Tariff Items 9967.00.00 and 9968.00.00

Memorandum D10-15-18

Ottawa, March 1, 2017

This document is also available in PDF (70 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum correct a typographical error in paragraph 7(a) and do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA’s) interpretation of tariff items 9967.00.00 and 9968.00.00, which relate to commodities in the aviation industry.

Legislation

Tariff item 9967.00.00 reads:

Goods, other than seat covers of textile fabric, for use in aircraft, ground flying trainers, aircraft engines or airborne aircraft equipment, and parts thereof.

Tariff item 9968.00.00 reads:

Goods of Section XV or XVI or of Chapter 15, 25, 28, 32, 34, 37, 38, 39, 40, 48, 68, 69, 90, or 94, for the manufacture, repair, maintenance, rebuilding, modification or conversion of aircraft, ground flying trainers or aircraft engines, and parts thereof.

Section 2 of the Customs Tariffreads, in part:

“For use in”, wherever it appears in a tariff item, in respect of goods classified in the tariff item, means that the goods must be wrought or incorporated into, or attached to, other goods referred to in that tariff item.


Guidelines and General Information

Definitions

1.   The following definitions are applicable to the interpretation of tariff items 9967.00.00 and 9968.00.00.

Articles
Products that are semi-manufactured or manufactured from any material and have a definite shape. They may be in the rough without any designated use or they may be in semi-finished or completely finished form which would render them suitable for a specific purpose.
Civil Aircraft
The term “civil aircraft” includes all aircraft except military aircraft. The term also includes balloons (free or captive), dirigibles, gliders, hang gliders, other non-powered aircraft, helicopters, airplanes, and other aircraft.
Goods
Products that may either be a material or an article. Thus, the term goods encompass both terms, i.e., materials or articles.
Materials
Products that may be natural or synthetic substances and mixtures thereof. They may be manufactured to a degree. They may be without specific shape and must not be cut to size to render them suitable for a specific purpose. Examples are moulding pellets, pigments, paint and paper, metal, plastic materials in sheet, tube or rod form.
Repair
The adjustment or the replacement of parts to aircraft, aircraft engines, or parts of all the foregoing to restore the article to its original operating conditions. Servicing functions carried out to the aircraft while stationed for the embarking and disembarking of passengers, such as, refueling, sanitary servicing, water servicing, replenishing food and beverage supplies are not included within the meaning of repair and maintenance for the purpose of tariff item 9968.00.00.

2.   The term “for use in” is defined in Section 2 of the Customs Tariff, and reproduced above. The words “wrought or incorporated into” are interpreted to mean that there must be a degree of permanency to the incorporation into the host good. The words “or attached to, other goods” are interpreted to mean fastened or affixed. The connections should be substantial but need not be permanent in nature. In all three instances (i.e., wrought into, attached to, or incorporated into) the imported goods must form an integral component of the aircraft, ground flying trainers, aircraft engines, airborne aircraft equipment, or parts thereof. The words “for use in” would exclude goods that may be attached to aircraft at the beginning or during the flight, but are removed at any ground point or at the finishing point of the flight.

Tariff item 9967.00.00

3.   This tariff item covers a broad range of goods. There are two specific criteria that must be met. The good must:

  • (a)  not be seat covers made of textile fabric; and
  • (b)  must meet the definition of the term “for use in” as defined in section 2 of the Customs Tariff and be subject to the CBSA’s interpretation of the words “wrought into,” “attached to,” and “incorporated into.”

4.   Generally, consumable goods do not meet the definition of “for use in” found in section 2. Examples of such goods include grease and fuel oil.

5.   Examples of goods eligible for classification under tariff item 9967.00.00 include:

  • (a)  Various materials (including paint, lacquers, and glue) and articles of glass, metal (including bolts and fittings), plastic, textile fabric, and paper fabric normally used in the construction or repair of aircraft, ground flying trainers, aircraft engines, airborne aircraft equipment, and parts thereof;
  • (b)  Gauges of various types, electronic equipment, computer devices, and communicating head gear (of the kind used in the cockpit) which are permanently attached to the aircraft;
  • (c)  Ovens that are fastened to the aircraft;
  • (d)  Life rafts (which may also be used as chutes) that are fastened to the aircraft;
  • (e)  Portable hand-held global positioning systems specifically designed for use on aircraft (i.e., such goods must have built-in assists to aviation such as aviation software, Jeppeson aviation data bases and mapping helps, and aviation installation and mounting kits). Other global positioning systems are excluded from the provisions of tariff item 9967.00.00.

6.   Examples of goods that do not qualify for classification under tariff item 9967.00.00 include:

  • (a)  Goods utilized on the aircraft but not permanently attached thereto such as dishes, pillows, blankets, life jackets, life rafts (of the type not attached to the aircraft), aviation fuel, emergency flashlights, and galley carts used to serve meals and beverages;
  • (b)  Goods that may be temporarily connected to the aircraft during flight but are removed at destination such as cargo containers, portable food boxes, inflight headphones of the type distributed to passengers, certain geophysical instruments of heading 90.15, and cameras of heading 90.07.

Tariff item 9968.00.00

7.   This tariff item covers a large range of goods for use in the manufacture, repair, maintenance, rebuilding, modification, or conversion of aircraft, ground flying trainers or aircraft engines, and parts thereof. There are a number of specific criteria that must be met in order to classify goods under tariff item 9968.00.00. The goods must:

  • (a)  be classified in Section XV or XVI or in Chapter 15, 25, 28, 32, 34, 37, 38, 39, 40, 68, 69, 90, or 94 of the Customs Tariff;
  • (b)  be used directly in the manufacturing or repairing operation (in accordance with the CBSA’s interpretation of the term “directly” as indicated below) of aircraft, ground flying trainers or aircraft engines, and parts thereof.

8.   The word “directly” means there must be a close connection or link between the machinery or apparatus used in the process of production or repair of the aircraft, ground flying trainers or aircraft engines or parts thereof. Consequently, machinery and apparatus used in the planning and designing process of a manufacturing operation would not be included.

9.   Examples of goods classifiable under tariff item 9968.00.00 include:

  • (a)  production equipment such as stationary or other non-mechanical holding jigs, moulds, air tools;
  • (b)  scaffolding;
  • (c)  non-mechanical hand tools owned by the company (excluding such tools owned by the mechanics or technicians);
  • (d)  test equipment used to evaluate/analyze the quality and characteristics of production or repair;
  • (e)  consumable tools e.g., tumbling media, abrasive stones and wheels, and cutting blades;
  • (f)   cleaning powders, cutting oils, etching compounds used directly or consumed in the production or repair process;
  • (g)  chemicals for treating aircraft skins;
  • (h)  non-mechanical chemical tanks;
  • (i)   operable prototypes that are actually used in test flights.

10. The following goods are not considered to be used directly in the repair or manufacture of aircraft, ground flying trainers, aircraft engines, and parts thereof and/or are not classified in the Sections or Chapters specified in tariff item 9968.00.00. Consequently, they are not classified under this tariff item:

  • (a)  goods for administrative operations associated with production facilities (office equipment, paper, furniture, etc.);
  • (b)  computer design equipment (such as CAD/CAM) and other goods for use in the research, development, and design of aircraft, ground flying trainers, aircraft engines, and parts thereof, rather than in the production of these goods;
  • (c)  non-operable prototypes;
  • (d)  inventory handling equipment such as lift trucks, dollies, cradles, pallets, and containers;
  • (e)  structural, heating, cooling, plumbing, fire extinguishing, general electrical distribution equipment, and other similar equipment found in production facilities but not directly associated with the production processes;
  • (f)   test equipment other than that used directly in the repair and manufacture of aircraft, aircraft engines; and parts thereof;
  • (g)  fuel and lubricating oils for machinery and other plant equipment;
  • (h)  sweeping machines that sweep the production area.

11. Goods used directly in the production or repair of aircraft, ground flying trainers, aircraft engines, or parts thereof, that do not fall within one of the Sections or Chapters specified in the tariff item do not qualify. For example, engine transport stands classified under heading 87.16. In addition, servicing equipment classified under Chapter 87, such as fuel trucks, lavatory service trucks, baggage wagons, and tractors, do not qualify.

Additional Information

12. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

13. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
HS 9967.00, HS 9968.00
Legislative references :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-15-18 dated May 9, 2014
Date modified:

Numéros tarifaires 9967.00.00 et 9968.00.00

Mémorandum D10-15-18

Ottawa, le 1 mars 2017

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (76 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées afin de rectifier une erreur typographique au paragraphe 7(a) et ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique l’interprétation de l’Agence des services frontaliers (ASFC) des numéros tarifaires 9967.00.00 et 9968.00.00 se rapportant aux produits de l’industrie aéronautique.

Législation

Le numéro tarifaire 9967.00.00 se lit comme suit :

Marchandises, autres que les housses de fauteuils en tissus textiles, devant servir aux aéronefs, aux appareils au sol d’entraînement au vol, aux moteurs d’aéronefs ou aux accessoires d’aéronefs aéroportés, et à leurs parties.

Le numéro tarifaire 9968.00.00 se lit comme suit :

Marchandises des Sections XV ou XVI ou des Chapitres 15, 25, 28, 32, 34, 37, 38, 39, 40, 48, 68, 69, 90 ou 94, pour la fabrication, la réparation, l’entretien, la reconstruction, la modification ou la transformation des aéronefs, des appareils au sol d’entraînement au vol ou des moteurs d’aéronefs, et de leurs parties.

L’article 2 du Tarif des douanes se lit en partie comme suit :

« devant servir dans » ou « devant servir à » Mention dans un numéro tarifaire, applicable aux marchandises qui y sont classées et qui doivent entrer dans la composition d’autres marchandises mentionnées dans ce numéro tarifaire par voie d’ouvraison, de fixation ou d’incorporation.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

1.   Les définitions suivantes s’appliquent aux numéros tarifaires 9967.00.00 et 9968.00.00.

Aéronef civil
Le terme « aéronef civil » s’entend de tous les aéronefs à l’exception des aéronefs militaires. Sont aussi compris dans la définition du terme, les ballons (libres et les ballons captifs), les dirigeables, les planeurs, les ailes delta et les autres véhicules aériens non conçus pour la propulsion à moteur ainsi que les hélicoptères, les avions et les autres véhicules aériens.
Articles
Produits ou demi-produits faits d’une matière quelconque et ayant une forme définie. Ceux-ci peuvent être à l’état brut sans destination particulière ou être finis ou semi-finis sous une forme les rendant propres à un usage particulier.
Marchandises
Produits qui peuvent se présenter sous la forme de matériel ou d’articles. Par conséquent, le terme « marchandises » désigne à la fois des matériels ou des articles.
Matériels ou Matières
Produits qui peuvent être des substances naturelles ou synthétiques ou des mélanges de ces substances et qui peuvent être partiellement fabriqués. Ils peuvent n’avoir aucune forme particulière et ne doivent pas avoir été coupés à un usage particulier. Ils comprennent les pastilles à mouler, les pigments, la peinture ainsi que le papier, le métal et le plastique en feuilles, en tubes ou en barres.
Réparation
Le réglage ou le remplacement de pièces d’aéronefs, de moteurs d’aéronefs ou de leurs parties visant à remettre l’article en état de fonctionnement. Les services exécutés aux aéronefs pendant qu’ils sont arrêtés pour l’embarquement ou la descente de passagers, tels que le ravitaillement, les services sanitaires et les services d’approvisionnement en eau, en nourriture et en boisson ne font pas parties du terme réparation et entretien pour l’application du numéro tarifaire 9968.00.00.

2. Les termes « devant servir dans » et « devant servir à » sont définis à l’article 2 du Tarif des douanes et reproduits ci-dessus.– Les termes « par voie d’ouvraison…ou d’incorporation » signifient que les marchandises doivent avoir une certaine permanence, et le terme « par voie...de fixation » qu’elles sont attachées ou fixées aux autres marchandises. La fixation doit avoir un caractère concret, mais ne doit pas nécessairement être permanent. Dans ces trois cas, c’est-à-dire par voie d’ouvraison, de fixation ou d’incorporation, la marchandise importée doit faire partie intégrante des aéronefs, des appareils au sol d’entraînement, des accessoires d’aéronefs aéroportés ou de leurs parties. Sont donc exclues, du fait de la définition de « devant servir dans » et « devant servir à », les marchandises qui peuvent être fixées à l’aéronef au début du vol ou pendant le vol, mais qui sont enlevées à un point d’arrêt au sol ou au terme du vol.

Numéro tarifaire 9967.00.00

3.   Ce numéro tarifaire couvre un large éventail de marchandises. Toutefois, les marchandises doivent remplir deux conditions précises, notamment :

  • a)   ne pas être des housses de fauteuils en tissus textiles; et
  • b)   répondre à la définition des termes « devant servir dans » ou « devant servir à » donnée à l’article 2 du Tarif des douanes et à l’interprétation de l’ASFC des termes « par voie d’ouvraison », « de fixation » et « d’incorporation ».

4.   En règle générale, les marchandises consomptibles ne respectent pas la définition de l’expression « devant servir dans » ou « devant servir à » qui se trouve à l’article 2. Sont comprises parmi ces marchandises la graisse et l’huile combustible.

5.   Sont comprises parmi les marchandises pouvant être classées au numéro tarifaire 9967.00.00 :

  • a)   les divers matériels (y compris la peinture, le vernis et la colle) et les articles en verre, en métal (y compris les boulons et les ferrures), en plastique, en tissu textile et en tissu de papier servant habituellement à la construction ou à la réparation d’aéronefs, de moteurs d’aéronefs, d’accessoires d’aéronefs aéroportés et à leurs parties;
  • b)   les jauges de divers types, le matériel électronique et informatique et les casques pour communication (du genre utilisé dans le poste de pilotage) qui sont fixés en permanence à l’aéronef;
  • c)   les fours attachés à l’aéronef;
  • d)   les radeaux de sauvetage (qui peuvent aussi être utilisés comme glissoires) attachés à l’aéronef;
  • e)   les systèmes portatifs de positionnement global qui sont conçus explicitement pour servir dans les aéronefs (c.-à-d. que les marchandises doivent avoir des aides intégrées à l’aéronautique, telles que le logiciel pour l’aéronautique, les bases de données Jeppeson pour l’aéronautique, les aides de représentation sol, l’avionnage pour l’aéronautique ainsi que les nécessaires de montage). Les autres systèmes de positionnement sont exclus des dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9967.00.00.

6.   Sont comprises parmi les marchandises ne pouvant être classées au numéro tarifaire 9967.00.00 :

  • a)   les marchandises utilisées dans les aéronefs, mais qui n’y sont pas fixées en permanence telles que la vaisselle, les oreillers, les couvertures, les gilets et les embarcations de sauvetage (du type non attaché à l’aéronef), le carburant aviation, les lampes de poche d’urgence et les chariots utilisés pour servir les repas et les boissons;
  • b)   les marchandises temporairement rattachées à l’aéronef en cours de vol et qui sont enlevées à destination, telles que les conteneurs, les boîtes portables pour aliments et les écouteurs distribués à bord, certains instruments géophysiques de la position 90.15 et les caméras de la position 90.07.

Numéro tarifaire 9968.00.00

7.   Ce numéro tarifaire couvre un large éventail de marchandises devant servir dans la fabrication, la réparation, l’entretien, la reconstruction, la modification ou la transformation des aéronefs, des appareils au sol d’entraînement au vol ou des moteurs d’aéronefs, et de leurs parties. Pour être classées au numéro tarifaire 9968.00.00, les marchandises doivent remplir un certain nombre de conditions précises. Les marchandises doivent :

  • a)   être classés dans la Section XV ou XVI ou dans le Chapitre 15, 25, 28, 32, 34, 37, 38, 39, 40, 68, 69, 90 ou 94 du Tarif des douanes;
  • b)   servir directement à la fabrication ou à la réparation (selon l’interprétation de l’ASFC du terme « directement » indiquée ci-après) d’aéronefs, des moteurs d’aéronefs ou de leurs parties.

8.   Le terme « directement » signifie qu’il existe un rapport ou un lien étroit entre la machine ou l’appareil servant dans la production ou la réparation des aéronefs, des moteurs d’aéronefs, des appareils au sol d’entraînement au vol ou de leurs parties. Par conséquent, les machines et les appareils utilisés dans le processus de planification et de conception d’une opération de fabrication ne sont pas inclus.

9.   Sont comprises parmi les marchandises qui peuvent se classer au numéro tarifaire 9968.00.00 :

  • a)   le matériel de production, tel que les montages de fixation, fixes ou non mécaniques, les moules et les outils pneumatiques;
  • b)   les échafaudages;
  • c)   les outils à main non mécaniques appartenant à l’entreprise (à l’exclusion des outils à main appartenant aux mécaniciens ou aux techniciens);
  • d)   le matériel d’essai utilisé pour évaluer ou analyser la qualité et les caractéristiques de la production ou de la réparation;
  • e)   les outils consomptibles, par exemple les agents de dessablage, les pierres abrasives et les meules, les lames de coupe;
  • f)    les poudres à récurer, les huiles de coupe et les décapants servant directement ou consommés dans le processus de production ou de réparation;
  • g)   les produits chimiques servant à traiter les revêtements d’aéronefs;
  • h)   les réservoirs de produits chimiques non mécaniques;
  • i)    les prototypes exploitables qui sont réellement utilisés dans les vols d’essai.

10. Les marchandises suivantes ne sont pas considérées comme des marchandises devant servir directement dans la réparation ou la fabrication d’aéronefs, des appareils au sol d’entraînement au vol, de moteurs d’aéronefs ou de leurs parties et(ou) qui ne sont pas classées dans les Sections ou les Chapitres précisés au numéro tarifaire 9968.00.00 et ne relèvent donc pas de ce numéro tarifaire :

  • a)   les marchandises devant servir aux tâches administratives associées aux installations de production (le matériel de bureau, le papier, le mobilier, etc.);
  • b)   le matériel de conception assistée par ordinateur (tel que le CAO/PAO) et les autres marchandises devant servir à la recherche, au développement et à la conception d’aéronefs, des appareils au sol d’entraînement au vol, des moteurs d’aéronefs ou de leurs parties plutôt qu’à la production de ceux-ci;
  • c)   les prototypes non exploitables;
  • d)   le matériel de manutention des stocks, tel que les chariots élévateurs, les plateaux roulants, les wagons basculants, les palettes et les conteneurs;
  • e)   l’équipement structural, le matériel de chauffage, de refroidissement, de plomberie, de lutte contre les incendies, de distribution générale de l’électricité et les autres matériels semblables que l’on trouve dans les installations servant à la production mais qui ne sont pas directement associés aux processus de production;
  • f)    le matériel d’essai ne servant pas directement à la réparation et à la fabrication d’aéronefs, d’appareils au sol d’entraînement au vol, de moteurs d’aéronefs ou de leurs parties;
  • g)   le carburant et les huiles de graissage pour les machines et les autres appareils utilisés dans les usines;
  • h)   les machines à balayer servant à balayer l’aire de production.

11. Les marchandises qui servent directement à la production ou à la réparation d’aéronefs, d’appareils au sol d’entraînement au vol, de moteurs d’aéronefs ou de leurs parties qui ne relèvent pas de l’une des Sections ou des Chapitres précisés dans le numéro tarifaire ne sont pas admissibles. Par exemple, les supports de moteur classés sous la position 87.16. En outre, les matériels de service classés au Chapitre 87, tels que les camions-citernes à carburant, les camions sanitaires, les wagons à bagages et les tracteurs, ne sont pas admissibles.

Renseignements supplémentaires

12. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

13. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l’administration centrale
SH 9967.00, SH 9968.00
Références légales
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-15-18 daté le 9 mai 2014
Date de modification :