Interpretation of Tariff Item 9959.00.00

Memorandum D10-15-15

Ottawa, October 28, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (52 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to reflect a change of policy in respect of "conversions" of vans to motor homes, to reflect the decision of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal in the case Great West Van Conversions Inc. Appeal No. AP-2010-037.


This memorandum outlines and explains the interpretation of tariff item 9959.00.00 of the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Tariff item 9959.00.00 reads:

Materials of Section III, VI, VII, XI, XIII, XIV or XV or of Chapter 45 or 48, or electric conductors for a voltage exceeding 1,000 V (excluding winding wire and co-axial conductors), for use in the manufacture of passenger automobiles, buses, trucks, ambulances or hearses, or chassis therefor, or parts, accessories or parts thereof, other than rubber tires and inner tubes.


Guidelines and General Information

Administrative Policy

1. Certain materials are admissible free of duty under tariff item 9959.00.00 when for use in the manufacture of passenger automobiles, buses, lorries (motor trucks), ambulances or hearses,

2. The Canada Border Services Agency considers goods such as plastic sheeting, textiles, paper products, etc., not cut to size or shape, and artificial plastic moulding pellets to be "material" for the purposes of tariff item 9959.00.00. This does not include products such as cutting oils which may be used in the manufacturing process but which do not form part of the finished product. This broad interpretation has been given to both the English and French versions of the Customs Tariff.

3. Tariff item 9959.00.00 is not restricted to materials for use in the manufacture of parts and accessories for original equipment manufacturing purposes; materials for use in the manufacture of aftermarket parts (repair and replacement parts) and across-the-counter accessories are also admissible. For example, materials for use in the manufacture of accessories such as car masks (grille protectors for sports cars), or wiring for use in the manufacture of parts such as ignition sets, are eligible for consideration under tariff item 9959.00.00.

4. The words "for use in the manufacture" are subject to the legal definition as found in section 2 of the Customs Tariff, which reads as follows:

"for use in," wherever it appears in a tariff item in respect of goods classified in the tariff item, means that the goods must be wrought or incorporated into, or attached to, other goods referred to in that tariff item.

5. Snowmobiles, golf carts and similar recreational vehicles are not considered to be "passenger automobiles" for the purposes of tariff item 9959.00.00.

Additional Information

6. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

7. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00–16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
HS 9959.00
Legislative references :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-15-15 dated February 6, 1998
Date modified:

Interprétation du numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00

Mémorandum D10-15-15

Ottawa, le 28 octobre 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (55 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de tenir compte d’une modification de la politique à l’égard de la « transformation » de fourgons en autocaravanes, pour tenir compte de la décision prise par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur dans le cadre du dossier Great West Van Conversions, AP-2010-037.


Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique l'interprétation du numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00 de la Liste des dispositions tarifaires à l'annexe du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Le numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00 se lit comme suit :

Matières des Sections III, VI, VII, XI, XIII, XIV ou XV ou des Chapitres 45 ou 48, ou conducteurs électriques pour tensions excédant 1 000 V (à l'exclusion du fils pour bobinage ou les conducteurs coaxiaux), devant servir à la fabrication de véhicules de tourisme, d'autobus, de camions, d'ambulances ou de corbillards, ou des châssis de ces véhicules, ou des parties, accessoires ou parties de ces accessoires autres, que les pneumatiques et chambres à air en caoutchouc.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Politique administrative

1. Certaines matières sont admissibles en franchise des droits de douane en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00 lorsqu'elles servent à la fabrication de véhicules de tourisme, d'autobus, de camions, d'ambulances ou de corbillards, ou des châssis de ces véhicules, ou à la fabrication des parties, accessoires ou parties de ces accessoires autres que les pneumatiques et chambres à air en caoutchouc.

2. L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada considère des marchandises telles que les tôles en matière plastique, les textiles, les produits en papier, etc., non coupés en fonction de dimensions ou de formes précises, et les boulettes de moulage en plastique artificiel comme étant de la « matière ou du matériel » aux fins du numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00. Ceci n'englobe pas les produits tels que les huiles de coupe dont on peut se servir dans le procédé de fabrication mais qui ne font pas partie du produit fini. Cette interprétation générale a été donnée aux versions anglaises et françaises du Tarif des douanes.

3. Le numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00 n'est pas restreint aux matières ou matériels devant servir à la fabrication des parties et des accessoires à des fins de fabrication d'appareils nouveaux; les matières ou matériels devant servir à la fabrication de parties de rechange (les parties de réparation et de remplacement) et les accessoires vendus comptant sont aussi admissibles. À titre d'exemple, les matières ou matériels devant servir à la fabrication des accessoires tels que les masques d'automobiles (des dispositifs de protection de la calandre pour les voitures de sport), ou l'installation électrique devant servir à la fabrication de parties telles que des ensembles d'allumage, remplissent les conditions d'admissibilité pour être considérés en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00.

4. L'expression « devant servir à la fabrication » est sous réserve de la définition légale qui figure à l'article 2 du Tarif des douanes, laquelle se lit comme suit :

« devant servir dans » ou « devant servir à » Mention dans un numéro tarifaire, applicable aux marchandises qui y sont classées et qui doivent entrer dans la composition d'autres marchandises mentionnées dans ce numéro tarifaire par voie d'ouvraison, de fixation ou d'incorporation.

5. Les motoneiges, les voitures de golf et les véhicules de récréation similaires ne sont pas considérés comme étant des « véhicules de tourisme » aux fins du numéro tarifaire 9959.00.00.

Renseignements supplémentaires

6. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

7. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
SH9959.00
Références légales
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-15-15 daté le 6 février l998
Date de modification :