Handicrafts

Memorandum D10-15-13

Ottawa, May 9, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (67 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the conditions under which designated handicrafts are admissible under tariff item No. 9987.00.00 of the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Tariff item No. 9987.00.00 reads as follows:

The following handicraft goods, originating in a country entitled to the benefits of the General Preferential Tariff, having forms or representing any national, territorial or religious symbols of the geographical region where produced, having acquired their essential characteristics by the handiwork of individual craftsmen using tools held by hand or tools not powered by machines other than those powered by hand or foot, being non-utilitarian and not copies or imitations of handicraft goods of any country other than the country in which they originate, and not produced in large quantities by sophisticated tools or by moulding:

Puppets, musical instruments (other than guitars, viols, harpsichords or copies of antique instruments), gourds and calabashes, incense burners, retablos, fans, screens, lacquer ware, hand-carved picture frames, hand-carved figurines of animals, and religious symbols and statuettes, composed wholly or in chief part by value of wood, if not more than their primary shape is attained by mechanically powered tools or machines;

Ornaments, mirrors and figurines, composed wholly or in chief part by value of bread dough;

Hookahs, nargiles, candelabra and incense burners, composed wholly or in chief part by value of clay;

Figurines, fans, hats, musical instruments, toys, sitkas, greeting cards and wall hangings, composed wholly or in chief part by weight of vegetable fibres or vegetable materials other than linen, cotton or corn husks;

Figurines, masks, baskets and artistic cut-outs, composed wholly or in chief part by value of paper or papier maché;

Puppets, bellows, pouffes, bottle cases, and wine or water bottles and jugs, composed wholly or in chief part by value of hide or of leather that has not been finished beyond tanning other than by individual craftsmen;

Figurines, costume jewellery, beads, belts, hair pins, buttons, lamp bases and key holders, composed wholly or in chief part by value of coconut shell;

Musical instruments, chimes, combs, fans, costume jewellery, beads, belts, hair pins, wall and table decorations, buttons, lamp bases, and key holders, composed wholly or in chief part by value of mother of pearl, horn, shell including tortoiseshell, or coral;

Hookahs, nargiles, musical instruments, bells, gongs, incense burners, masks, adzes, mattocks, finger and keyhole plates, door handles and locks, hinges and latches, samovars, kukris and machetes, composed wholly or in chief part by value of base metals, if not more than their primary shape is attained by mechanically powered tools or machines;

Bracelets, nargiles and hookahs, composed wholly or in chief part by value of glass;

Fabrics decorated with crewel embroidery, hand-woven semi-finished wall hangings on back strap looms, reverse hand-sewn appliqué wall hangings, and dhurries, composed wholly or in chief part by weight of wool or cotton;

Lanterns, composed wholly or in chief part by value of stone.

Under this Act, the Governor in Council may amend the list of goods in this tariff item.

Goods may be classified under this tariff item on production of a certificate in the duplicate in prescribed form with the information required to be provided with the form, and signed by a representative of the government of the country of origin or any other authorized person in the country of origin recognized by the Minister of National Revenue as competent for that purpose.


Guidelines and General Information

1.   The following definitions are intended to explain the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA)’s interpretation of tariff item No. 9987.00.00:

  • (a)  “geographical region” means the country of manufacture or a specific region of that country; that country must be entitled to the benefits of the General Preferential Tariff;
  • (b)  “non-utilitarian” describes goods that may have a function (a utility) but that are obtained or valued for their artistic, religious, or cultural features.

2.   To have acquired their essential characteristics by the handiwork of individual craftsmen employing traditional manual skills, handicraft products must have been made by one or more of the following processes:

  • (a)  solely by hand; or
  • (b)  with tools held in the hand, which are not powered by machinery other than by machines powered by foot or by hand.

3.   Traditional manual skills are those skills handed down from generation to generation, such as:

appliqué work, beating, branding, carving, chasing, crocheting, cutting, drawing, dyeing, embossing, embroidering, enamelling, engraving, etching, filigreeing, hammering, inlaying, joining, knitting, knotting, moulding, needlework, netting, painting, plaiting, printing, punching, quilting, rubbing, scraping or scratching, studding, tatting, tooling, twisting, weaving, etc.

4.   For the purpose of this memorandum, goods that exhibit or demonstrate traditional or artistic characteristics of the geographical region or country of origin where the goods are made by individual craftsmen, are considered to be handicrafts if:

  • (a)  they have particular artistic or decorative features representative of that country;
  • (b)  they do not copy or imitate, or attempt to copy or imitate, traditional, decorative, artistic, or indigenous products of any country other than the country of manufacture;
  • (c)  they are not identical (in terms of size, design, method of production) to each other, meaning there is no evidence suggesting mass production or production line techniques were employed;
  • (d)  there is no evidence that an original handicraft product was used as a “model” and reproduced in large quantities partly by hand and partly by sophisticated tools or by moulding; and
  • (e)  they are produced by individual craftsmen that acquired their skills by formal training or working under close supervision.

Certification

5.   Handicraft goods may only be classified under tariff item 9987.00.00 of the Customs Tariff when supported by the appropriate certification supplied by the recognized authority in the country of origin.

6.   A complete inventory of all goods imported in the shipment must be attached to the signed certification. Each article on the list is to be numbered in consecutive order and a detailed description of the good provided. 

7.   The attached Appendix is an example of the certification wording that must accompany each imported shipment of goods accounted for under tariff item 9987.00.00.

8.   The importer is responsible to ensure that the handicraft certification is presented at time of accounting, or whenever requested by a CBSA officer.

9.   As per Section 32.2 of the Customs Act, if authorized certification of the goods is not available, the importer must file a correction to the original declaration of the goods and pay any applicable duties and taxes. For information regarding corrections to declarations of tariff classification, please consult Memorandum D11-6-6, “Reason to believe” and Self-adjustments to Declarations of Origin, Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty.

Additional Information

10. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an Advance Ruling. Information on how to obtain an Advance Ruling may be found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

11. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.


Appendix

Example of wording for the certification of goods imported under tariff item 9987.00.00

This certification is with respect to the _________________ (quantity) articles numbered consecutively and described on the attached inventory sheet, imported by _________________________ (name of importer).

I certify that the goods listed and described on the attached inventory sheet are handicraft products that have been made by individual craftsmen of _______________________ (region and/or country where produced) using tools held by hand or tools not powered by machines other than those powered by hand or foot. These goods are not imitations of handicraft goods of any country other than the country in which they originate. These goods are not produced in large quantities by sophisticated tools or by moulding.

_____________________________________________
Name and title of official

_____________________________________________
Address

_____________________________________________
Signature of official

__________________________
Date

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
HS 9987.00
Legislative references :
Customs Act
Customs Tariff, tariff item 9987.00.00
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-15-13 dated May 1, 1998
Date modified:

Artisanat

Mémorandum D10-15-13

Ottawa, le 9 mai 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (71 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique les conditions selon lesquelles la marchandise d’artisanat désignée peut être admissible en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9987.00.00 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires figurant à l’annexe du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Le libellé du numéro tarifaire 9987.00.00 se lit comme suit :

Les marchandises d’artisanat suivantes, originaires d’un pays ayant droit aux avantages du Tarif de préférence général, ayant des formes ou des décorations qui sont utilisées traditionnellement par les autochtones ou représentant des symboles nationaux, territoriaux ou religieux de la région géographique où elles ont été produites, ayant reçu leurs caractéristiques essentielles du travail manuel d’artisans individuels à l’aide d’outils manuels ou d’outils non mécaniques autres que des outils actionnés par la main ou le pied, étant non utilitaires et non des copies ou des imitations des marchandises d’artisanat d’un pays autre que le pays d’où elles proviennent, et non produites en grandes quantités à l’aide d’outils perfectionnés ou par moulage :

Marionnettes, instruments de musique (sauf les guitares, les violes, les clavecins et les reproductions d’instruments anciens), gourdes, calebasses, cassolettes, retables, éventails, paravents, laques, cadres sculptés à la main, figurines d’animaux sculptées à la main, et statuettes et symboles religieux, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de bois, s’ils n’ont pas été façonnés dans une certaine mesure à l’aide de machines ou d’outils mécaniques;

Ornements, miroirs et figurines, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de pâte à pain;

Houkas, narguilés, candélabres et cassolettes, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, d’argile;

Figurines, éventails, chapeaux, instruments de musique, jouets, sitkas, cartes de souhaits et tentures, lorsque leur poids est constitué en tout ou en majeure partie, de fibres végétales ou de matériaux végétaux autres que le lin, le coton ou l’enveloppe de maïs;

Figurines, masques, paniers et découpages artistiques, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de papier ou de carton-pâte;

Marionnettes, soufflets, poufs, étuis à bouteilles, et bouteilles à vin ou à eau et cruches, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de cuir ou de peau, qui n’a pas été travaillé au-delà du stade du tannage autrement que par des artisans individuels;

Figurines, bijouterie de fantaisie, perles, ceintures, épingles à cheveux, boutons, socles de lampe et porte-clés, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de noix de coco;

Instruments de musique, mobiles tintants, peignes, éventails, bijouterie de fantaisie, perles, ceintures, épingles à cheveux, décorations de table, décorations murales, boutons, socles de lampe et porte-clés, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de nacre de perle, de corne, de coquillages, y compris l’écaille de tortue, ou de corail;

Houkas, narguilés, instruments de musique, cloches, gongs, cassolettes, masques, herminettes, hoyaux, plaques de propreté et de serrures, poignées de porte et serrures, charnières et loquets, samovars, coutelas et machettes, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de métaux communs, s’ils n’ont pas été façonnés dans une certaine mesure à l’aide de machines ou d’outils mécaniques;

Porte-bonheur ou bracelets, narguilés et houkas, composés en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de verre;

Tissus avec broderies de laine, pièces murales semi-ouvrées tissées à la main sur des métiers à ceinture, pièces murales d’appliquées inversées cousues à la main et « dhurries », composés en tout ou en majeure partie, en poids, de laine ou de coton;

Lanternes, composées en tout ou en majeure partie, quant à la valeur, de pierre.

En vertu de la présente loi, le gouverneur en conseil peut réviser la liste des marchandises dans le présent numéro tarifaire.

Les marchandises peuvent être classées dans le présent numéro tarifaire sur présentation d’un certificat contenant les renseignements devant être fournis avec le formulaire et signé par un représentant du gouvernement du pays d’origine ou par une personne autorisée dans le pays d’origine et reconnue par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) comme étant compétente à cette fin.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.   Les définitions suivantes sont une explication de l’interprétation de l’ASFC du numéro tarifaire 9987.00.00 :

  • a)   « région géographique » signifie le pays de fabrication ou toute région particulière de ce pays; le pays doit être admissible aux avantages du tarif de préférence général;
  • b)   « non utilitaires » décrit les marchandises qui peuvent avoir une fonction (une utilité) mais sont obtenues ou estimées pour leurs caractéristiques artistiques, religieuses ou culturelles.

2.   Pour être considérés comme ayant acquis des caractéristiques essentielles par le travail manuel d’artisans individuels utilisant les techniques manuelles traditionnelles, les produits d’artisanat doivent avoir été faits selon un ou plusieurs des procédés suivants :

  • a)   seulement à la main;
  • b)   à l’aide d’outils manuels qui ne sont pas actionnés par des machines autres que des machines actionnées par la main ou le pied.

3.   Les techniques manuelles traditionnelles sont les techniques transmises de génération, en génération, par exemple :

appliqué, assemblage, battage, broderie, ciselage, coupe, crochet, dentelle frivolité, dessin, émaillage, étampage, fabrication de filet, filigrane, frottement abrasif, gravure, gravure à l’eau forte, impression au fer chaud, imprimerie, lattage, macramé, marqueterie, martelage, moulage, peinture, piquage, raclage ou éraillure, repoussage (du cuir), retordage, sculpture, teinture, tissage, travail à l’aiguille, travail à l’outil, tricot, vannerie, etc.

4.   Aux fins du présent mémorandum, les marchandises qui possèdent ou qui démontrent des caractéristiques traditionnelles ou artistiques de la région géographique ou du pays d’origine où elles ont été produites par le travail manuel d’artisans individuels sont considérées d’artisanat si :

  • a)   elles possèdent des particularités décoratives ou artistiques qui représentent ce pays;
  • b)   elles ne sont pas une copie, une imitation ou un essai de copie ou d’imitation de produits traditionnels, décoratifs, artistiques ou autochtones d’un pays autre que le pays de fabrication;
  • c)   elles ne sont pas identiques (à l’égard de la taille, la conception, la méthode de production), c’est-à-dire qu’il n’y a aucun indice qu’il s’agit d’une marchandise produite en série ou que des techniques de chaîne de production ont été utilisées;
  • d)   il n’y a aucun indice que l’on a utilisé comme « modèle » un produit d’artisanat original qui a été reproduit en grandes quantités, en partie à la main et en partie à l’aide d’outils perfectionnés ou par moulage;
  • e)   elles ont été produites par des artisans individuels qui ont acquis leurs techniques par une formation régulière ou qui travaillent sous surveillance étroite.

Certification

5.   Les marchandises d’artisanat importées ne peuvent être classées dans le numéro tarifaire 9987.00.00 du Tarif des douanes que si elles sont accompagnées du certificat approprié fournit par une personne autorisée dans le pays d’origine.

6.   Une liste complète de toutes les marchandises importées dans l’expédition doit accompagner le certificat signé. Chaque article figurant dans la liste doit être numéroté par ordre consécutif et une description détaillée des marchandises doit être fournie.

7.   L’annexe ci-jointe est un exemple de certificat qui doit accompagner chaque expédition de marchandises importée et déclarée en détail sous le numéro tarifaire 9987.00.00.

8.   L’importateur est responsable de s’assurer que le certificat de marchandise d’artisanat soit présenté au moment de la déclaration en détail, ou sur demande d’un agent.

9.   Conformément à l’article 32.2 de la Loi sur les douanes, si un certificat autorisé des marchandises n’est pas disponible, l’importateur doit présenter une correction de la déclaration originale des marchandises et payer tous les droits et taxes exigibles. Pour des renseignements concernant les corrections à apporter aux déclarations de classement tarifaire, consultez le Mémorandum D11-6-6, « Motifs de croire » et autorajustements des déclarations concernant l’origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane.

Renseignements supplémentaires

10. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

11. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.


Annexe

Exemple de libellé pour la certification des marchandises importées sous le numéro tarifaire 9987.00.00

Le présent certificat concerne les                      (quantité) marchandises numérotées consécutivement et décrites sur la liste d’inventaire ci-jointe qui ont été importées par                                                      (nom de l’importateur).

J’atteste que les marchandises énumérées et décrites sur la liste d’inventaire ci-jointe sont des produits d’artisanat fabriqués par des artisans individuels de                                  (région et(ou) pays où ils ont été produits) à l’aide d’outils manuels ou d’outils manuels qui ne sont pas actionnés par des machines autres que des machines actionnées par la main ou le pied. Les marchandises ne sont pas une imitation de marchandises d’artisanat d’un pays autre que le pays d’origine. Les marchandises ne sont pas reproduites en grandes quantités à l’aide d’outils perfectionnés ou par moulage.

_____________________________________________
Nom et titre du signataire autorisé

_____________________________________________
Adresse

_____________________________________________
Signature du signataire autorisé

___________________________
Date

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l’administration centrale
SH 9987.00
Références légales
Loi sur les douanes
Tarif des douanes, numéro tarifaire 9987.00.00
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-15-13 daté le 1er mai 1998
Date de modification :