Interpretation of Tariff Item 9958.00.00

Memorandum D10-15-21

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, November 2, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (52 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum will clarify the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA’s) administrative policy respecting the interpretation of tariff item 9958.00.00, which pertains to certain articles used as original equipment in passenger automobiles, trucks, and buses. This information will be of special interest to automotive parts manufacturers, assemblers, motor vehicle manufacturers, and their suppliers.


Customs Tariff

Tariff Item 9958.00.00 – Parts, accessories and articles, excluding tires and tubes, for use in the manufacture of original equipment parts for passenger automobiles, trucks or buses, or for use as original equipment in the manufacture of such vehicles or chassis therefor.

Guidelines and General Information

Administrative Policy

1. Any importer can utilize tariff item 9958.00.00 for the duty-free importation of articles (except tires and tubes), parts, and accessories. This is with the requirement that satisfactory evidence is produced confirming that the imported goods are used either:

  • (a) in the manufacture of original equipment parts for passenger automobiles, trucks, or buses; or
  • (b) as original equipment in the manufacture of such vehicles or chassis.

2. The imported articles, parts, or accessories may be in the form of completed goods, or incomplete goods that require further processing and/or assembly to become completed goods. In both instances, the completed goods can be either used in Canada or subsequently exported, provided that they are employed only in original equipment applications outlined in the tariff item.

3. As previously stated, in order to qualify for the benefits of tariff item 9958.00.00, importers must be able to substantiate the actual end-use of the articles, parts, or accessories to the satisfaction of the CBSA. This would take the form of a verifiable part number audit trail both inside and outside Canada. In addition, importers must be able to provide the CBSA, upon request, with relevant documentation such as copies of contracts or letters of understanding.


4. In addition to tires and tubes for original equipment, articles, parts, and accessories for after-market applications, and goods in the form of materials are not eligible for consideration under tariff item 9958.00.00. Goods in the form of materials may be entitled to consideration for concessionary relief under tariff item 9959.00.00. Please refer to Memorandum D10-15-15, Interpretation of Tariff Item No. 9959.00.00.

Additional Information

5. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

6. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.


Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
HS 9958.00
Legislative references
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D10-15-21 dated June 26, 1998
Date modified:

Interprétation du numéro tarifaire 9958.00.00

Mémorandum D10-15-21

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 2 novembre 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (54 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum apporte des éclaircissements à la politique administrative de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) en ce qui concerne l’interprétation du numéro tarifaire 9958.00.00, lequel a trait à certains articles qui sont utilisés à titre d’équipement d’origine dans les automobiles, les camions et les autobus destinés aux voyageurs. Ces renseignements intéresseront particulièrement les fabricants de pièces d’automobile, les assembleurs, les fabricants de véhicules automobiles et leurs fournisseurs.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Numéro tarifaire 9958.00.00 – Parties, accessoires et articles, à l’exclusion des pneumatiques et chambres à air, devant servir à la fabrication de parties d’équipement d’origine de véhicules de tourisme, de camions ou d’autobus, ou devant servir d’équipement d’origine dans la fabrication de ces véhicules ou de leurs châssis.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Politique administrative

1. N’importe quel importateur peut se servir du numéro tarifaire 9958.00.00 pour ce qui est de l’importation en franchise d’articles (à l’exception des pneumatiques et des chambres à air), de parties et d’accessoires. Des preuves doivent toutefois être fournies pour confirmer que les marchandises importées sont utilisées soit :

  • a) dans la fabrication de parties d’équipement d’origine pour les automobiles, les camions ou les autobus destinés aux voyageurs;
  • b) à titre d’équipement d’origine dans la fabrication de tels véhicules ou châssis.

2. Les parties, les accessoires ou les articles importés peuvent être sous forme de marchandises complètes, ou de marchandises incomplètes qui nécessitent être transformées ou assemblées davantage pour devenir des marchandises complètes. Dans les deux cas, les marchandises complètes peuvent être soit utilisées au Canada, soit exportées par la suite, pourvu qu’elles soient utilisées seulement dans les applications d’équipement d’origine décrites sous le numéro tarifaire.

3. Comme il a déjà été mentionné, afin d’être admissibles aux avantages du numéro tarifaire 9958.00.00, les importateurs doivent pouvoir fournir des preuves de l’utilisation ultime réelle des articles, des parties ou des accessoires à la satisfaction de l’ASFC. Les importateurs peuvent le faire à l’aide d’un numéro de pièce vérifiable qui sert à la vérification et au suivi des pièces à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du Canada. De plus, les importateurs doivent être en mesure de fournir à l’ASFC, sur demande, les documents pertinents comme, par exemple, un exemplaire des contrats ou des lettres d’engagement.

Exclusions

4. En plus des pneumatiques et des chambres à air pour l’équipement d’origine, les articles, les parties et les accessoires pour les applications de rechange ainsi que les marchandises sous forme de matières ou matériel ne peuvent être considérés en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9958.00.00. Les marchandises sous forme de matières ou matériel peuvent être admissibles à une exonération privilégiée en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00. Consulter le Mémorandum D10-15-15, Interprétation du numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00.

Renseignement supplémentaires

5. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

6. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
S.H. 9958.00
Références légales
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-15-21 daté le 26 juin 1998
Date de modification :