Tariff Classification of Automotive Stampings Under Tariff Item No. 9962.00.00

Memorandum D10-15-19

Ottawa, May 27, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (49 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • This memorandum has been updated to reflect changes made in the Customs Tariff. Other editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the classification of automotive stampings with respect to tariff item No. 9962.00.00.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

9962.00.00 - The following for use in the repair of road tractors for semi-trailers, motor vehicles principally designed for the transport of persons or goods, or fire fighting vehicles, and chassis therefor:

  • ...

    Stampings for bodies, cowls, door pillars, fenders, front ends, hoods, instrument boards, shields or baffles, of plain or coated metal, in the rough, trimmed or not, whether or not welded in any manner before final forming or piercing but not metal finished in any degree, including such stampings incorporating piece or clinch nuts, but excluding such stampings for door pillars, shields and baffles for current models of motor vehicles principally designed for the transport of less than ten persons or for the transport of goods;

    ...

Guidelines and General Information

1.  Tariff item No. 9962.00.00 (9962) provides for body, cowl, fender, front end, hood, instrument board, shield or baffle stampings in the rough, whether or not trimmed after the stamping process.

2. While the stamping may be either plain, or coated with a metal protective coating, they must not be further metal finished in any way, including welding.

3.  In order to remain classified under 9962, all welding operations must have taken place prior to the final stamping operation; for example, pieces of metal sheeting may be welded together for the purposes of forming the outer skin for a back tail gate or side of a vehicle prior to the final stamping operation. However, outer skins and inner stampings or brackets welded together after the final stamping operation to form doors, hoods, etc., are excluded from the tariff item. The resulting products in such cases are unfinished parts and classified as parts for the purpose of the Customs Tariff.

4. Stampings classified under 9962 may have pierce or clinch nuts incorporated therein provided that the nuts were added during or before the final stamping process.

5. Stampings to which threaded bolts have been welded after the final stamping process are not eligible for 9962.

6. In addition, 9962 specifically excludes door pillars, shields, and baffles stampings for current models of vehicles of heading Nos. 87.03 or 87.04.

7. All of the conditions specified in the preamble of the tariff item must also be met. The goods listed in the tariff item must be for use in the repair of road tractors, motor vehicles for the transport of persons or goods, fire fighting vehicles, and chassis of such vehicles.

8. Stampings for the tractors of tariff item Nos. 8701.10.10, 8701.30.00, or 8701.90.90 are properly classified under tariff item No. 8708.29.11.

Additional Information

9.   For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling for tariff classification. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

10.   For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 - 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
HS 9962.00
Legislative reference
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D10-15-19 dated February 9, 1998
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des pièces embouties en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9962.00.00

Mémorandum D10-15-19

Ottawa, le 27 mai 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (56 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour en vue de tenir compte des modifications apportées au Tarif des douanes. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique le classement des pièces embouties en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9962.00.00.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

9962.00.00 - Les articles suivants devant servir à la réparation des tracteurs routiers pour semi-remorques, des véhicules automobiles principalement conçus pour le transport de personnes ou de marchandises, ou des voitures de lutte contre l’incendie, et des châssis de ces véhicules :

  • ...

    Pièces embouties pour carrosseries, auvents, montants de portières, ailes, avants, capots, tabliers, protecteurs et chicanes, en métal recouvert ou non, bruts, ébarbés ou non, soudés de quelque manière ou non avant le profilage ou le perçage définitifs mais non pourvus du moindre fini métallique, y compris ces pièces embouties garnies d’écrous à sertir, mais à l’exclusion de ces pièces embouties pour les montants de portières, les protecteurs et les chicanes destinés aux modèles de l’année des véhicules automobiles conçus principalement pour le transport de moins de dix personnes ou de marchandises;

    ...

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.  Le numéro tarifaire 9962.00.00 (9962) stipule que les pièces embouties pour les carrosseries, les auvents, les ailes, les avants, les capots, les tabliers, les protecteurs et les chicanes sont admissibles en vertu de ce numéro tarifaire lorsqu’elles sont à l’état brut, ébarbées ou non après le profilage ou le perçage définitif.

2. Les pièces embouties peuvent être recouvertes ou non d’une couche de protection pour le métal, mais non posséder la caractéristique de métal fini, y compris le fait d’être soudées entre elles.

3.  Pour être classées sous le 9962, toutes les opérations de soudure doivent avoir eu lieu avant l’opération d’estampage final; p. ex., les feuilles de métal peuvent être soudées ensembles pour former le revêtement extérieur du hayon arrière ou d’un côté d’un véhicule en autant que cette opération de soudure soit accomplie avant l’opération d’estampage final. D’autre part, les revêtements extérieurs et les estampes (support) intérieures ou les potences soudés ensemble, afin de former les portières, les capots, etc., sont exclus des dispositions du numéro tarifaire lorsque l’opération de soudure a eu lieu après l’estampage final de chaque élément, qui joint ensemble, forme les portières, les capots, etc. Le produit de cet assemblage est considéré en tant que partie on-finie et est classifié comme tel pour les besoins du Tarif des douanes.

4. Les pièces embouties classées sous le 9962 peuvent être garnies d’écrous à sertir pour autant que ces écrous ont été incorporés pendant ou avant le procédé d’estampage final.

5. Les boulons taraudés qui ont été soudés aux pièces embouties subséquemment au procédé d’estampage final, rendent la pièce emboutie inadmissible aux dispositions du 9962.

6. De plus, le numéro tarifaire 9962 exclut spécifiquement les pièces embouties telles que les montants de portières, les protecteurs et les chicanes destinés aux modèles de l’année des véhicules des positions 87.03 ou 87.04.

7. Toutes les conditions stipulées dans le libellé du numéro tarifaire doivent aussi être respectées, soit : devant servir à la réparation des tracteurs routiers, des véhicules automobiles principalement conçus pour le transport de personnes ou de marchandises, ou des voitures de lutte contre l’incendie, et des châssis de ces véhicules.

8. Les pièces embouties pour les tracteurs des numéros tarifaires 8701.10.10, 8701.30.00 ou 8701.90.90 sont convenablement classés en vertu du numéro tarifaire 8708.29.11.

Renseignements supplémentaires

9.  Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

10.  Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l’administration centrale
SH 9962.00
Références légales
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-15-19 daté le 9 février 1998
Date de modification :