Verification of Origin (Non-free Trade Agreements), Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty of Imported Goods

Memorandum D11-6-8

Ottawa, July 11, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (54 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.


This memorandum provides information on a verification conducted under section 42.01 of the Customs Act.

Legislation

The legislation governing the guidelines and general information contained in this memorandum are contained in section 42.01 of the Customs Act.

Regulations

The regulations governing the guidelines and general information contained in this memorandum are presented in the Verification of Origin (Non-Free Trade Partners), Tariff Classification and Value for Duty of Imported Goods Regulationsand the Determination, Re-determination and Further Re-determination of Origin, Tariff Classification and Value for Duty Regulations.


Guidelines and General Information

Why are Verifications Conducted?

1. Verifications are used to ensure that importers comply with CBSA requirements and programs.

What are the Main Objectives of Conducting a Verification?

2. Verifications are used to:

  • (a) assess a client's compliance with CBSA administered legislation;
  • (b) determine compliance within industry sectors;
  • (c) conduct a review of a client's liabilities and entitlements; and
  • (d) assess the integrity of trade data received from importers.

Scope of Programs

3. Verifications carried out under the provisions of section 42.01 of the Customs Act (the Act) apply to three program areas, specifically:

  • (a) origin (non-free trade agreement);
  • (b) tariff classification; and
  • (c) value for duty.

Scope of Origin Program Covered

4. A verification of origin under section 42.01 of the Act may be conducted on goods imported under:

  • (a) Most-Favoured-Nation Tariff;
  • (b) General Preferential Tariff;
  • (c) Commonwealth Caribbean Countries Tariff;
  • (d) Least Developed Country Tariff;
  • (e) Australia Trade Agreement; and
  • (f) New Zealand Trade Agreement.

Scope of Origin Program Excluded

5. A verification of origin under section 42.01 of the Act may not be conducted on goods imported under a free-trade agreement.

6. Information concerning verifications of origin on goods imported (or in some cases exported) under a free-trade agreement, can be found in Memorandum D11-4-20, Procedures for Verifications of Origin Under a Free Trade Agreement.

Methods of Verification

7. Verifications can be conducted by using one or more of the following methods:

  • (a) questionnaire;
  • (b) verification letter;
  • (c) verification visit; and
  • (d) a review of any other information or articles received from an importer, owner, or person who accounted for the goods under subsection 32(1), (3), or (5) of the Act.

8. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) will select the verification method(s) to be used for reviewing imported goods, taking into account the specific program needs and the nature of the client's activities.

9. The CBSA will decide where the verification will be conducted, whether it will be on-site, from the officer's workplace, or a combination of the two, and the program(s) to be reviewed for each client.

10. The CBSA will conduct verifications as one of the means of ensuring compliance with the legislation and regulations that the CBSA administers.

Verification Questionnaire/Verification Letter

11. As part of the verification process, the CBSA may send a questionnaire or letter to the importer, owner, or person who accounted for the goods under subsection 32(1), (3), or (5) of the Act, which may identify the following:

  • (a) start date of the verification;
  • (b) scope of the verification (including the anticipated verification period);
  • (c) name(s) of the verification team member(s);
  • (d) legislative basis for the verification; and
  • (e) a request for certain documents or information.

Verification Visit

12. As part of the verification process, a verification visit may be conducted by an officer. The officer will attend the place or premises of the importer, owner of the goods, or the person who accounted for the goods under subsection 32(1), (3), or (5) of the Act to conduct that part of the verification.

Verification of Other Information or Articles

13. As part of a verification, the CBSA may review any other information received from the importer, owner, or person who accounted for the goods under subsection 32(1), (3), or (5) of the Act during the verification. As well, information the CBSA may already have available (e.g., copies of Form B3-3, product information or analysis, and trade literature) may also be used in the verification process.

14. As part of the verification, the CBSA may analyze an article. This article may be something that was requested as part of the verification (e.g., a sample of a textile or a particular chemical), or it may be an article that is relevant to the verification, which the CBSA already has in its possession.

Re-determination or Further Re-determination

15. Determination of origin, tariff classification and value for duty of imported goods is made under section 58 of the Act.

16. Based on the results of an audit or examination conducted under section 42.01 of the Act, a CBSA officer may, pursuant to section 59 of the Act, re-determine or further re-determine the origin, tariff classification and/or value for duty of the imported goods, at any time within four years after the date of the determination.

17. Where a correction or a refund has been filed within the last year of the four-year limit on correction period (i.e., 37th to 48th month from the import declaration), the CBSA will have five years to further re-determine the goods. Additional information is contained in the Determination, Re-determination and Further Re-determination of Origin, Tariff Classification and Value for Duty Regulations.

Disclosure

18. The CBSA will ensure that verification results, and the rationale for decisions, are fully explained to the client at the end of any verification through an exit interview, at a disclosure meeting, or through written correspondence.

Review and Appeal

19. For information concerning the dispute resolution process for importers who disagree with the Agency's determination, re-determination, or further re-determination of origin, tariff classification, or value for duty of goods, please refer to Memorandum D11-6-7, Importers' Dispute Resolution Process for Origin, Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty of Imported Goods.

Books and Records

20. Information pertaining to the records and books that must be maintained in Canada by importers is contained in Memorandum D17-1-21, Maintenance of Records in Canada by Importers.

Confidentiality

21. Information obtained as a result of a verification will be maintained in accordance with section 107 of the Act.

Additional Information

22. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
4563-10-4
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D11-6-8 dated April 21, 2000
Date modified:

Vérification de l'origine (non-signataire d'un accord libre-échange), du classement tarifaire et de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées

Mémorandum D11-6-8

Ottawa, le 11 juillet 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (56 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.


Le présent mémorandum fournit des renseignements sur une vérification effectuée en vertu de l'article 42.01 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Législation

La législation régissant les lignes directrices et renseignements généraux figurant dans le présent mémorandum se trouve à l'article 42.01 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Règlements

Les dispositions régissant les lignes directrices et renseignements généraux figurant dans le présent mémorandum se trouvent dans le Règlement sur la vérification de l'origine (partenaires non libres-échangistes), du classement tarifaire et de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées et le Règlement sur la détermination, la révision et le réexamen de l'origine, du classement tarifaire et de la valeur en douane,


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Raison d'être des vérifications

1. Les vérifications sont un moyen d'assurer que les importateurs respectent les exigences et les programmes de l'ASFC.

Principaux objectifs des vérifications

2. Les vérifications sont effectuées dans le but :

  • a) de déterminer dans quelle mesure le client se conforme à la législation administrée par l'ASFC;
  • b) d'évaluer le niveau d'observation des secteurs industriels;
  • c) d'examiner les obligations et les droits du client;
  • d) de vérifier si les données commerciales reçues des importateurs sont complètes.

Programmes visés

3. Les vérifications effectuées en vertu de l'article 42.01 de la Loi sur les douanes(la Loi)s'appliquent aux trois secteurs de programme suivants :

  • a) l'origine (non-signataire d'un accord libre-échangiste);
  • b) le classement tarifaire; et
  • c) la valeur en douane.

Marchandises visées par ce programme de vérification de l'origine

4. La vérification de l'origine prévue à l'article 42.01 de la Loi peut être exécutée à l'égard des marchandises importées sous les régimes suivants :

  • a) le Tarif de la nation la plus favorisée;
  • b) le Tarif de préférence général;
  • c) le Tarif des pays antillais du Commonwealth;
  • d) le Tarif des pays les moins développés;
  • e) l'Accord commercial avec l'Australie;
  • f) l'Accord commercial avec la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Marchandises exclues de ce programme de vérification de l'origine

5. La vérification de l'origine prévue à l'article 42.01 de la Loi ne peut être exécutée à l'égard des marchandises importées en vertu d'un accord de libre-échange.

6. Les renseignements sur la vérification de l'origine des marchandises importées (ou, dans certains cas, exportées) dans le cadre d'un accord de libre-échange se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-4-20, Procédures pour les vérifications de l'origine dans le cadre d'un accord de libre-échange.

Méthodes de vérification

7. Les vérifications peuvent être effectuées au moyen d'une ou de plusieurs des méthodes suivantes :

  • a) un questionnaire;
  • b) une lettre de vérification;
  • c) une visite de vérification; et
  • d) un examen d'autres renseignements ou articles reçus de l'importateur, du propriétaire ou de la personne ayant déclaré les marchandises en détail en application des paragraphes 32(1), (3) ou (5) de la Loi.

8. L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) choisit la ou les méthode(s) de vérification à utiliser pour l'examen des marchandises importées, selon les exigences particulières du programme et la nature des activités du client.

9. L'ASFC détermine si la vérification se fera sur place, au lieu de travail de l'agent ou aux deux endroits, ainsi que le(s) programme(s) à examiner pour chaque client.

10. La vérification est l'un des moyens qu'utilise l'ASFC pour assurer le respect des lois et des règlements que l'ASFC administre.

Questionnaires et lettres de vérification

11. Il peut arriver, dans le cadre du processus de vérification, que l'ASFC envoie un questionnaire ou une lettre à l'importateur, au propriétaire ou à la personne ayant déclaré les marchandises en détail en application des paragraphes 32(1), (3) ou (5) de la Loi. Le document en question pourrait contenir les renseignements suivants :

  • a) la date du début de la vérification;
  • b) le champ d'application de la vérification (y compris la période visée);
  • c) le(s) nom(s) du ou des membre(s) de l'équipe de vérification;
  • d) le fondement juridique de la vérification;
  • e) les documents ou les renseignements à fournir.

Visite de vérification

12. Il pourrait arriver, dans le cadre du processus de vérification, que l'agent procède à une visite de vérification. Cette partie de la vérification se fait au local de l'importateur, du propriétaire des marchandises ou de la personne ayant déclaré les marchandises en détail en application des paragraphes 32(1), (3) ou (5) de la Loi.

Examen d'autres renseignements ou articles

13. L'ASFC peut examiner, dans le cadre d'une vérification, les autres renseignements qu'elle a reçus au cours de cette vérification de l'importateur, du propriétaire ou de la personne ayant déclaré les marchandises en détail en application des paragraphes 32(1), (3) ou (5) de la Loi, ainsi que les renseignements qu'elle possède déjà (p. ex. les copies d'un formulaire B3-3, les renseignements ou analyses portant sur le produit et les documents commerciaux).

14. L'ASFC peut aussi analyser un article dans le cadre de la vérification. Il peut s'agir d'un article qui a été demandé aux fins de la vérification (p. ex. un échantillon de tissu ou un produit chimique particulier) ou d'un article pertinent que l'AFSC a déjà en sa possession.

Révision ou réexamen

15. La détermination de l'origine, du classement tarifaire et de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées est effectuée en vertu de l'article 58 de la Loi.

16. D'après les résultats d'une vérification ou d'un examen effectué en vertu de l'article 42.01 de la Loi, un agent de l'ASFC est autorisé, conformément à l'article 59 de la Loi, à réviser ou à réexaminer l'origine, le classement tarifaire et(ou) la valeur en douane des marchandises importées, à tout moment dans les quatre ans suivant la date de la détermination.

17. Lorsqu'une demande de correction ou de remboursement est présentée au cours de la dernière année du délai accordé pour présenter une correction de quatre ans (c.-à-d. entre le 37e et le 48e mois suivant la déclaration d'importation), l'ASFC a un délai de cinq ans pour faire le réexamen des marchandises. De plus amples renseignements se trouvent dans le Règlement sur la détermination, la révision et le réexamen de l'origine, du classement tarifaire et de la valeur en douane.

Divulgation

18. L'ASFC veille à ce que les résultats de la vérification et les motifs des décisions soient bien expliqués au client à la fin de la vérification au cours d'une entrevue de fin de mission, dans le cadre d'une réunion de divulgation ou par correspondance écrite.

Examen et appel

19. Pour plus d'information sur le processus de règlement des différends pour les importateurs qui ne sont pas d'accord avec la détermination, la révision et le réexamen de l'origine, du classement tarifaire et de la valeur en douane de l'ASFC, consultez le Mémorandum D11-6-7, Processus de règlement des différends pour les importateurs concernant l'origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane de marchandises importées.

Livres et registres

20. Les renseignements se rapportant aux documents que les importateurs sont tenus de conserver au Canada se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D17-1-21, Conservation des documents au Canada par les importateurs.

Confidentialité

21. Les renseignements obtenus dans le cadre d'une vérification seront conservés conformément à l'article 107 de la Loi.

Renseignements supplémentaires

22. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
4563-10-4
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D11-6-8 daté le 21 avril 2000
Date de modification :