Administrative Policy – Florist and Nursery Stock Definitions for the Purposes of Headings 06.01 and 06.02

Memorandum D10-15-1

Ottawa, January 17, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (62 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum provides definitions and explains the end use provisions afforded to florist and nursery stock classified under headings 06.01 and 06.02 of the Customs Tariff. The Standard Cyclopedia of Horticulture, by L.H. Bailey has been used as the main reference source.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

10. (1) Subject to subsection (2), the classification of imported goods under a tariff item shall, unless otherwise provided, be determined in accordance with the General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System and the Canadian Rules set out in the schedule.

Tariff items 0601.10.11, 0601.10.21, 0601.20.10 and 0602.90.10, as prescribed in the Customs Tariff, are as follows:

Tariff item 0601.10.11 provides for:
Bulbs, of the genus narcissus, other than for use by florists or nurserymen for forcing purposes or for growing on prior to disposal.

Tariff item 0601.10.21 provides for:
Crowns of rhubarb or asparagus;
Tuberous roots of cannas, dahlias and paeonias;
Tubers, other tuberous roots, corms, other crowns and rhizomes, for use by florists or nurserymen for forcing purposes or for growing on prior to disposal.

Tariff item 0601.20.10 provides for:
Chicory plants and roots;
For use by florists or nurserymen for forcing purposes or for growing on prior to disposal;
Tuberous roots of cannas, dahlias and paeonias.

Tariff item 0602.90.10 provides for:
Mushroom spawn;
Palms, ferns (other than tuberous rooted ferns), rubber plants (ficus), lilacs, araucarias, laurels, cacti, trees, teasels, sweet potato plants, cabbage seedlings, cauliflower seedlings, onion seedlings and strawberry plants;
For producing cuttings, buds, scions, seeds or similar goods or for having grafting, layering or other operations performed on them;
For producing vegetables;
For propagation purposes or for use by florists or nurserymen for forcing purposes or for growing on prior to disposal.


Guidelines and General Information

1. For the purpose of tariff items 0601.10.11, 0601.10.21, 0601.20.10 and 0602.90.10, the following definitions are applicable.

Florists and Nurserymen

2. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) holds that for purposes of tariff classification, the term florists or nurserymen means those firms engaged in the growing of plants, trees, or flowers on a commercial basis. In order to carry out this function, florists or nurserymen operating on a commercial basis will have permanent facilities to provide an environment conducive to the forcing or growing on processes. Such facilities normally include: greenhouses or structures containing equipment such as beds, shelves, and racks; lighting, heat, water, fertilizers, other growing aids, pesticides, fungicides, and other control agents conducive to the forcing or growing on processes. While municipal authorities or parks departments do not sell their products commercially, they will be considered nurserymen for purposes of the aforementioned tariff items when they do operate greenhouses or such facilities.

3. These firms sell their products to wholesalers, distributors, and/or retailers on a market scale consistent with the size of their commercial operation. Those florists and nurserymen who, in addition to selling their products to wholesalers, etc., also maintain their own retail facilities, whether or not on the same location as the growing facilities, remain florists and nurserymen for the purposes of this definition. Department stores, supermarkets, etc., and retail florists operating retail sales outlets only are not generally considered to be florists or nurserymen for the purpose of tariff classification.

4. Similarly, horticultural hobbyists, who grow plants, trees or flowers for the purpose of shows or exhibits, or for their own pleasure, are not considered to be florists or nurserymen. Although hobbyists may have facilities similar to florists and nurserymen, hobbyists are to classify their importations under an appropriate tariff item in heading 06.01 or 06.02.

5. The importation of plant stock by florists and nurserymen, which are immediately sold or delivered to the premises of wholesalers, retailers, etc., do not meet all the criteria of the above-mentioned tariff items, and must be classified under the appropriate tariff item in heading 06.01 or 06.02.

Forcing

6. Horticultural products are considered to be for “forcing” purposes when:

  • (a) they are to be subjected to an accelerated program of cultivation wherein growth is made to occur outside their usual or normal growing season; or
  • (b) they are to be subjected to an accelerated cyclical process of heating and cooling which stimulates their growing and dormant stages.

Growing on

7. Horticultural products are considered to be for “growing on” when:

  • (a) they are to be subjected to controlled processes whereby, over a period of time, the natural growth of the product proceeds from one state in its life cycle to the next; or
  • (b) over a period of time, the products are to be conditioned to their environment.

8. The term “period of time” is a flexible state, which is dependant upon the particular plant variety and based on good horticultural practice. The plant variety itself is the most important variable.

9. The term “growing on” differs from “forcing” in that during the forcing of a plant, its growth is artificially stimulated, whereas, growing on is the continued natural process of the growth cycle, the plants being simply protected and maintained.

Prior to disposal

10. This phrase provides that florists or nurserymen must carry out the growing on or forcing process at the usual place of business before disposing of the plant stock in any manner. Such disposal is usually by sale, at either the retail or wholesale/distributor level, but may be by other means, such as by planting or displaying by parks departments.

11. In addition, the term will include situations where the plants are delivered directly to a landscaping site, rather than to a florist’s or nurserymen’s usual place of business, under the following conditions:

  • (a) a contract to purchase the plants has been entered into between the owner of the site and the florist or nurserymen with delivery to the site specified in the contract; and
  • (b) a maintenance contract (combined with (a) above or separate) has been entered into between the owner of the site and the florist or nurserymen, which specifies that the plants will be maintained by the florist or nurserymen for a minimum of one year from the date the plants are installed at the site.

12. For the purposes of tariff items 0602.20.00 and 0602.90.10, the following definitions are applicable.

Shrubs

13. Shrubs are multi-stemmed woody plants, reaching a height of less than three metres at maturity. The term “multi-stemmed” is not to be confused with “clumped.” Some trees, such as birches, may grow in clumps (where more than one central woody stem is in evidence).

Trees

14. A tree has a central woody stem and is over three metres high when fully grown. Dwarf trees (i.e., under three metres tall) may be considered trees as long as a central woody stem is evident, and the height of the plant exceeds its width.

Importations of Marine or Aquatic Plants

15. Marine or aquatic plants are classified under an appropriate plant stock tariff item as long as they meet the requirements of the tariff item claimed.

Importations of Endangered Species of Flora

16. Certain species of flora are included in the list of “Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora”, which is contained in the Export and Import Permits Acthandbook. Importations of flora included in the list are admissible into Canada only under the authority of General Import Permit No. 17, under the following conditions:

  • (a) flora listed in Appendix I of the Import Control List,
    • (i) a permit issued by the Canadian Wildlife Service of Environment Canada must be presented at the time of importation;
  • (b) flora listed in Appendix II of the Import Control List,
    • (i) an export permit, re-export permit, or certificate issued by the exporting State, and
    • (ii) in the case of a specimen introduced from the sea, a permit issued by the Canadian Wildlife Service of Environment Canada must be presented at the time of importation.

17. Permits must be in the form prescribed by the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora.

18. Accounting documents completed in respect of importations under the authority of General Import Permit No. 17 must be endorsed “Imported under the authority of General Import Permit No. 17.”

Additional Information

19. Further information concerning the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora may be obtained from:

Management Authority
Convention on International Trade in Endangered
Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES)
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
Web site: www.ec.gc.ca/cites/

20. For further information on the tariff classification of plant material, refer to the Explanatory Notes and Chapter 6 of the Customs Tariff schedule.

21. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

22. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
None
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-15-1 dated December 4, 2003
Date modified:

Politique administrative – Définitions des plantes destinées aux fleuristes et aux pépiniéristes aux fins des positions 06.01 et 06.02

Mémorandum D10-15-1

Ottawa, le 17 janvier 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (65 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum fournit des définitions et explique les dispositions prévoyant l’utilisation ultime visant les plantes destinées aux fleuristes et aux pépiniéristes classées sous les positions 06.01 et 06.02 du Tarif des douanes. L’encyclopédie de L.H. Bailey, intitulée The Standard Cyclodepia of Horticulture,a servi d’ouvrage de référence principal.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

10. (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2), le classement des marchandises importées dans un numéro tarifaire est effectué, sauf indications contraires, en conformité avec les Règles générales pour l’interprétation du Système harmonisé et les Règles canadiennes énoncées à l’annexe.

Les numéros tarifaires 0601.10.11, 0601.10.21, 0601.20.10 et 0602.90.10, tels que prescrits dans le Tarif des douanes, sont les suivants :

Le numéro tarifaire 0601.10.11 porte sur :
Bulbes, du genre des narcissus, autres que ceux utilisés par des fleuristes ou des pépiniéristes aux fins de forçage ou pour en continuer la croissance avant de s’en défaire

Le numéro tarifaire 0601.10.21 porte sur :
Rhizomes de rhubarbe et griffes d’asperge;
Racines tubéreuses de cannas, de dahlias et de pivoines;
Tubercules, autres racines tubéreuses, cormus, autres griffes et rhizomes utilisés par les fleuristes et les pépiniéristes aux fins de forçage ou pour en continuer la croissance avant de s’en défaire

Le numéro tarifaire 0601.20.10 porte sur :
Plantes, plantes et racines de chicorée;
Utilisés par des fleuristes ou des pépiniéristes aux fins de forçage ou pour en continuer la croissance avant de s’en défaire; Racines tubéreuses de cannas, de dahlias et de pivoines

Le numéro tarifaire 0602.90.10 porte sur :
Blanc de champignons;
Palmiers, fougères (autres que les fougères à racines tubéreuses), caoutchoutiers ficus, lilas, araucarias, lauriers, cactus, arbres, cardères, plants de patates douces, plants de choux, plants de choux-fleurs, plants d’oignons et de fraisiers;
Pour la production des boutures, des boutons, des scions, des graines ou marchandises similaires ou pour subir sur eux-mêmes des greffes, du marcottage ou d’autres opérations;
Pour la production des légumes;
Pour le bouturage ou pour l’usage des fleuristes ou des pépiniéristes aux fins de forçage ou pour en continuer la croissance avant de s’en défaire.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Pour l’application des numéros tarifaires 0601.10.11, 0601.10.21, 0601.20.10 et 0602.90.10, les définitions suivantes s’appliquent.

Fleuristes et pépiniéristes

2. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada considère qu’aux fins du classement tarifaire, les termes fleuristes ou pépiniéristes désignent les entreprises qui cultivent des plantes, des arbres ou des fleurs sur une base commerciale. Pour remplir cette fonction, les fleuristes ou les pépiniéristes exploitant une entreprise commerciale possèdent une infrastructure permanente permettant de procéder au forçage ou à la culture. Cette infrastructure doit comprendre des serres ou des structures contenant l’équipement essentiel à la culture et à l’entretien au cours de la période de forçage ou de culture, notamment des germoirs, des tablettes et des étagères; l’éclairage, la chaleur, l’eau, les engrais et d’autres substances favorisant la croissance, les pesticides, les fongicides et autres agents de contrôle permettent également de démontrer la viabilité de l’entreprise commerciale qui s’occupe du forçage ou de la culture des plantes. Même si les municipalités ou les services des parcs ne vendent pas leurs produits sur une base commerciale, ils sont considérés comme des pépiniéristes pour l’application des numéros tarifaires susmentionnés quand ils disposent de serres ou d’installations semblables.

3. Ces entreprises vendent leurs produits à des grossistes, des distributeurs et(ou) des détaillants, à une échelle correspondant à la taille de leur entreprise commerciale. Ces fleuristes et ces pépiniéristes qui, en plus de vendre leurs produits à des grossistes, etc., opèrent aussi leurs propres installations de vente de détail, qu’elles se trouvent ou non à la même adresse que l’endroit où ils cultivent leurs plantes, sont toujours des fleuristes et des pépiniéristes aux fins de cette définition. Les grands magasins, les supermarchés, etc., et les fleuristes détaillants qui exploitent seulement des magasins de vente au détail ne sont généralement pas considérés comme des fleuristes ou des pépiniéristes aux fins du classement tarifaire.

4. De même, les horticulteurs amateurs qui cultivent des plantes, des arbres et des fleurs pour les exposer ou pour leur plaisir personnel ne sont pas reconnus comme des fleuristes ou des pépiniéristes. Même si les amateurs peuvent disposer d’installations semblables à celles des fleuristes ou des pépiniéristes, ils doivent classer leurs importations en vertu d’un numéro tarifaire approprié à la position 06.01 ou 06.02.

5. Les plantes importées par les fleuristes et les pépiniéristes qui sont immédiatement vendues ou expédiées aux grossistes, aux détaillants, etc., ne satisfont pas à tous les critères des numéros tarifaires susmentionnés et doivent être classées aux numéros tarifaires appropriés à la position 06.01 ou 06.02.

Forçage

6. Les produits de l’horticulture sont considérés comme étant à des fins de « forçage » lorsque :

  • a) ils sont exposés à un mode accéléré de culture selon lequel ont fait croître les plantes hors de leur cycle habituel ou normal de croissance;
  • b) ils sont exposés à un processus accéléré de cycle de réchauffement et de refroidissement qui stimule leurs étapes de croissance et de repos.

Culture

7. Les produits de l’horticulture sont considérés comme de la « culture » lorsque :

  • a) ils sont exposés à des processus contrôlés au moyen desquels, au cours d’une certaine période, ils passent d’un stade de croissance à un autre;
  • b) ils sont, au cours d’une certaine période de temps, conditionnés à leur milieu.

8. L’expression « période de temps » est un état flexible conditionné à la variété particulière de plantes et basé sur une bonne pratique de l’horticulture. La variété particulière de plantes est la variable la plus importante.

9. « Culture » se distingue de « forçage ». Au cours du forçage, la croissance est accélérée de façon artificielle, tandis que la culture suppose plutôt un cycle de croissance naturel et continu, au cours duquel les plantes sont seulement protégées et entretenues.

Avant de se défaire des plantes

10. Cette expression signifie que le fleuriste ou le pépiniériste peut s’occuper la culture ou du forçage dans ses installations avant de se défaire des plantes par quelque moyen que ce soit. Il les vend ordinairement à un détaillant ou à un grossiste-distributeur, mais il peut aussi par exemple les céder au service des parcs qui les plantera ou les exposera.

11. De plus, cette expression comprendra des situations où les plantes sont livrées directement à un emplacement d’aménagement paysager plutôt qu’à l’endroit où le pépiniériste fait des affaires en vertu des conditions suivantes :

  • a) le propriétaire de l’emplacement et le fleuriste ou le pépiniériste se sont engagés par contrat à acheter les plantes et les faire livrer à l’emplacement précisé dans le contrat;
  • b) le propriétaire de l’emplacement et le fleuriste ou le pépiniériste se sont engagés par un contrat d’entretien (combiné avec a) ci-dessus, ou indépendamment) qui précise que les plantes seront conservées par le fleuriste ou le pépiniériste pour un délai minimal d’un an à partir de la date où les plantes sont installées à l’emplacement.

12. Pour l’application des numéros tarifaires 0602.20.00 et 0602.90.10, les définitions suivantes s’appliquent.

Arbustes

13. Les arbustes sont des plantes ligneuses à plusieurs troncs, atteignant une hauteur de moins de trois mètres à maturité. On ne doit pas confondre l’expression « à plusieurs troncs » avec le mot « bouquet ». Certains arbres, tels que les bouleaux, peuvent croître en bouquet (où plus d’un tronc central ligneux est en vue).

Arbres

14. Un arbre a un tronc central ligneux et dépasse trois mètres de haut lorsqu’il a fini sa croissance. Les arbres nains (c‘est-à-dire, ne dépassant pas trois mètres de haut) peuvent être considérés comme des arbres tant que le tronc central ligneux est en vue et que la hauteur de la plante dépasse sa largeur.

Importations de plantes marines ou aquatiques

15. Les plantes marines ou aquatiques sont classées en vertu d’un numéro tarifaire approprié, à condition qu’elles respectent les exigences précisées dans le numéro tarifaire demandé.

Importations d’espèces végétales menacées d’extinction

16. Certaines espèces végétales sont inscrites sur la liste des « espèces de faune et de flore sauvage menacées d’extinction ». Cette liste se trouve dans le manuel de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation. Les espèces végétales inscrites sur cette liste ne peuvent être importées au Canada que si elles sont accompagnées de la Licence générale d’importation no17, selon les conditions suivantes :

  • a) les espèces végétales énumérées à l’annexe I de la Liste de marchandises d’importation contrôlée :
    • (i) une licence délivrée par le Service canadien de la faune de Environnement Canada doit être présentée au moment de l’importation;
  • b) les espèces végétales énumérées à l’annexe II de la Liste de marchandises d’importation contrôlée :
    • (i) une licence d’exportation, une licence ou un certificat de réexportation délivrés par l’État exportateur,
    • (ii) s’il s'agit d’une espèce provenant de la mer, une licence délivrée par le Service canadien de la faune de Environnement Canada doit être présentée au moment de l’importation.

17. Les licences doivent se présenter sous la forme indiquée par la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvage menacées d’extinction.

18. Les documents de déclaration en détail remplis relativement à des marchandises importées en vertu de la Licence générale d’importation no 17 doivent porter la mention « Importées en vertu de la Licence générale d’importation no 17 ».

Renseignements supplémentaires

19. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvage menacées d’extinction, communiquez avec :

Autorité de gestion
Convention sur le commerce international des espèces
de faune et de flore sauvage menacées d’extinction
(CITES)
Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
Site Web : www.ec.gc.ca/cites/

20. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le classement tarifaire des plantes, consultez les Notes explicatives et le chapitre 6 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes.

21. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

22. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
Aucun
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D10-15-1 daté le 4 décembre 2003
Date de modification :