Interpretative Policy – Tariff Classification of Metal Ores and Concentrates

Memorandum D10-17-39

Ottawa, June 24, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (59 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.


This memorandum outlines and explains the tariff interpretation of metal ores and concentrates for the purpose of tariff items 2603.00.00, 2604.00.00, 2607.00.00, 2608.00.00, 2616.10.00 and 2616.90.00.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Tariff item and Nos. involved

  • 2603.00.00 - Copper ores and concentrates
    • 10 ----- Copper content
    • 20 ----- Lead content
    • 30 ----- Zinc content
    • ----- Precious metal content:
    • 81 ----- Silver content
    • 82 ----- Gold content
    • 90 ----- Other
  • 2604.00.00 - Nickel ores and concentrates
    • 10 ----- Copper content
    • 20 ----- Nickel content
    • ----- Precious metal content:
    • 81 ----- Silver content
    • 82 ----- Gold content
    • 83 ----- Platinum group metal content
    • 90 ----- Other
  • 2607.00.00 - Lead ores and concentrates
    • 10 ----- Copper content
    • 20 ----- Lead content
    • 30 ----- Zinc content
    • ----- Precious metal content:
    • 81 ----- Silver content
    • 82 ----- Gold content
    • 90 ----- Other
  • 2608.00.00 - Zinc ores and concentrates
    • 10 ----- Copper content
    • 20 ----- Lead content
    • 30 ----- Zinc content
    • ----- Precious metal content:
    • 81 ----- Silver content
    • 82 ----- Gold content
    • 90 ----- Other
  • 2616.10.00 - Silver ores and concentrates
    • 10 ----- Copper content
    • 20 ----- Lead content
    • 30 ----- Zinc content
    • ----- Precious metal content:
    • 81 ----- Silver content
    • 82 ----- Gold content
    • 90 ----- Other
  • 2616.90.00 - Other
    • 10 ----- Silver content
    • 20 ----- Gold content
    • 30 ----- Platinum group metal content

Rules

As stipulated under Section 10 of the Customs Tariff, the following are the General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System (GIR) and the Canadian Rules to be applied in the tariff classification of metal ores and their concentrates:

GIR No. 3

When by application of Rule 2(b) or for any other reason, goods are, prima facie, classifiable under two or more headings, classification shall be effected as follows:

  • (a)  The heading, which provides the most specific description shall be preferred to headings providing a more general description. However, when two or more headings each refer to part of the materials or substances contained in mixed or composite goods or to part only of the items in a set put up for retail sale, those headings are to be regarded as equally specific in relation to those goods, even if one of them gives a more complete or precise description of the goods.
  • (b)  Mixtures, composite goods consisting of different materials or made up of different components, and goods put up in sets for retail sale, which cannot be classified by reference to 3(a), shall be classified as if they consisted of the material or component which gives them their essential character, insofar as this criterion is applicable.
  • (c)  When goods cannot be classified by reference to 3(a) or 3(b), they shall be classified under the heading which occurs last in numerical order among those which equally merit consideration.

GIR No. 6

For legal purposes, the classification of goods in the subheadings of a heading shall be determined according to the terms of those subheadings and any related Subheading Notes and, mutatis mutandis, to the above Rules, on the understanding that only subheadings at the same level are comparable. For the purpose of this Rule the relative Section and Chapter Notes also apply, unless the context otherwise requires.

Canadian Rule No. 1

For legal purposes, the classification of goods in the tariff items of a subheading or of a heading shall be determined according to the terms of those tariff items and any related Supplementary Notes and, mutatis mutandis, to the above Rules, on the understanding that only tariff items at the same level are comparable. For the purpose of this Rule the relative Section and Chapter Notes also apply, unless the context otherwise requires.


Guidelines and General Information

1. Except where the context otherwise requires, ores and concentrates made up of more than one mineralogical species are to be classified in heading Nos. 26.01 to 26.17 as appropriate by the application of General Interpretative Rule 3(b) or failing that by the application of Rule 3(c).

2. By the application of GIR 3(b), metal ores and concentrates consisting of different materials or made up of different components will be classified as if they consisted of the material or component which gives the ores and concentrates their essential character.

3. By application of GIR 3(c), when metal ores and concentrates cannot be classified by reference to 3(b), they will be classified under the heading which occurs last in numerical order among those which equally merit consideration.

4. In the area of metal ores and concentrates, the criterion of essential character based on weight is the most appropriate. Therefore, by the application of GIR 3(b), for the classification of metal ores and concentrates, the essential character will be determined, in most instances, by the metal which has the highest weight in the mixture.

5. Most concentrates contain more than one mineralogical species.

6. Shipments of metal ores and concentrates consisting of different materials or made up of different components are accompanied with documents which show the value and the weight of the shipment and the proportion of each of the metals contained in the ores and concentrates. This description or proportion is generally reflected in Kilograms per Short Dry Ton (KGM/SDT).

7. The recommended method for determining the essential character of metal ores and concentrates is based on the weight of each metal contained in the ores and concentrates, with the metal comprising the greatest weight determining the heading, sub-heading and tariff item within Chapter 26 for the entire shipment. This is the most stable and consistent method.

8. Other methods that may be used to determine the essential character of a shipment of metal ore, or its concentrates, are:

  • (a)  the origin of the ores and concentrates, that is, the metal for which the mine was established. However, the origin of the ores and concentrates (for example, gold mine, silver mine) is not always specified on the documents submitted to the Canada Border Services Agency office at the time of the original declaration; or,
  • (b)  the market value of each of the metals contained in the ores and concentrates with the metal having the highest value determining the heading within Chapter 26 for the entire shipment. However, the value of the individual metals is not an appropriate basis as market value fluctuates with market conditions and is not consistent.

Documentation

9. Once the heading, sub-heading and tariff item have been determined by the application of the above guidelines, each of the metals identified on the documentation must be accounted for on a separate line for statistical purposes on Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form. That is, that a different statistical suffix (for example classification number) must be used for each metal identified in the shipment per tariff item employed.

10. For example, a concentrate or a metal ore contains 28.35 grm of gold per metric ton and 14 kgm of copper per SDT. Two lines will be necessary for this importation. The two classification numbers declared will be 2603.00.00.10 for the copper content, and 2603.00.00.82 for the gold content. Based on the declared weight proportions, if the total shipment consists of one metric ton of mineral ore, the quantities for each line will be 28.35 grm of gold and 14 kgm of copper. If the value for duty of the shipment is $500, the value of the gold based on a market value of $400 per ounce or for 28.35 grm will be $400 and the value of the copper will be $100. It should be noted that the remaining mineral ore has no commercial value.

Additional Information

11. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3.

12. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Division
Headquarters file :
2603.00
Legislative references :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-17-39 dated June 14, 1995
Date modified:

Politique interprétative – Classement tarifaire des minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés

Mémorandum D10-17-39

Ottawa, le 24 juin 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (69 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.


Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique l'interprétation tarifaire des minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés, aux fins des numéros tarifaires 2603.00.00, 2604.00.00, 2607.00.00, 2608.00.00, 2616.10.00 et 2616.90.00.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Numéros tarifaires en cause

  • 2603.00.00 - Minerais de cuivre et leurs concentrés
    • 10 ----- Teneur en cuivre
    • 20 ----- Teneur en plomb
    • 30 ----- Teneur en zinc
    • ----- Teneur en métaux précieux :
    • 81 ----- Teneur en argent
    • 82 ----- Teneur en or
    • 90 ----- Autres
  • 2604.00.00 - Minerais de nickel et leurs concentrés
    • 10 ----- Teneur en cuivre
    • 20 ----- Teneur en nickel
    • ----- Teneur en métaux précieux :
    • 81 ----- Teneur en argent
    • 82 ----- Teneur en or
    • 83 ----- Teneur en platinoïdes
    • 90 ----- Autres
  • 2607.00.00 - Minerais de plomb et leurs concentrés
    • 10 ----- Teneur en cuivre
    • 20 ----- Teneur en plomb
    • 30 ----- Teneur en zinc
    • ----- Teneur en métaux précieux :
    • 81 ----- Teneur en argent
    • 82 ----- Teneur en or
    • 90 ----- Autres
  • 2608.00.00 - Minerais de zinc et leurs concentrés
    • 10 ----- Teneur en cuivre
    • 20 ----- Teneur en plomb
    • 30 ----- Teneur en zinc
    • ----- Teneur en métaux précieux :
    • 81 ----- Teneur en argent
    • 82 ----- Teneur en or
    • 90 ----- Autres
  • 2616.10.00 - Minerais d'argent et leurs concentrés
    • 10 ----- Teneur en cuivre
    • 20 ----- Teneur en plomb
    • 30 ----- Teneur en zinc
    • ----- Teneur en métaux précieux :
    • 81 ---- Teneur en argent
    • 82 ---- Teneur en or
    • 90 ---- Autres
  • 2616.90.00 - Autres
    • 10      ---- Teneur en argent
    • 20      ---- Teneur en or
    • 30      ---- Teneur en platinoïdes

Règles

Comme il est stipulé dans l'article 10 du Tarif des douanes, les Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé (RGI) et les Règles canadiennes suivantes doivent être appliquées dans le classement tarifaire des minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés :

RGI no 3

Lorsque des marchandises paraissent devoir être classées sous deux ou plusieurs positions par application de la Règle 2b) ou dans tout autre cas, le classement s'opère comme suit :

  • a) La position la plus spécifique doit avoir la priorité sur les positions d'une portée plus générale. Toutefois, lorsque deux ou plusieurs positions se rapportent chacune à une partie seulement des matières constituant un produit mélangé ou un article composite ou à une partie seulement des articles dans le cas de marchandises présentées en assortiments conditionnés pour la vente au détail, ces positions sont à considérer, au regard de ce produit ou de cet article, comme également spécifiques même si l'une d'elles en donne par ailleurs une description plus précise ou plus complète.
  • b) Les produits mélangés, les ouvrages composés de matières différentes ou constitués par l'assemblage d'articles différents et les marchandises présentées en assortiments conditionnés pour la vente au détail, dont le classement ne peut être effectué en application de la Règle 3a), sont classés d'après la matière ou l'article qui leur confère leur caractère essentiel lorsqu'il est possible d'opérer cette détermination.
  • c) Dans le cas où les Règles 3a) et 3b) ne permettent pas d'effectuer le classement, la marchandise est classée dans la position placée la dernière par ordre de numérotation parmi celles susceptibles d'être valablement prises en considération.

RGI no 6

Le classement des marchandises dans les sous-positions d'une même position est déterminé légalement d'après les termes de ces sous- positions et des Notes de sous-positions ainsi que, mutatis mutandis, d'après les Règles ci-dessus, étant entendu que ne peuvent être comparées que les sous-positions de même niveau. Aux fins de cette Règle, les Notes de Sections et de Chapitres sont également applicables sauf dispositions contraires.

Règle canadienne no 1

Le classement des marchandises dans les numéros tarifaires d'une sous-position ou d'une position est déterminé légalement d'après les termes de ces numéros tarifaires et des Notes supplémentaires ainsi que, mutatis mutandis, d'après les Règles ci-dessus, étant entendu que ne peuvent être comparés que les numéros tarifaires de même niveau. Aux fins de cette Règle, les Notes de Sections et de Chapitres sont également applicables sauf dispositions contraires.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Sauf dispositions contraires, les minerais et leurs concentrés qui sont constitués par plus d'une espèce minéralogique sont classés dans les positions 26.01 à 26.17, selon le cas, par l'application de la Règle générale interprétative 3b) ou, si cette dernière est inopérante, par application de la Règle 3c).

2. En appliquant la RGI 3b), les minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés qui sont constitués de différentes matières ou composantes sont classés comme s'ils étaient formés de la matière ou de la composante qui confère aux minerais et aux concentrés leur caractère essentiel.

3. En appliquant la RGI 3c), lorsque la Règle 3b) ne permet pas d'effectuer le classement, les minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés sont classés dans la position placée la dernière par ordre de numérotation parmi celles susceptibles d'être valablement prises en considération.

4. Dans le secteur des minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés, le critère du caractère essentiel reposant sur le poids est celui qui convient le mieux. Donc, en appliquant la RGI 3b), en ce qui concerne le classement des minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés, le caractère essentiel sera déterminé, dans la plupart des cas, par le métal qui a le poids le plus élevé dans le produit mélangé.

5. La plupart des concentrés contiennent plus d'une espèce minéralogique.

6. Les expéditions de minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés composés de matières différentes ou constitués de composantes différentes sont accompagnées de documents qui indiquent la valeur et le poids de l'expédition ainsi que la proportion de chacun des métaux contenus dans les minerais et leurs concentrés. Généralement, on tient compte de cette description ou de cette proportion en kilogrammes par tonne courte sèche ou plutôt par « Short Dry Ton » (c'est-à-dire KGM/SDT).

7. La méthode recommandée pour déterminer le caractère essentiel des minerais de métaux et leurs concentrés repose sur le poids de chaque métal contenu dans les minerais et leurs concentrés. Le métal ayant le poids le plus élevé détermine la position, la sous-position et le numéro tarifaire dans le Chapitre 26 pour toute l'expédition. Il s'agit là de la méthode la plus stable et la plus uniforme.

8. D'autres méthodes qui peuvent servir à déterminer le caractère essentiel d'une expédition de minerais de métaux ou leurs concentrés sont les suivantes :

  • a) l'origine des minerais et leurs concentrés, c'est-à-dire le métal pour lequel la mine a été établie. Toutefois, l'origine des minerais et leurs concentrés (une mine d'or, une mine d'argent, par exemple) n'est pas toujours précisée sur les documents présentés au bureau de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada au moment de la déclaration originale; ou
  • b) la valeur marchande de chacun des métaux contenus dans les minerais et leurs concentrés, le métal ayant la plus grande valeur détermine la position dans le Chapitre 26 pour toute l'expédition. Toutefois, la valeur des métaux particuliers n'est pas un fondement pertinent étant donné que la valeur marchande varie en fonction des conditions du marché et qu'elle n'est pas uniforme.

Documentation

9. Une fois que la position, la sous-position et le numéro tarifaire sont déterminés en appliquant les lignes directrices susmentionnées, chacun des métaux indiqués sur la documentation doit être déclaré sur une ligne séparée du formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada - Formule de codage, aux fins statistiques. Un suffixe statistique différent (par exemple, un numéro de classement) doit être utilisé pour chaque métal indiqué dans l'expédition selon le numéro tarifaire utilisé.

10. À titre d'exemple, un concentré ou un minerai de métal contient 28.35 grm d'or par tonne métrique et 14 kgm de cuivre par SDT. Deux lignes seront nécessaires pour cette importation. Les deux numéros de classement déclarés seront le 2603.00.00.10 pour la teneur en cuivre et le 2603.00.00.82 pour la teneur en or. D'après les proportions déclarées au chapitre du poids, si l'expédition totale consiste en une tonne métrique de minerai, les quantités pour chaque ligne seront 28.35 grm d'or et 14 kgm de cuivre. Advenant que la valeur en douane de l'expédition soit de 500 $, la valeur de l'or d'après la valeur marchande de 400 $ l'once sera de 400 $ l'once ou 400 $ pour 28,35  grm et la valeur de cuivre sera de 100 $. Il est à noter que le minerai qui reste n'a aucune valeur commerciale.

Renseignements supplémentaires

11. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

12. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
2603.00
Références légales :
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D10-17-39 daté le 14 juin 1995
Date de modification :