Tariff Classification and Certification Procedures for Visual and Auditory Materials of an Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Character

Memorandum D10-15-3

Ottawa, July 8, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (110 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The list of tariff items has been updated to reflect legislative changes. Other changes have been made for clarification but do not affect any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the tariff classification and certification procedures for tariff item Nos. 3705.90.10, 8523.49.10, 8523.51.10, 8523.59.10, 8523.80.10.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Tariff item 3705.90.10

Slides and slide films when they (a) are of an educational, scientific or cultural character within the meaning of the Agreement for Facilitating the International Circulation of Visual and Auditory Materials of an Educational, Scientific and Cultural Character adopted at Beirut, Lebanon, in 1948, and (b) have been certified by the Government or by a recognized representative authority of the Government of the country of production or by an appropriate representative of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization as being of an international educational, scientific or cultural character.

Tariff items 8523.49.10, 8523.51.10, 8523.59.10, 8523.80.10

Of an educational, scientific or cultural character, within the meaning of the Agreement for Facilitating the International Circulation of Visual and Auditory Materials of an Educational, Scientific and Cultural Character adopted at Beirut, Lebanon, in 1948, and certified by the Government or by a recognized representative authority of the Government of the country of production or by an appropriate representative of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization as being of an international educational, scientific or cultural character.

Beirut Agreement

Article I of the agreement for facilitating the international circulation of visual and auditory materials of an educational, scientific and cultural character adopted at Beirut, Lebanon in 1948.

Article I

Visual and auditory materials shall be deemed to be of an educational, scientific and cultural character:

  • (a) when their primary purpose or effect is to instruct or inform through the development of a subject or aspect of a subject, or when their content is such as to maintain, increase or diffuse knowledge, and augment international understanding and goodwill; and
  • (b) when the materials are representative, authentic, and accurate; and
  • (c) when the technical quality is such that it does not interfere with the use made of the material.

Guidelines and General Information

1. In accordance with Article I of the Beirut Agreement, the visual and auditory goods classified under the listed tariff items must be certified, as being of an educational, scientific or cultural character, by the appropriate governmental agency of the state wherein the goods originated. In addition, the Department of Canadian Heritage may confirm whether or not the visual and auditory goods can be considered to be of an educational, scientific and cultural character for the purpose of the listed tariff items. For the visual and auditory goods produced by international organizations, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization provides the certification.

2. The main purpose or effect of the visual and auditory goods classifiable under the listed tariff items must be to instruct or inform through the development or aspect of a subject, or to maintain, increase or diffuse knowledge, and to augment international understanding and goodwill. The goods must also be representative, authentic and accurate, and of a technical quality making them adequate for use.

3. Prior to importation, the visual and auditory goods that are to be classified under the listed tariff items must be certified in accordance with those tariff items. Certificates are issued by the representative certifying authority in the country of production.

4. The Department of Canadian Heritage has excluded certain visual and auditory goods from the benefits of these tariff items when their primary purpose or effect is the following:

  • (a) to amuse or entertain;
  • (b) to inform about current events (newsreels, newscasts, spot news);
  • (c) to claim exclusivity or to favour one organization or geographical area over another;
  • (d) to make public service announcements;
  • (e) to subvert international understanding and goodwill or when the goods may be perceived to lend themselves to the misrepresentation of Canada or other countries, their people or institutions;
  • (f) to stimulate the use of a patented process or product; to advertise a particular commercial organization and its product(s) or individual(s); to promote tourism; or to raise funds or appeal for support; or
  • (g) to influence, by special pleading, opinion, conviction or policy (religious, economic or political propaganda) or to indicate any dogma; or to constitute a ritual or denominational service.

5. In addition, sound recordings are not admissible when imported for sale or rental unless they are for use by educational, scientific or cultural institutions or societies.

6. Also, educational, scientific or cultural institutions or societies must be distinct, permanent and identifiable entities established either for research, the transmission of knowledge or the representation of a country, its people or institutions.

7. Furthermore, goods eligible for classification under the listed tariff items that were originally produced in Canada but are distributed from abroad may be classified under the applicable tariff provision when certified by the Department of Canadian Heritage. Refer to the Appendix for a sample certificate.

8. Only goods listed on the certificate may be classified under the listed tariff items. Goods contained in the same shipment but not listed on the certificate must be classified under the appropriate provision of the Customs Tariff.

9. If certification for the goods is obtained after the date of accounting, the person who paid duties on the imported goods may apply for a refund. An application for a refund of duties must be filed on Form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request, and in accordance with the provisions of the Customs Act. A copy of the requisite certificate should be attached to Form B2.

10. For more information relating to the refund of duties paid on imported goods, refer to Memorandum D6-2-3, Refund of Duties. For information on the coding and processing of Form B2, refer to Memoranda D17-2-1, Coding of Adjustment Request Forms, and D17-2-2, Processing of Adjustment Request Forms.

Additional Information

11. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

12. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.


Appendix

This certificate is used for Canadian exports of films and may resemble certificates that other countries issue for their exports to Canada.

Canadian Heritage certificate issued to facilitate the international circulation of films of an educational, scientific and cultural character.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
HS3705.90
Legislative references :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-15-3 dated November 16, 2006
Date modified:

Procédures de classement tarifaire et de certification applicables au matériel visuel et auditif de caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel
Mémorandum D10-15-3

Ottawa, le 8 juillet 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (121 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • La liste des numéros tarifaire a été mise à jour en vue de tenir compte des modifications législatives. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique les procédures de classement tarifaire et de certification applicables aux numéros tarifaires 3705.90.10, 8523.49.10, 8523.51.10, 8523.59.10, 8523.80.10.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Numéro tarifaire 3705.90.10

Clichés de projection rigides ou flexibles, lorsqu'ils a) ont un caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel au sens de l'Accord visant à faciliter la circulation internationale du matériel visuel et auditif de caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel, ratifié à Beyrouth, Liban, en 1948, et b) ont été certifiés par le gouvernement ou par un représentant autorisé du gouvernement du pays de production ou encore par un représentant autorisé de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture, comme ayant un caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel d'ordre international.

Numéros tarifaires 8523.49.10, 8523.51.10, 8523.59.10, 8523.80.10

À caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel au sens de l'Accord visant à faciliter la circulation internationale du matériel visuel et auditif de caractère éducatif, scientifique et culturel, ratifié à Beyrouth, Liban, en 1948, et certifiés par le gouvernement ou par un représentant autorisé du gouvernement du pays de production ou encore par un représentant autorisé de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture, comme ayant un caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel d'ordre international;

Accord de Beyrouth

Article 1 de l'Accord visant à faciliter la circulation internationale du matériel visuel et auditif de caractère éducatif, scientifique et culturel adopté à Beyrouth (Liban) en 1948

Article premier

Est considéré comme présentant un caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel tout matériel visuel et auditif :

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Conformément à l'article premier de l'Accord de Beyrouth, le matériel visuel et auditif classé en vertu des numéros tarifaires énumérés doit être certifié, comme étant du matériel ayant un caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel, par l'agence gouvernementale appropriée de l'État de provenance des marchandises. En outre, Patrimoine Canada peut confirmer si le matériel visuel et auditif peut être considéré comme ayant un caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel aux fins des numéros tarifaires énumérés. Pour le matériel visuel et auditif produit par une organisation internationale, un représentant autorisé de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture fournit le certificat.

2. Le matériel visuel et auditif classé en vertu des numéros tarifaires énumérés doit avoir pour but ou pour effet principal d'instruire ou d'informer par la présentation d'un sujet ou d'un aspect de ce sujet, ou être, par sa nature même, propre à assurer la conservation, le progrès ou la diffusion du savoir et à développer la compréhension et la bonne entente internationales. Les marchandises doivent aussi avoir des propriétés caractéristiques, authentiques et véridiques, tout en étant d'une qualité technique les rendant propres à l'utilisation.

3. Avant son importation, le matériel visuel et auditif qui doit être classé en vertu des numéros tarifaires énumérés doit être certifié conformément à ces numéros tarifaires. L'autorité habilitée à certifier ce matériel dans le pays de production émet les certificats.

4. Patrimoine Canada a exclu certain matériel visuel et auditif de tirer avantage de ces numéros tarifaires lorsque son but ou son effet principal consiste à :

5. En outre, les enregistrements sonores ne sont pas admissibles lorsqu'ils sont importés en vue de la vente ou de la location, à moins d'être destinés à des institutions ou à des sociétés à vocation éducative, scientifique ou culturelle.

6. De plus, les institutions ou les sociétés à vocation éducative, scientifique ou culturelle doivent être des entités distinctes, permanentes et identifiables établies à des fins de recherche, de transmission du savoir ou de représentation d'un pays, de ses habitants ou de ses institutions.

7. Les marchandises classées en vertu des numéros tarifaires énumérés, initialement produites au Canada mais distribuées à partir de l'étranger, peuvent être classées en vertu des dispositions d'un numéro tarifaire applicable lorsque certifié par Patrimoine Canada. Consultez l'annexe pour un exemple de certificat.

8. Seules les marchandises mentionnées sur le certificat peuvent être classées en vertu des numéros tarifaires énumérés. Les marchandises contenues dans la même expédition mais non mentionnées sur le certificat doivent être classées en vertu de la disposition applicable du Tarif des douanes.

9. Si la certification des marchandises est obtenue après la date de déclaration en détail, la personne qui a payé les droits sur les marchandises importées peut demander un remboursement. Une telle demande doit être présentée sur un formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement, en tenant compte des dispositions de la Loi sur les douanes. Une copie du certificat requis doit être jointe au formulaire B2.

10. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le remboursement des droits payés sur les marchandises importées, consultez le Mémorandum D6-2-3, Remboursement des droits. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le codage et le traitement du formulaire B2, consultez le Mémorandum D17-2-1, Codage des formules de demande de rajustement, et le Mémorandum D17-2-2, Traitement des formules de demande de rajustement.

Renseignements supplémentaires

11. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

12. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Ce certificat est utilisé pour des exportations canadiennes de films cinématographiques et peuvent ressembler à ceux que d’autres pays émettent pour des exportations aux Canada.

Certificat du patrimoine canadien délivré pour faciliter la circulation internationale de films de caractère éducatif, scientifique ou culturel.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH3705.90
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
Accord de Beyrouth, 1948
D6-2-3, D11-11-3, D17-2-1, D17-2-2
Formulaire B2
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-15-3 daté le 16 novembre 2006
Date de modification :