importers and/or their authorized agents are responsible for the calculation and declaration of the value for duty of imported goods in accordance with the valuation provisions of the Customs Act (the Act).

2. The determination of the value for duty and the selection of a particular valuation method must be based upon “sufficient information”, which supports the importer’s declaration. The term “sufficient information” is defined in subsection 45(1) of the Act, and for valuation purposes is intended as objective and quantifiable information that establishes the accuracy of any amount, difference or adjustment used in the determination of the value for duty. Sufficient information in the form of corroborating documentation may be requested by the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) to support the calculation and declaration of the value for duty. While this information does not form part of the documentation requirements described in Memorandum D1-4-1, CBSA Invoice Requirements, and Memorandum D17-1-1, Documentation Requirements for Commercial Shipments, it must be available at the time of importation and be kept in such a manner as to facilitate review by CBSA officials when requested.

3. Subsection 40(1) of the Act requires that any person who imports goods or causes goods to be imported for sale or for any industrial, occupational, commercial, institutional or other like use or any other that may be prescribed shall keep at their place of business in Canada or at any other place designated by the Minister any records in respect of those goods in any manner and for any period of time that may be prescribed and shall, where an officer so requests, make them available to the officer, and answer truthfully any questions asked in respect of the records.

Imported Goods Records Regulations

4. Pursuant to paragraph 164(1)(i) of the Act, the Governor in Council published the Imported Goods Records Regulations (Regulations) with respect to the maintenance and preservation of importers’ records, as mentioned in subsection 40(1) of the Act.

5. Section 2 of these Regulations specifies that every person who is required by subsection 40(1) of the Act to keep records in respect of commercial goods shall keep amongst others; all records relating to the purchase, importation, costs, value and payment for the goods. Also, this person shall keep records of the sale or disposal of the goods in Canada. Section 2 of these Regulations, also specifies that these records shall be kept for a six year period following the importation of the commercial goods.

6. Further details regarding the responsibilities of importers to maintain records are contained in Memorandum D17-1-21, Maintenance of Records in Canada by Importers.

Additional Information

7. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
79070-4-2
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D13-2-1, dated March 19, 2001
Date modified:

Responsabilité qui incombe aux importateurs et aux agents autorisés dans le cadre de l’établissement de la valeur en douane

Mémorandum D13-2-1

Ottawa, le 21 novembre 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (61 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique le rôle des importateurs et de leurs mandataires lors du calcul et de la déclaration de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées.

Législation

Les articles 40, 45 et 164 de la Loi sur les douanes et le Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation des marchandises.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les importateurs et/ou leurs mandataires sont responsables du calcul et de la déclaration de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi) relatives à l’établissement de la valeur.

2. L’établissement de la valeur en douane et le choix d’une méthode d’appréciation en particulier doivent être fondés sur des « renseignements suffisants » pour appuyer la déclaration de l’importateur. Le paragraphe 45(1) de la Loi définit l’expression « renseignements suffisants » et, aux fins de l’établissement de la valeur en douane, s’entend comme des renseignements objectifs et quantifiables permettant de déterminer l’exactitude d’un montant, d’une différence ou d’un ajustement de la valeur en douane. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) peut donc exiger la présentation de renseignements suffisants sous forme de documents corroborant afin d’appuyer le calcul et la déclaration de la valeur en douane. Bien que ces renseignements ne fassent pas partie des documents requis conformément aux Mémorandums D1-4-1, Exigences de l’ASFC relatives aux factures, et D17-1-1, Exigences relatives aux documents concernant les expéditions commerciales, ils doivent être accessibles au moment de l’importation et conservés de façon à faciliter l’étude qu’effectuent les représentants de l’ASFC, au besoin.

3. Le paragraphe 40(1) de la Loistipule que toute personne qui importe ou fait importer des marchandises en vue de leur vente ou leur usage industriel, professionnel, commercial, collectif, ou à tout autre usage semblable ou prévu par règlement est tenue de conserver en son établissement au Canada, ou en un autre lieu désigné par le ministre, et selon les modalités et pendant le délai réglementaires, les documents réglementaires relatifs aux marchandises visées par règlement et communiquer ces documents, sur demande d’un agent, et de répondre véridiquement aux questions posées à leur sujet.

Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises

4. Conformément à l’alinéa 164(1)i) de la Loi, le gouverneur en conseil a publié le Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises (Règlement) concernant la tenue et la conservation des documents de l’importateur, tel que mentionné au paragraphe 40(1) de la Loi.

5. L’article 2 du Règlement stipule que toute personne qui doit, en vertu du paragraphe 40(1) de la Loi, conserver au Canada les documents relatifs aux marchandises importées est tenue de garder tous les documents comptables portant entre autre sur l’achat, l’importation, les coûts, la valeur et le paiement des marchandises. De plus, cette personne doit conserver tout document concernant la vente et l’aliénation de ces marchandises au Canada. L’article 2 du Règlement précise aussi que ces documents doivent être conservés pour une période de six ans suivant l’importation des marchandises commerciales.

6. D’autres renseignements au sujet de la responsabilité de l’importateur vis-à-vis la tenue de documents se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D17-1-21, Conservation des documents au Canada par les importateurs.

Renseignements supplémentaires

7. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l’administration centrale
79070-4-2
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D13-2-1, le 19 mars 2001
Date de modification :