Classification of Juice and Juice Concentrates in Heading 20.09

Memorandum D10-14-4

Ottawa, March 3, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (61 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.


This memorandum outlines the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA) administrative policy for the classification of juice and juice concentrates of heading 20.09 of the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System.


Legislation

Customs Tariff

20.09  Fruit juices (including grape must) and vegetable juices, unfermented and not containing added spirit, whether or not containing added sugar or other sweetening matter.

21.06  Food preparations not elsewhere specified or included.

22.02  Waters, including mineral waters and aerated waters, containing added sugar or other sweetening matter or flavoured, and other non-alcoholic beverages, not including fruit or vegetable juices of heading 20.09.


Guidelines and General Information

Definition

1. For the purposes of this memorandum, the following definition applies:

“Juices, unfermented and not containing added spirit” of heading 20.09 are those that have an alcoholic strength not exceeding 0.5% by volume.

2. Juices having a Brix Value of over 20 are generally considered concentrates. This threshold is set at 30 in the case of grape juice. These thresholds have been set by the Harmonized System in order to establish a reasonable cutoff point between single strength and concentrated juices. The above thresholds are not necessarily prescribed by the beverage industry.

Note: “Brix Value,” sometimes referred to as “Brixº,” or “Degrees Brix” means the direct reading of degrees Brix obtained from a Brix hydrometer or a refractive index expressed in terms of percentage sucrose content obtained from a refractometer, at a temperature of 20°C, or corrected for 20°C, if the reading is made at a different temperature. In other words, “Brix Value” approximates the percentage of water-soluble solids which, in most cases, reflects the amount of sugar present in the juice.

3. In addition to being in the form of natural juice or a concentrate, products of heading 20.09 can also be dehydrated crystals or powder, provided the crystals or powders are almost entirely soluble in water.

4. Products of heading 20.09 may contain sugar and other sweetening substances, anti-fermentation and standardizing agents, salt and spices (in the case of vegetable juices), and/or other substances to restore the original balance of ingredients. However, to be classified in heading 20.09, fruit and vegetable juices must approximate the composition and essential character of extracts of fresh, healthy, and ripe fruits and vegetables.

5. The addition of vitamins and orange-flavoured sachets to an orange juice, for example, does not exclude the latter from classification in heading 20.09, provided such additions are only in the amount that may reasonably be lost in the manufacturing processes, and do not disturb the natural balance of various elements in the juice.

6. Extracted juices may undergo numerous processes that include clarification, filtration, de-aeration, homogenization and sterilization. Juices undergoing these and/or other processes remain classified in heading 20.09, provided these juices retain their natural balance of constituents.

7. The addition of water to a fruit or vegetable juice, or addition to the concentrates of such juices of more water than is needed to reconstitute the original natural juice, excludes these products from consideration in heading 20.09. Once diluted, such products usually have the character of beverages of heading 22.02. Addition of excessive amounts of carbon dioxide to fruit and vegetable juices transforms these juices into aerated juices that are also classified in heading 22.02.

8. In order to qualify for classification in heading 20.09, juices must be obtained from fruit and vegetables that contain juice when fresh. Therefore, prune juice, when otherwise meeting specifications as in the preceding paragraphs, is classified in this heading. However, liquid products that are obtained by heating, in water, of fresh or dried fruits that do not contain juice in the natural form are excluded from heading 20.09. Liquids obtained from these fruits, such as juniper berries, are usually classified in heading 21.06 as food preparations not elsewhere specified or included.

9. The addition of minerals, vitamins, iron compounds, acids, and products generally known in the industry as food supplements, or health-promoting preservatives to fruit or vegetable juices, to an extent that clearly changes the natural balance of constituent elements within these juices, excludes the product from heading 20.09. Such products are classified in heading 21.06 in the concentrate form or in heading 22.02.

10. Addition of medicinal products, or constituents in amounts that clearly have therapeutic and/or prophylactic uses, to a juice excludes the juice from consideration under heading 20.09. Such products are generally classified in headings 30.03 and 30.04 as medicaments.

11. Attention must be paid to the difference between the addition to a juice of what are considered health-promoting ingredients as opposed to medicinal constituents that have clear therapeutic and/or prophylactic uses. In the first instance, reference is made to ingredients that, in a general sense, promote good health. In the latter case, medicinal constituents must be of a kind that clearly demonstrates they cure, treat, or prevent specific ailments.

12. Flavouring components of juice concentrates are usually reduced by a natural evaporation process. Such reduction does not exclude juice concentrates from consideration in heading 20.09.

13. Juices from which organic acids, minerals, and some flavouring components have intentionally been eliminated are considered deionized juices. These juices no longer have the essential character of juices of heading 20.09. Such products are usually classified in heading 17.02.

14. Liquid products obtained by the addition of water and sugar syrup to crushed whole fruits (whether or not peeled, or stones and pips removed), or the addition of water and sugar to fruit purées, to the extent that render these products suitable for direct human consumption, are considered as fruit nectars and are classified in heading 22.02. Products that are produced in a similar manner but are made for purposes other than human consumption as a beverage are classified in heading 20.08.

15. For purposes of classification in the Harmonized System, juices of heading 20.09 are limited to fruit juices (including grape must), and vegetable juices as they are known, in common parlance, and by their common or commercial designation, rather than their scientific or botanical definitions.

Additional Information

16. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

17. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D10-14-4 dated August 30, 2002
Date modified:

Classement des jus et des jus de concentré sous la position 20.09

Mémorandum D10-14-4

Ottawa, le 3 mars 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (64 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.


Le présent mémorandum énonce la politique administrative de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) pour le classement des jus et des jus de concentré sous la position 20.09 du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises.


Législation

Tarif des douanes

20.09 Jus de fruits (y compris les moûts de raisin) ou de légumes, non fermentés, sans addition d’alcool, avec ou sans addition de sucre ou d’autres édulcorants.

21.06 Préparations alimentaires non dénommées ni comprises ailleurs.

22.02 Eaux, y compris les eaux minérales et les eaux gazéifiées, additionnées de sucre ou d’autres édulcorants ou aromatisées, et autres boissons non alcooliques, à l’exclusion des jus de fruits ou de légumes du no 20.09.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définition

1. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, la définition suivante s’applique :

Les « jus… non fermentés, sans addition d’alcool » sous la position 20.09 sont ceux qui ont une teneur alcoolique n’excédant pas 0,5 %.

2. Les jus ayant une valeur Brix de plus de 20 sont généralement considérés comme étant des concentrés. Ce seuil est fixé à 30 dans le cas du jus de raisin. Ces seuils ont été fixés par le Système harmonisé afin d’établir un seuil raisonnable de démarcation entre les jus non concentrés et concentrés. Les seuils ci-dessus ne sont pas nécessairement réglementés par l’industrie des boissons.

Note : L’expression « valeur Brix », aussi connu sous le nom de « Brix° » ou « degrés Brix », signifie une lecture directe des degrés Brix lus directement sur l’échelle d’un hydromètre Brix ou de l’indice de réfraction exprimé en pourcentage de teneur en saccharose mesuré au réfractomètre, à une température de 20°C ou après correction pour une température de 20°C si la mesure est effectuée à une température différente. Autrement dit, la « valeur Brix » est une mesure qui estime le pourcentage de la quantité de solides hydrosolubles qui, dans la majorité des cas, indique le montant de sucre présent dans le jus.

3. En plus d’être sous la forme des jus naturels ou des concentrés, les produits sous la position 20.09 peuvent aussi être des cristaux ou une poudre déshydratés, pourvu que les cristaux ou les poudres soient presque entièrement solubles dans l’eau.

4. Les produits sous la position 20.09 peuvent contenir du sucre ou d’autres substances édulcorantes, des agents antiferments et des agents de standardisation, du sel et des épices (dans le cas des jus de légumes) et(ou) d’autres substances visant à rétablir l’équilibre d’origine des ingrédients. Cependant, pour être classés sous la position 20.09, les jus de fruits et de légumes doivent se rapprocher de la composition et du caractère essentiel des extraits de fruits et de légumes frais, sains et mûrs.

5. L’ajout de vitamines et de sachets à saveur d’orange à un jus d’orange, par exemple, n’exclut pas ce dernier du classement sous la position 20.09, pourvu que ces ajouts se limitent à des quantités qui pourront être raisonnablement perdues lors des procédés de fabrication et qui ne renversent pas l’équilibre naturel des divers éléments dans le jus.

6. Les jus extraits peuvent faire l’objet de nombreux procédés, qui comprennent la clarification, la filtration, la désaération, l’homogénéisation et la stérilisation. Les jus faisant l’objet de ces procédés et(ou) d’autres procédés demeurent classés sous la position 20.09, pourvu qu’ils conservent l’équilibre naturel des composantes.

7. L’ajout d’eau à un jus de fruits ou de légumes ou l’ajout, au concentré de celui-ci, de plus d’eau qui est nécessaire pour reconstituer le jus naturel d’origine exclut ces produits du classement sous la position 20.09. Une fois dilués, ces produits présentent normalement le caractère des boissons sous la position 22.02. L’ajout d’une quantité excessive de dioxyde de carbone aux jus de fruits et de légumes transforme ces jus en des jus aérés, qui sont aussi classés sous la position 22.02.

8. Pour être admissibles au classement sous la position 20.09, les jus doivent être obtenus de fruits et de légumes qui contiennent du jus lorsqu’ils sont frais. Par conséquent, le jus de prunes, lorsqu’il satisfait aux spécifications des paragraphes précédents, est classé sous cette position. Toutefois, les produits liquides qui sont obtenus par le chauffage, dans l’eau, de fruits frais ou séchés qui ne contiennent aucun jus dans leur état naturel sont exclus du classement sous la position 20.09. Les liquides obtenus de ces fruits, notamment les baies de genièvre, sont normalement classés sous la position 21.06 comme préparations alimentaires non dénommées ni comprises ailleurs.

9. L’ajout de minéraux, de vitamines, de composés de fer, d’acides et de produits généralement connus dans l’industrie sous le nom de compléments alimentaires ou d’agents de conservation favorables à la santé, aux jus de fruits ou de légumes, dans des quantités qui modifient clairement l’équilibre naturel des éléments constituants dans ces jus, exclut les produits du classement sous la position 20.09. Ces produits sont classés sous la position 21.06 s’il s’agit de concentrés ou sous la position 22.02.

10. L’ajout de composantes ou de produits médicinaux dans des quantités qui ont clairement des propriétés thérapeutiques et(ou) prophylactiques à un jus exclut ce jus du classement sous la position 20.09. De tels produits sont généralement classés sous la position 30.03 ou 30.04 comme médicaments.

11. Il faut prêter attention à la différence entre l’ajout à un jus d’ingrédients jugés favorables à la santé par opposition à des composantes médicinales ayant des propriétés thérapeutiques et(ou) prophylactiques claires. Dans le premier cas, il s’agit d’ingrédients qui, de façon générale, sont favorables à la santé, tandis que, dans le deuxième, il s’agit de composantes médicinales dont les propriétés de guérison, de traitement ou de prévention de maladies précises ont été clairement démontrées.

12. Les composantes aromatisantes des jus de concentré sont normalement réduites par un procédé d’évaporation naturelle. Une telle réduction n’exclut pas les jus de concentré du classement sous la position 20.09.

13. Les jus desquels les acides organiques, les minéraux et certaines composantes aromatisantes ont été éliminés intentionnellement sont considérés comme étant des jus désionisés. Ils ne présentent plus le caractère essentiel des jus de la position 20.09. Ces produits sont normalement classés sous la position 17.02.

14. Les produits liquides obtenus par l’ajout d’eau et de sirop de sucre à des fruits entiers broyés (qu’ils soient pelés ou non, ou desquels les noyaux ou les pépins aient été éliminés ou non), ou par l’ajout d’eau et de sucre à des purées de fruits, dans des quantités qui rendent ces produits convenables pour la consommation humaine directe, sont considérés comme étant des nectars de fruits et sont classés sous la position 22.02. Les produits qui sont fabriqués de façon semblable, mais à des fins autres que la consommation humaine comme boissons, sont classés sous la position 20.08.

15. Aux fins du classement dans le Système harmonisé, les jus sous la position 20.09 sont limités aux jus de fruit (y compris les moûts de raisin) et aux jus de légumes, tels qu’ils sont connus dans la langue courante, et selon leur appellation commune ou commerciale, plutôt qu’en fonction de leur définition scientifique ou botanique.

Renseignements supplémentaires

16. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

17. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Références légales
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-14-4 daté le 30 août 2002
Date de modification :