Administrative Policy – Interpretation of the Term “For Processing” as found in the Chapters 1 to 21 and Tariff Item 9907.00.00.
Memorandum D10-14-69

Ottawa, April 25, 2017

ISSN 2369-2391

This document is also available in PDF (213 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum outlines and explains the interpretation of the term "for processing", as they appear in Chapters 1 to 21 and tariff item 9907.00.00 of the Customs Tariff. This memorandum replaces D10-14-2, Administrative Policy – Tariff Interpretation of Fresh Fruits and Vegetables for Processing.

Guidelines and General Information

Administrative Policy

1. The term "processing" means the conversion, by the domestic manufacturing industry, of materials from their natural, or processed, state to another form or state for subsequent use as human or animal food, nutritional supplements or cosmetics. Examples of conversion processes include; reduction in size, mixing, forming, heating (including cooking), freezing, dehydrating, cleaning, separating, draining, trimming, peeling, dehusking, hulling, shelling, pitting, coring, stemming, silking, centrifuging, filtering, or extraction (by solvents or pressure) or any combination of these.

2. Neither pasteurization nor packaging/repackaging is considered to be a processing operation.

3. The "domestic processing industry" encompasses only commercial enterprises engaged in the processing of materials into prepared human or animal food (excluding enterprises that prepare fresh food products for direct sale to a consumer), nutritional supplements or cosmetic products by carrying out the type of operation(s) listed in paragraph 1 of this memorandum.

4. Shipments of bulk goods imported by a firm engaged in the aforementioned activities will be considered to be "for processing".

5. Such goods will normally have one or more of the following characteristics:

6. CBSA officers may visually examine shipments of goods to verify whether the importation consists of goods for immediate sale or goods destined for processing.

7. Tariff items that contain a "for processing" provision are conditional relief tariff items. Memorandum D11-8-5 - Conditional Relief Tariff Items provides the CBSA's interpretation of such provisions. They may be claimed at time of accounting (paragraphs 17-24 of D11-8-5) despite the required processing not having yet occurred. However, as also explained therein, an importer must be able to demonstrate that the criteria upon which conditional relief was granted has been met when requested by the CBSA (paragraphs 51-55), this applies even in the case of imported goods subsequently sold to a Canadian further processor.

Additional Information

8. Information about the retention of records may be found in D11-8-6, Interpretation of Section 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations and information regarding refunds may be found in D6-2-3, Refund of Duties.

9. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
N/A
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Other references:
D6-2-3, D11-8-5, D11-8-6
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-2 dated October 28, 2014
Date modified:

Politique administrative – Comment interpréter l’expression « pour la transformation » dans les chapitres 1 à 21 et numéro tarifaire 9907.00.00.
Mémorandum D10-14-69

Ottawa, le 25 avril 2017

ISSN 2369-2405

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (221 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum explique comment interpréter l'expression « pour la transformation » dans les chapitres 1 à 21 et numéro tarifaire 9907.00.00 du Tarif des douanes. Le présent mémorandum remplace D10-14-2, Politique administrative – Interprétation tarifaire de fruits et légumes frais destinés à la transformation

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Politique administrative

1. On parle de « transformation » quand l'industrie domestique transforme des produits alimentaires en modifiant leur état (naturel ou déjà transformé) par des traitements comme la réduction, le mélange, le façonnage, la chauffe (y compris la cuisson), la congélation, la déshydratation, le nettoyage, la séparation, l'égouttage, le parage, l'épluchage, le décorticage, l'écorçage, le dénoyautage, l'étrognage, l'équeutage, le brossage, la centrifugation, le filtrage, ou l'extraction (par solvants ou par pression) ou toute combinaison de ces opérations qui en fait des aliments, des additifs nutritionnels ou des cosmétiques destinés à la consommation humaine ou animale.

2. La pasteurisation, l'emballage et le remballage ne sont pas des activités de transformation pour les fins de cette politique.

3. L'expression « industrie nationale » se limite ici aux entreprises commerciales qui, par le genre de traitements énumérés au paragraphe 1 du présent mémorandum, produisent des aliments pour la consommation humaine ou animale (excluant les entreprises engagées dans la préparation de produits alimentaires frais pour la vente directe à un consommateur), des additifs nutritionnels ou des produits cosmétiques.

4. Les expéditions de marchandises en vrac importées par les entreprises se livrant aux activités susmentionnées sont considérées comme étant « pour la transformation ».

5. Ces marchandises présentent généralement au moins une des caractéristiques suivantes :

6. Les agents de l'ASFC peuvent vérifier visuellement si les marchandises importées d'une expédition donnée sont destinées à la vente immédiate ou à la transformation.

7. Une disposition « pour la transformation » dans un numéro tarifaire implique une exonération conditionnelle. Le mémorandum D11-8-5 – Numéros tarifaires qui accordent une exonération conditionnelle explique comment l'ASFC interprète pareilles dispositions, qui peuvent être invoquées à la déclaration en détail (paragraphes 17-24 du D11-8-5) même si alors la transformation prévue n'a pas encore eu lieu. Cela dit, le mémorandum explique aussi que l'importateur doit pouvoir prouver quand l'ASFC le lui demande que les critères d'exonération conditionnelle ont été remplis (paragraphes 51 à 55), et ce, même si les marchandises importées sont vendues à une compagnie canadienne pour transformations ultérieures.

Renseignements supplémentaires

8. De plus amples renseignements au sujet de la conservation des documents voir Mémorandum D11-8-6 Interprétation de l'article 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises, ou au sujet de les remboursements voir Mémorandum D6-2-3 Remboursement des droits.

9. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
S.O.
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
D6-2-3, D11-8-5, D11-8-6
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-2 daté le 28 octobre 2014
Date de modification :