Used Goods

Memorandum D13-10-1

Ottawa, November 19, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (197 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.
  2. The Appendix containing estimated useful life of various products has been deleted.

This memorandum outlines and explains the manner in which the value for duty of used goods, other than used motor vehicles, is determined under the Customs Act. Memorandum D13-10-2, Used Automobiles, Motor Vehicles, Boats, and Other Vessels, outlines the manner in which the value for duty of used motor vehicles is to be determined.

Legislation

Sections 48 to 53 of the Customs Act.


Guidelines and General Information

Used Goods Valued Under the Transaction Value Method (Section 48 of the Customs Act)

1. Where used goods are sold for export to Canada and the sale meets all of the requirements set out in section 48 of the Customs Act (the Act), the price paid or payable for the goods is to be used as the basis for determining the value for duty. For more information on the transaction value method, refer to Memorandum D13-4-1, Transaction Value Method of Valuation.

2. Attention is drawn to subparagraph 48(5)(a)(ii) of the Act which requires that all costs, charges, and expenses incurred by the purchaser, incident to placing the goods in the condition in which they are shipped to Canada, must be included in the transaction value. As an example, a Canadian firm purchases used machinery from a foreign vendor on an “as is, where is” basis. The Canadian purchaser then contracts with a third person who disassembles the machinery and crates it for export to Canada. All costs, charges, and expenses incurred by the Canadian purchaser for the operation would be included as part of the value for duty.

Used Goods Not Valued Under the Transaction Value Method

3. If the requirements of section 48 of the Act are not met, the value for duty must be determined under one of the subsequent methods of valuation applied in sequential order. Attention is drawn to two specific sets of circumstances where section 48 of the Act would not be applicable because a sale for export to Canada would not be considered to have occurred

  • (a) as part of an arrangement separate from the contract of sale, the goods are reconditioned, refurbished, modernized, or otherwise improved prior to their importation into Canada; and
  • (b) the imported goods—whether purchased new or used—are subject to use prior to their importation into Canada, excepting motor vehicles where the intervening use is confined to the use of the vehicle as its own means of transportation.

4. In both of the situations outlined above, there is a change in the condition of the goods brought about by the deliberate action of the purchaser prior to importation. As a result, they could not be considered to be the goods originally sold to the purchaser. That original sale cannot be considered, therefore, to be a sale for export to Canada for the purposes of section 48 of the Act.

Application of Alternate Valuation Methods

5. Where section 48 of the Act cannot be used, certain difficulties may arise in applying sections 49 to 52 of the Act to appraise importations of used goods. These potential difficulties are outlined below.

6. Sections 49 and 50 of the Act allow for the valuation of goods based on the transaction value of identical or similar goods. However, as the goods being valued are used goods, it may be difficult to find sales to Canada of goods which could be considered identical or similar and which meet all the requirements of sections 49 and 50 of the Act.

7. Under section 51 of the Act, goods are valued on the basis of sales in Canada of the goods being appraised, or of identical or similar goods. If there are sales in Canada of the goods being appraised, it may be possible to determine the value for duty under this section. Where there are no such sales because the goods being appraised are imported for use in Canada rather than for resale, the difficulty of finding other sales of goods which could be considered identical or similar to the goods being appraised may preclude the application of this method.

8. Under section 52 of the Act, goods are valued using the computed value method which is based, among other things, on the cost of production of the goods being appraised plus an amount for profit and general expenses. However, since used goods are not manufactured as such, it is not possible to calculate the cost of production.

Application of the Residual Method of Valuation (Section 53 of the Customs Act)

9. It follows that since there may be difficulty in applying sections 49 to 52 of the Act, used goods which cannot be appraised under section 48 of the Act will, in some cases, be valued using the residual method under section 53 of the Act. In order to ensure that the approach applied reflects commercial reality and results in a value which is fair, uniform, and neutral, the valuation procedure may often require a process of close consultation between the importer of the goods and the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA). Although a standard method of valuation is not appropriate, guideline methods may be useful in the application of this section. The following paragraphs outline several such guideline methods.

10. In a situation where the goods have been reconditioned, refurbished, modernized, or otherwise improved after the sale but prior to importation, the CBSA would normally accept a value for duty based on the aggregate of the following:

  • (a) the price paid or payable for the goods adjusted in accordance with the provisions of subsection 48(5) of the Act; and
  • (b) an amount equal to the total costs, charges, and expenses incurred by the purchaser for such work.

11. In many other cases, the value for duty may be determined under the provisions of section 53 of the Act, by flexibly applying section 49 or 50 of the Act using the transaction value of identical or similar new goods exported at the same or substantially the same time as the goods being appraised. In addition to the adjustments provided for in sections 49 and 50 of the Act, the transaction value of such new goods will also be adjusted to account for differences in value as a result of:

  • (a) depreciation, based on the life expectancy of the used goods for the period in use;
  • (b) obsolescence, where warranted; and
  • (c) condition, if other than average for the period in use.

12. Adjustments to the transaction value are initially made for differences in trade level and quantity, as well as transportation and associated costs as set out in
subsections 49(3) and 50(2) of the Act. Deductions are then made for depreciation, followed by allowances, where warranted, for obsolescence and condition.

13. In the case of goods being appraised where the obsolescence factor is extremely high, appraisal may be made on the basis of the transaction value of identical or similar new goods exported to Canada at the same or substantially the same time as the goods being appraised were sold new. Adjustments are then made to the transaction value of such goods as provided for in sections 49 and 50 of the Act, and for depreciation and condition only.

Depreciation

14. Depreciation is the reduction in service value throughout the useful life of goods resulting from normal wear and tear. It is ordinarily continuous throughout the useful lives of goods but can be partly offset by repairs and proper maintenance.

15. There are several methods of calculating depreciation. Whichever method is used, it must be based on a reasonable estimate of the useful life of the asset and on generally accepted accounting principles.

16. In calculating depreciation, it is normally assumed that at the end of the depreciation period the asset has little or no value. Exceptions to this may occur, for example, in cases where the original estimate of useful life was inaccurate. In such cases, the “residual” or remaining value will be taken into account in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.

Obsolescence

17. Obsolescence results from technological improvements, such as changes in machine design or capacity, or inventions. Since the current models of new machinery and equipment may incorporate improvements of varying degrees which are not found on the imported used models, an allowance for obsolescence may be granted in certain circumstances.

18. In considering obsolescence, consideration will be given to both technological change and to the question of style, fashion, and changing market preference.

19. Generally, the question of obsolescence will be considered only after full provision has been made for depreciation. Obsolescence may be used as an adjustment of depreciated value in circumstances where the depreciation rate did not adequately take into account significant changes in technology or market preference.

20. If the value arrived at, using an acceptable method of depreciation, is significantly different from what the importer believes to be the market value of the goods, the importer may supply the CBSA with objective information on the value which the market has established for the particular type of goods, which would justify to customs that further adjustments should be made for obsolescence or for the unusual condition of the goods. Only then will a further adjustment from the depreciated value be considered.

21. Goods with a relatively short life expectancy are likely to have a high depreciation rate and as such a factor for obsolescence would not normally be justified.

22. For goods with a relatively long life expectancy, an allowance will be made for obsolescence only if the importer can demonstrate that such an allowance is warranted and can provide evidence to support the amount claimed.

Condition

23. The condition of the goods, if other than average, could result in an adjustment of the appraisal, either upwards or downwards. If the goods are in reasonable operating condition or average condition, no allowance would be made for condition.

24. Where the importer can demonstrate that the machine is in poorer than average condition taking into account the number of years in use, this may be taken into consideration when appraising the goods provided that satisfactory independent evidence in support of an allowance for condition is presented to the CBSA.

25. Where repairs are necessary after importation to restore the machinery or equipment to reasonable operating condition, this fact may be taken into consideration when deciding on an amount for the condition adjustment. No allowance is made for the cost of modernization or alterations. The actual cost of the repairs would not, of course, be known when the goods were appraised at the time of importation. This provision, therefore, would apply only in response to a request for re-appraisal, and the allowance would be substituted for any other allowance for condition made in calculating the value for duty at which the goods were entered. A request for a re-appraisal must be submitted within 90 days after the date the appraisal was made and must be accompanied by evidence to support the cost of such repairs.

Additional Information

26.  For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
79070-4-8
Legislative references :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D13-10-1, March 28, 2001
Date modified:

Marchandises usagées

Mémorandum D13-10-1

Ottawa, le 19 novembre 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (197 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.
  2. L’annexe comprenant les durées de vie utile estimées de certains produits a été supprimée.

Le présent mémorandum indique et explique la façon de déterminer la valeur en douane de marchandises usagées, autres que des véhicules à moteur usagés, en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes. Le Mémorandum D13-10-2, Automobiles, véhicules à moteur, bateaux et autres embarcations d’occasion, indique la façon de déterminer la valeur en douane des véhicules à moteur usagés.

Références législatives

Articles 48 à 53 de la Loi sur les douanes.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Marchandises usagées dont la valeur est déterminée conformément à la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle (article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes)

1. Lorsque des marchandises usagées sont vendues pour exportation au Canada et que la vente satisfait à toutes les exigences énumérées à l’article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi), la valeur en douane doit être fondée sur le prix payé ou à payer. Pour plus de renseignements sur la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle, consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-1, Méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.

2. Il faut tenir compte du fait que le sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(ii) de la Loi stipule que tous les coûts et les frais engagés par l’acheteur, y compris les frais accessoires de conditionnement des marchandises en vue de leur expédition au Canada, doivent être compris dans la valeur transactionnelle. Par exemple, une entreprise canadienne achète d’un vendeur étranger de la machinerie usagée « dans l’état et à l’endroit où elle se trouve ». Ensuite, l’acheteur canadien passe un contrat avec une tierce personne qui démonte les pièces et met la machinerie en caisse en vue de l’exportation au Canada. Tous les coûts et les frais engagés par l’acheteur canadien pour cette opération font partie de la valeur en douane.

Marchandises usagées dont la valeur n’est pas déterminée conformément à la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle

3. Si les exigences de l’article 48 de la Loi ne sont pas satisfaites, la valeur en douane doit être déterminée conformément à l’une des méthodes suivantes de détermination de la valeur, appliquée dans l’ordre séquentiel. Il est à noter que dans deux situations particulières, l’article 48 de la Loi ne peut s’appliquer parce que la vente pour exportation au Canada ne peut être considérée comme ayant eu lieu :

  • a) à titre de partie distincte des dispositions d’un contrat de vente, les marchandises sont remises en état, remises à neuf, rénovées ou améliorées d’une quelque autre façon avant leur importation au Canada;
  • b) les marchandises importées, qu’elles soient achetées neuves ou usagées, sont utilisées avant leur importation au Canada, à l’exception des véhicules à moteur pour lesquels l’utilisation se limite à l’emploi du véhicule comme son propre moyen de transport.

4. Dans les deux situations présentées ci-dessus, l’état des marchandises est changé par suite de mesures prises délibérément par l’acheteur avant l’importation. En conséquence, ces marchandises ne peuvent être considérées comme étant les marchandises vendues à l’origine à l’acheteur. Ainsi, la vente originale ne peut être considérée, aux fins de l’article 48 de la Loi, comme une vente en vue de l’exportation au Canada.

Application des autres méthode d’établissement de la valeur

5. Lorsque l’article 48 de la Loi ne peut être utilisé, certaines difficultés peuvent se poser au moment d’appliquer les articles 49 à 52 de la Loi aux importations de marchandises usagées. Les difficultés éventuelles sont énoncées ci-dessous.

6. Les articles 49 et 50 de la Loi prévoient la détermination de la valeur en douane fondée sur la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques ou semblables. Cependant, comme les marchandises à apprécier sont des marchandises usagées, il peut s’avérer difficile de trouver des ventes pour le Canada de marchandises susceptibles d’être considérées comme identiques ou semblables et qui satisfont à toutes les exigences des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi.

7. Conformément à l’article 51 de la Loi, la valeur des marchandises est déterminée par les ventes au Canada des marchandises en question, ou de marchandises identiques ou semblables. S’il y a des ventes au Canada des marchandises à apprécier, la valeur en douane peut être déterminée en vertu de cet article. Si aucune vente des marchandises à apprécier n’est effectuée parce que celles-ci sont importées pour être utilisées au Canada plutôt que pour la revente, la difficulté de trouver d’autres ventes de marchandises susceptibles d’être considérées comme identiques ou semblables aux marchandises à apprécier peut empêcher l’application de cette méthode.

8. Conformément à l’article 52 de la Loi, la valeur des marchandises est déterminée au moyen de la méthode de la valeur reconstituée, laquelle est fondée, entre autres, sur le coût de production des marchandises à apprécier, plus un certain montant pour les bénéfices et les frais généraux. Cependant, puisque les marchandises usagées ne sont pas fabriquées comme telles, il est impossible de calculer le coût de production.

Application de la dernière méthode d’appréciation (article 53 de la Loi sur les douanes)

9. Par conséquent, étant donné qu’il peut être difficile d’appliquer les articles 49 à 52 de la Loi, la valeur des marchandises usagées qui ne peuvent être déterminées par l’application de l’article 48 sera, dans certains cas, déterminée au moyen de la dernière méthode d’appréciation décrite à l’article 53 de la Loi. Afin de s’assurer que la méthode utilisée correspond à la réalité commerciale et donne une valeur juste, uniforme et neutre, on doit tenir compte du fait que le processus de détermination de la valeur peut souvent nécessiter des consultations étroites entre l’importateur des marchandises et l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC). Bien qu’aucune méthode normalisée ne convienne à l’établissement de la valeur, des lignes directrices peuvent s’avérer utiles à l’application de cet article. Les paragraphes suivants énoncent plusieurs lignes directrices de ce genre.

10. Dans le cas de marchandises remises en état, remises à neuf, rénovées ou améliorées d’une quelque autre façon après la vente mais avant l’importation, l’ASFC accepterait, normalement, la valeur en douane fondée sur la somme des éléments suivants :

  • a) le prix payé ou à payer, ajusté conformément aux dispositions du paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi;
  • b) un montant égal au total des coûts et des frais supportés par l’acheteur relativement au travail exécuté.

11. Dans plusieurs autres cas, la valeur en douane peut être déterminée en vertu de l’article 53 de la Loi, en appliquant de façon souple l’article 49 ou 50 de la Loi, c’est-à-dire au moyen de la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises neuves, identiques ou semblables, qui sont exportées au même moment ou à peu près au même moment que les marchandises à apprécier. En plus des ajustements prévus aux articles 49 et 50 de la Loi, la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises neuves de ce genre sera aussi ajustée pour tenir compte des différences de la valeur par suite :

  • a) de la dépréciation, fondée sur la durée probable des marchandises usagées pour la période d’utilisation;
  • b) de l’obsolescence, lorsque cela est justifié;
  • c) de l’état, s’il diffère de l’état moyen pour la période d’utilisation.

12. La valeur transactionnelle est tout d’abord ajustée pour rendre compte des différences découlant du niveau commercial et de la quantité, ainsi que des coûts de transport et frais connexes tels que décrits dans les paragraphes 49(3) et 50(2) de la Loi. Une déduction est ensuite effectuée pour tenir compte de la dépréciation. De plus, lorsque cela est justifié, des allocations sont accordées pour l’obsolescence et l’état des marchandises.

13. Lorsque le facteur d’obsolescence des marchandises à apprécier est très élevé, la détermination de la valeur peut être fondée sur la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques ou semblables neuves, qui ont été exportées vers le Canada au même moment, ou à peu près au même moment, où les marchandises à apprécier ont été vendues à l’état neuf. La valeur transactionnelle de marchandises de ce genre est ensuite ajustée, comme il est prévu aux articles 49 et 50 de la Loi, puis rajustée pour tenir compte uniquement de la dépréciation et de l’état des marchandises.

Dépréciation

14. La dépréciation est la diminution de la valeur d’utilisation des marchandises, tout au long de la durée de vie utile, attribuable à l’usure normale. Elle se poursuit habituellement pendant la durée de vie utile, mais peut être en partie compensée par les réparations et le bon entretien.

15. Il existe plusieurs méthodes pour calculer la dépréciation. Quelle que soit la méthode utilisée, elle doit être fondée sur une appréciation raisonnable de la durée de vie utile du produit et sur des principes de comptabilité généralement reconnus.

16. Lorsqu’on calcule la dépréciation, il est normal de présumer qu’au terme de la période de dépréciation le produit n’a plus aucune valeur ou très peu. Il peut y avoir des exceptions lorsque, par exemple, la durée de vie utile n’a pas été évaluée correctement au départ. Il faut alors tenir compte de la valeur « résiduelle » conformément aux principes de comptabilité généralement reconnus.

Obsolescence

17. L’obsolescence est due aux améliorations technologiques, telles que les changements dans la conception ou la puissance des machines, et aux inventions. Étant donné que les modèles actuels de nouvelle machinerie et d’équipement peuvent incorporer des améliorations diverses par rapport aux modèles usagés qui sont importés, une déduction pour obsolescence peut être accordée dans certaines circonstances.

18. Lorsqu’on détermine l’obsolescence, il convient de tenir compte de l’évolution de la technologie, des modèles, de la mode et des préférences.

19. En général, on tiendra compte de l’obsolescence seulement après avoir entièrement pris en compte la dépréciation. L’obsolescence peut être utilisée pour ajuster la valeur comptable résiduelle lorsqu’il n’a pas été assez tenu compte des développements importants de la technologie et de l’évolution des préférences dans le calcul du taux de dépréciation.

20. Si la valeur des marchandises, déterminée en utilisant une méthode de dépréciation acceptable, est assez différente de ce que l’importateur croit être la valeur marchande, l’importateur peut fournir à l’ASFC des renseignements objectifs sur la valeur commerciale des marchandises en cause susceptibles de justifier des ajustements supplémentaires pour l’obsolescence ou l’état inhabituel des marchandises. C’est dans ce cas seulement qu’il sera possible de considérer un ajustement de la valeur comptable résiduelle.

21. Les marchandises dont la durée probable est relativement courte auront probablement un taux de dépréciation élevé et, pour cette raison, l’obsolescence ne pourra être justifiée comme facteur.

22. En ce qui a trait aux marchandises dont la durée probable est relativement longue, une déduction pour l’obsolescence pourra être accordée seulement si l’importateur peut démontrer que l’allocation est justifiée et qu’il peut fournir des preuves à l’appui du montant réclamé.

État des marchandises

23. L’état des marchandises, s’il est autre que normal, pourrait entraîner un ajustement de la détermination de la valeur, soit à la hausse, soit à la baisse. Si les marchandises sont dans un état de fonctionnement raisonnable ou dans un état normal, aucune allocation n’est accordée pour l’état.

24. Lors de la détermination de la valeur des marchandises, l’état d’une machine pourra être pris en considération si l’importateur peut démontrer que cet état est en-dessous de la normale, compte tenu du nombre d’années d’utilisation, et s’il peut fournir à l’ASFC des preuves indépendantes et satisfaisantes qui justifient une allocation en raison de l’état.

25. Si, après l’importation, des réparations sont nécessaires en vue de remettre les machines ou le matériel dans un état de fonctionnement raisonnable, il faut tenir compte de ce fait lorsqu’on décide du montant d’ajustement pour l’état. Aucune déduction n’est accordée pour les coûts de modernisation ou de transformation. Bien entendu, le coût réel des réparations n’est pas connu au moment de l’importation. Cette disposition s’appliquerait donc seulement à la suite d’une demande de révision de l’appréciation, et l’allocation en question remplacerait toute autre allocation accordée pour l’état lors du calcul de la valeur en douane au moment où les marchandises ont été importées. Une demande de révision de l’appréciation doit être présentée dans les 90 jours suivant la date de l’appréciation et doit être accompagnée de preuves justifiant le coût de telles réparations.

Renseignements supplémentaires

26.  Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux
(8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-8
Références légales :
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum « D » :
D13-10-1, le 28 mars 2001
Date de modification :