Determining Value for Duty of Computer Software

Memorandum D13-11-6

Ottawa, August 07, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (224 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum provides guidelines and examples for determining the value for duty on computer software.

Legislation

Sections 44 to 55 of the Customs Act


Guidelines and General Information

1. Under the Computer Carrier Media Remission Order, customs duty is not to be assessed on the value of the instructions or data content. However, any applicable customs duty will apply on the value of the carrier medium (for example, disk or tape) and the cost of reproducing the instructions or data onto the medium.

2. The above-mentioned Remission Order states Canada's position regarding a 1984 decision made by the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) Committee on Customs Valuation. Signatory countries to the GATT Valuation Agreement have the option to value computer software based on its carrier medium alone.

3. The GATT decision and the Remission Order do not consider the applicability of the goods and services tax (GST). The GST is payable on the full value for duty of the software package (i.e., disk and program) upon importation.

4. In most cases, the valuation of computer software will not be difficult. The value for duty of software that has been sold will be determined using the transaction value method.

5. There are circumstances where the transaction value method may not be appropriate. This can occur when the importation does not result in the sale of the software, or when the software developer retains ownership of the software and charges a licence fee. In such cases, refer to the following sections for guidance on the determination of the value for duty.

Prepackaged Software

6. The most common importation results from the sale of off-the-shelf, pre-packaged computer software. These importations involve a transfer of ownership with the applicable licence fees usually "bundled" into the selling price. In such cases, the transaction value method applies. The value for duty is based on the price paid or payable for the software in the sale for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada. For more information, refer to Memorandum D13-4-1, Transaction Value Method of Valuation.

7. It should be noted that where a sale has occurred, the price paid or payable is based on the actual amount paid or payable and not on price lists from other sources. For example, if a particular software package normally sells for $200, but the same package is purchased from a discount outlet for $75, the value for duty should be based on the $75 price.

Custom-made Software

8. The transaction value method also applies in the sale of custom-made software designed specifically for one or a limited number of purchasers. In this case, the purchaser receives ownership and obtains the right to use the software. The value for duty is based on the price paid or payable for the software in the export sale to Canada.

9. Copies of computer software, usually custom-designed, may be provided under a licence agreement for an initial "up front" charge with an ongoing fee for use. In such cases, ownership and control of the software may not be transferred to the receiving party. In other words, there is no sale. In most of these cases, a licence or lease fee is paid to the owner for the right to use the software for an agreed period. The transaction value method does not apply in this situation as there is no transfer of ownership and a sale has not occurred.

10. Subsequent methods of valuation may not be applicable. It is not likely that there are sales of identical or similar goods to Canada. A deductive value cannot be determined without a sale of the goods, or identical or similar goods, in Canada. The absence of sales to Canada also affects the ability to determine a profit and general expense figure under the computed value method.

11. Therefore, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) will continue to abide by the principles of the GATT decision on carrier media-bearing software, as well as the principles embodied in Memorandum D8-3-15, Computer Carrier Media Remission Order, and Memorandum D13-11-2, Value for Duty of Certain Information-based Products. The valuation of licensed or leased software for which a sale does not exist will be based on the value of the carrier medium and the cost of reproducing the instructions or data onto the medium.

Update Disks

Charge for Update Disks

12. The transaction value method will continue to apply if the importation of update disks is a result of a sale. For example, the vendor charges the purchaser $1,000 for the original software package and charges $100 for each update disk. The value for duty of each update disk is based on the $100 price, and would be subject to the adjustments identified in subsection 48(5) of the Customs Act.

Free Updates – Original Package

13. Update disks may also be provided to the purchaser free of charge under the original terms of sale or licence agreement. Therefore, the value of the update disk has been included in the value of the original package. If such an arrangement can be shown to exist, the value for duty of the update disk will be $0.00 and no assessment of customs duty and GST will be made.

14. For example, the vendor charges the purchaser $1,000 for the original software package. The terms of sale or licence agreement are such that the $1,000 price includes update disks to be provided to the purchaser. Under the transaction value method, the value for duty of the original package is based on the price paid of $1,000. The value of the update disk is included in the price of the original package.

Free Updates – Annual Fee

15. If update disks are supplied free of charge to a consignee who either periodically pays a fee to the supplier, or pays dues in return for club membership, these amounts would form the basis for calculating the value for duty of the disks. The total amount (dues or fees) would be applied to the value of the first disk. Additional disks imported during the year would be valued in the same manner as explained in paragraph 13.

Promotional Copies

16. As the importation of promotional disks does not involve a sale, the transaction value method cannot be used. In such cases, based on the principles of the GATT decision on the valuation of computer software, the value of the copy will be determined according to Memorandum D13-11-2. The value for duty of such software would be based on the value of the physical medium, for example the disk or tape, and the cost of transcribing the information onto the medium.

Test Versions

17. Test versions of upcoming software releases, sometimes referred to in the industry as beta versions, may be imported into Canada. These importations may occur for quality control or for product evaluation.

18. If the test versions are sold, the transaction value method will be applicable. If they are imported free of charge, another valuation method will apply. In other words, the value for duty will be based on the value of the physical medium, that is, the disk or tape, and the cost of transcribing the information onto the medium.

Goods and Services Tax (GST)

19. The goods and services tax (GST), to the extent that it has been charged by the vendor, is not to be included in the price paid or payable for the purposes of determining the value for duty of imported goods.

20. While the GST is payable only on the medium value at the time of importation in the foregoing circumstances, it is possible that the GST may be payable on the licence fees according to other provisions of the GST legislation. The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Technical Information Bulletin B-037R, Imported Computer Software, addresses this issue.

Additional Information

21. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
79070-4-9
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D13-11-6, April 17, 2001
Date modified:

Détermination de la valeur en douane des logiciels

Mémorandum D13-11-6

Ottawa, le 7 août 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (282 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique et donne des exemples sur les modalités à suivre pour établir la valeur en douane des logiciels.

Législation

Articles 44 à 55 de la Loi sur les douanes


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Aux termes du Décret de remise sur les supports de transmission de données, les droits de douane ne doivent pas être calculés sur la valeur des instructions ou des données contenues sur le logiciel. Des droits de douane sont néanmoins exigibles sur la valeur du support de transmission (par exemple, le disque ou la bande) et sur le coût de reproduction des instructions ou des données sur le support.

2. Le décret de remise mentionne la position du Canada à l'égard d'une décision rendue en 1984 par le Comité sur la valeur en douane de l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce (GATT). Les pays signataires de l'Accord sur la valeur en douane du GATT peuvent choisir d'établir la valeur d'un logiciel uniquement en fonction du support de transmission.

3. La décision du GATT et le décret de remise ne tiennent pas compte de l'application de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS). La TPS est payable au moment de l'importation sur la valeur en douane intégrale du logiciel (c'est-à-dire le disque et le programme).

4. Dans la plupart des cas, il ne sera pas difficile d'établir la valeur en douane d'un logiciel. Lorsqu'un logiciel a été vendu, sa valeur en douane sera déterminée au moyen de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.

5. Cependant, il y a des circonstances qui ne se prêtent pas à l'utilisation de cette méthode. Cela peut se produire lorsque l'importation n'est pas suite à une vente du logiciel ou lorsque le concepteur du logiciel conserve les droits de propriété et facture des droits de licence. Dans de tels cas, les lignes directrices concernant l'établissement de la valeur en douane se retrouvent dans les sections suivantes.

Logiciels de série

6. Les importations les plus fréquentes sont celles de ventes de logiciels de série préemballés. Elles entraînent un transfert de propriété, puisque les droits de licence sont habituellement compris dans le prix de vente. En pareil cas, la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle s'applique. La valeur en douane est calculée sur le prix payé ou à payer pour le logiciel, si celui-ci est vendu pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur au Canada. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-1, Méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.

7. Il convient de souligner que si les marchandises ont été vendues, le prix payé ou à payer est calculé à partir du montant réellement payé ou à payer, et non de celui figurant sur les listes de prix provenant d'autres sources. Par exemple, si un logiciel donné se vend normalement pour 200 $, mais que le même logiciel a été acheté d'un magasin de vente au rabais pour la somme de 75 $, la valeur en douane devrait être établie en fonction du prix de 75 $.

Logiciels personnalisés

8. La méthode de la valeur transactionnelle s'applique également dans le cas de la vente d'un logiciel ayant été conçu pour un seul acheteur ou pour un petit nombre d'acheteurs. L'acheteur devient ainsi propriétaire du logiciel et obtient le droit de l'utiliser. La valeur en douane est calculée sur le prix payé ou à payer pour le logiciel vendu pour exportation au Canada.

9. Des exemplaires de logiciels, habituellement de logiciels personnalisés, peuvent être fournis en vertu d'un accord de licence, moyennant des frais prélevés à l'acquisition, avec des frais d'utilisation versés régulièrement. Dans de tels cas, les droits de propriété ou le contrôle du logiciel ne sont pas nécessairement transférés au client. En d'autres termes, aucune vente n'a lieu. La plupart du temps, un droit de licence ou de location est versé au propriétaire pour obtenir le droit d'utiliser le logiciel pendant une période convenue. La méthode de la valeur transactionnelle ne s'applique pas dans cette situation, étant donné qu'il n'y a ni transfert de droits de propriété ni de vente.

10.Les autres méthodes de détermination de la valeur pourraient ne pas s'appliquer. Il est peu probable qu'il y ait eu vente de marchandises identiques ou semblables au Canada. Une valeur de référence ne peut être déterminée si les marchandises, ou des marchandises identiques ou semblables, n'ont pas été vendues au Canada. Le fait qu'il n'y ait pas de vente au Canada empêche également le calcul d'un montant au titre des bénéfices et des frais généraux, conformément à la méthode de la valeur reconstituée.

11. Par conséquent, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) continuera d'observer les principes découlant de la décision du GATT à l'égard des supports de transmission de données, de même que les principes énoncés dans les mémorandums D8-3-15, Décret de remise sur les supports de transmission de données, et D13-11-2, Valeur en douane de certains produits d'information. La valeur des logiciels autorisés ou loués à l'égard desquels aucune vente n'a eu lieu sera calculée d'après la valeur du support de transmission et le coût de reproduction des instructions ou des données sur le support.

Disques de mise à jour

Frais de disques de mise à jour

12. La méthode de la valeur transactionnelle continue de s'appliquer, à la condition que l'importation des disques de mise à jour soit le résultat d'une vente. Par exemple, le vendeur demande à l'acheteur de lui payer 1 000 $ pour le logiciel original et 100 $ pour chaque disque de mise à jour. La valeur en douane de chaque disque de mise à jour sera donc établie en fonction du 100 $ et ajustée de la manière indiquée au paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi sur les douanes.

Mises à jour gratuites du logiciel original

13. L'acheteur peut parfois obtenir gratuitement des disques de mise à jour aux termes des conditions initiales de la vente ou de l'accord de licence. Dans un tel cas, la valeur du disque de mise à jour est comprise dans la valeur du logiciel vendu initialement. Pourvu qu'une preuve à cet égard puisse être fournie, la valeur du disque de mise à jour correspondra à 0 $ et aucune imposition de droits de douane et de TPS sera effectuée.

14. Par exemple, le vendeur demande à l'acheteur de lui payer 1 000 $ pour le logiciel original. Les conditions de la vente ou de l'accord de licence prévoient dans ce prix la fourniture des disques de mise à jour. Selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle, la valeur en douane du logiciel original est calculée d'après le prix payé de 1 000 $. La valeur du disque de mise à jour est comprise dans le prix du logiciel original.

Mises à jour gratuites – Frais annuels

15. Si les disques de mise à jour sont fournis gratuitement, soit parce que le destinataire doit verser des frais périodiques au fournisseur ou payer des droits d'adhésion à un club, les montants en question serviront de base au calcul de la valeur en douane des disques. Le montant total (frais d'adhésion ou frais annuels) sera appliqué à la valeur du premier disque. Quant à la valeur des disques qui seront subséquemment importés au cours de l'année, elle sera établie de la manière expliquée dans le paragraphe 13.

Disques promotionnels

16. Étant donné que l'importation de disques promotionnels ne résulte pas d'une vente, on ne peut appliquer la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle. Dans un tel cas, on s'appuiera sur les principes de la décision du GATT concernant l'appréciation de la valeur des logiciels et la valeur du disque promotionnel sera alors calculée conformément aux directives énoncées dans le Mémorandum D13-11-2. La valeur en douane de tels logiciels sera établie en fonction de la valeur du support physique, par exemple le disque ou la bande, et du coût de transcription de l'information sur ce support.

Versions pilotes

17. Des versions pilotes de logiciels précommercialisation, que l'on appelle communément dans l'industrie des versions bêta, peuvent être importées au Canada. Ces versions pilotes sont habituellement importées pour les fins de contrôle de la qualité ou d'évaluation du produit.

18. Lorsque ces versions pilotes sont vendues, on applique la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle. Si, par contre, elles sont importées gratuitement, on aura recours à une autre méthode, c'est-à-dire que la valeur en douane sera fondée sur la valeur du support, soit le disque ou la bande, et sur le coût de transcription de l'information sur ce support.

Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS)

19. La TPS ne doit pas être incluse dans le prix payé ou à payer, dans la mesure où elle a été facturée par le vendeur, aux fins de la détermination de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées.

20. Bien que la TPS ne soit exigible que sur la valeur du support au moment de l'importation, il est possible, dans les circonstances susmentionnées, d'imposer la TPS sur les droits de licence, aux termes des dispositions législatives régissant l'application de cette taxe. Le Bulletin d'information technique de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) B-037R, Logiciel importé, traite de cette question.

Renseignements supplémentaires

21. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l’administration centrale
79070-4-9
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D13-11-6, le 17 avril 2001
Date de modification :