Tariff Classification of Medicaments Including Natural Health Products

Memorandum D10-14-30

Ottawa, May 27, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (83 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • This memorandum has been updated to reflect the current version of the Customs Tariff, additional jurisprudence, a decision of the Harmonized Systems Committee of the World Customs Organization related to medicaments, and changes to the Canada Border Services Agency’s organizational structure.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA) policy for the tariff classification of medicaments, including natural health products, under headings 30.03 and 30.04 of the Customs Tariff. The policy is based on jurisprudence for classifying medicaments resulting from decisions of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) and the Federal Court of Appeal.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Legal Notes

Section VI

Note 1.

  • (a) Goods (other than radioactive ores) answering to a description in heading 28.44 or 28.45 are to be classified in those headings and in no other heading of the Nomenclature.
  • (b) Subject to paragraph (a) above, goods answering to a description in heading 28.43, 28.46 or 28.52 are to be classified in those headings and in no other heading of this Section.

Note 2.

  • Subject to Note 1 above, goods classifiable in heading 30.04, 30.05, 30.06, 32.12, 33.03, 33.04, 33.05, 33.06, 33.07, 35.06, 37.07 or 38.08 by reason of being put up in measured doses or for retail sale are to be classified in those headings and in no other heading of the Nomenclature

Chapter 30

Note 1.

  • 1. This Chapter does not cover:
    • (a) Foods or beverages (such as dietetic, diabetic or fortified foods, food supplements, tonic beverages and mineral waters), other than nutritional preparations for intravenous administration (Section IV);
    • (b) Preparations, such as tablets, chewing gum or patches (transdermal systems), intended to assist smokers to stop smoking (heading 21.06 or 38.24);
    • (c) Plasters specially calcined or finely ground for use in dentistry (heading 25.20);
    • (d) Aqueous distillates or aqueous solutions of essential oils, suitable for medicinal uses (heading 33.01);
    • (e) Preparations of headings 33.03 to 33.07, even if they have therapeutic or prophylactic properties;
    • (f) Soap or other products of heading 34.01 containing added medicaments;
    • (g) Preparations with a basis of plaster for use in dentistry (heading 34.07); or
    • (h) Blood albumin not prepared for therapeutic or prophylactic uses (heading 35.02).

Heading 30.03

Medicaments (excluding goods of heading 30.02, 30.05 or 30.06) consisting of two or more constituents which have been mixed together for therapeutic or prophylactic uses, not put up in measured doses or in forms or packings for retail sale.

Heading 30.04

Medicaments (excluding goods of heading 30.02, 30.05 or 30.06) consisting of mixed or unmixed products for therapeutic or prophylactic uses, put up in measured doses (including those in the form of transdermal administration systems) or in forms or packings for retail sale.


Guidelines and General Information

1.  A product can be classified as a medicament under heading 30.03 or 30.04 if it satisfies the following:

  • (a) meets the terms of the heading and any relative legal note; and
  • (b) evidence attests to the product’s therapeutic or prophylactic use; and
  • (c) the goods are presented as a therapeutic or prophylactic product.

Guidelines

2. The following information will help in determining the tariff classification of medicaments consistent with decisions of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) and the Federal Court of Appeal. In this memorandum the word "medicament" may include natural health products.

3.  Definitions:

ailment
an illness of a trivial nature
curative
having remedial properties, helping to cure
dietetic foods
foods prepared to meet the particular nutritional needs of people whose assimilation and metabolism of foods are modified, or for whom a particular effect is obtained by a controlled intake of foods or individual nutrients. They may be formulated for people suffering from physiological disorders or for healthy people with additional needs
disease
an unhealthy condition; a particular malady
food
substance(s) taken into the body to maintain life and growth
medicament
[a] substance used in curative treatment
prophylactic
tending to prevent disease or other misfortune
therapeutic
curative; of the healing art

4. In their decisions, the CITT and the Federal Court of Appeal made a number of observations and drew certain conclusions in order to classify medicaments in the Harmonized System (HS) as follows:

  • (a) There is no requirement in the Harmonized System’s legal notes, in the provisions of headings 30.03 and 30.04, or in the supporting Explanatory Notes, that a certain level of medicinal ingredients must be in a product in order for it to be classified as a medicament. Furthermore, there is no burden to scientifically prove that the product actually cures a disease, illness, or ailment. The terms of the heading do not require scientific proof of medical efficacy. However, the intent of headings 30.03 and 30.04 is to provide for goods that are in the nature of medicaments. In accordance with the terms of the headings, there must be some therapeutic or prophylactic (medicinal) use for the product. Simply declaring that a product is a medicament does not qualify it for classification under heading 30.03 or 30.04.
  • (b) Marketing, packaging, use, and other evidence (e.g. from a professional medical practitioner or a recognized text) that can attest to a product’s medicinal purpose (therapeutic or prophylactic) are important determining factors in classifying the product under heading 30.03 or 30.04. There must be some indication as to the use of the product in the preventing or treating of a disease, illness, or ailment.
    • Examples
      – St. John’s wort oil extract, mixed with olive oil, is used to treat such things as mild to moderate depression, tension headaches and insomnia. When imported in bulk it is classified under heading 30.03, or under heading 30.04 when put up in measured doses or in forms or packings for retail sale.
      – Re-distilled water is classified under heading 28.51. However, when put up as a medicament in measured doses or in forms or packings for retail sale, for use in the treatment of a disease, it is classified in heading 30.04.
      – Sulphur put up for retail sale for a therapeutic purpose (e.g. as a scabicide) is classified as a medicament under heading 30.04 and not under heading 25.03 or 28.02.
  • (c) Medicaments are generally not included in the common understanding of the term “food”. However, certain nutritional dietary supplements, sometimes considered food preparations, can be classified in heading 30.04 as a medicament. This is the case when the supplement is expressly for use in the prevention or treatment of a disease, illness or ailment and put up in a form specified in that heading. For example, garlic powder packaged for use in preparing food (i.e. for flavouring) is classified in heading 07.12. However, when garlic powder is prepared as tablets (measured doses), or in another form or packing for retail sale, and sold for its curative properties (e.g. in the treatment of cardiovascular disease), the garlic is classified as a medicament under heading 30.04.
  • (d) Food preparations contain mainly nutritional substances; the major ones being protein, carbohydrates and fats. Therefore, products consisting essentially of one or many nutritional substances and employed in nutritional therapy, utilizing ingredient avoidance in the attainment of a particular health-related outcome, remain considered as food preparations and should be classified under their own appropriate headings despite their acknowledged therapeutic or prophylactic effect. For example, ordinary foods and beverages, as well as products such as amino acid-based powdered formulas, containing single amino acids rather than complex proteins that facilitate digestion by infants (0 to 12 months) and children (1 to 10 years) who are unable to metabolize the long chains of amino acids that comprise the standard food proteins found in breast milk, infant formulas, soy or extensively hydrolyzed protein formulas are classified in heading 21.06.

5. Throat pastilles or cough drops can be classified under heading 30.04 when put up in measured doses or in forms or packaging for retail sale provided they contain a medicinal ingredient(s) such that each pastille or cough drop has a therapeutic or prophylactic use.

6. While national health authorities may define medicaments differently, vitamins and vitamin preparations have therapeutic and prophylactic uses. Vitamins have been proven effective in the treatment and prevention of certain diseases (e.g. vitamin C for scurvy and vitamin B12 for pernicious anaemia) and can thus be classified as a medicament. The vitamins considered as medicaments do not include the goods provided for in heading 29.36, unless they are put up in measured doses or in forms or packaging for retail sale for a therapeutic or prophylactic purpose.

7. If a vitamin, or vitamin preparation, is ingested to reverse or prevent (therapeutic or prophylactic) a deficiency that may lead to a disease, illness, or ailment, it follows that the purpose of ingesting the product is to reverse or prevent that malady. It is suggestive though not conclusive in all cases that such vitamin products, intended for human or animal use, are medicaments.

8. Declaring that a product is a medicament does not make it so for tariff classification purposes. There must be some evidence to support such a claim. Trade or technical publications issued by the manufacturer or producer can help in making a determination. Similarly, technical papers published in professional journals and authored by health practitioners may also provide information about a product’s therapeutic or prophylactic uses. This includes an opinion of an expert or specialist in the particular disease, illness or ailment.

9. Goods such as certain traditional natural health products, which are considered by some to be medicaments, are excluded from headings 30.03 and 30.04. For example, diabetic or fortified foods, food supplements for general health and well-being and tonic beverages (tonic wine with herbs) etc., are specifically excluded (see legal Note 1 to Chapter 30) even though they may be considered a medicament by their use and reputation in traditional herbal medicine.

General Information

10. If the label of a product does not provide the necessary information to determine if a product has therapeutic or prophylactic properties, or if the product’s therapeutic or prophylactic benefits are not clear, the importer must provide the necessary information.

11. Useful information on the therapeutic or prophylactic purpose of a medicament might be found in a recognized text, such as a publication mentioned in Schedule B of the Food and Drugs Act the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (CPS), the Merck Index, or a recognized peer reviewed medical paper, etc. Recognized peer reviewed papers are articles in recognized journals of medicine, such as the International Journal of Medicine, which have been reviewed by a qualified individual. Not all technical papers published in recognized journals are peer reviewed. Papers that are not peer reviewed may need verification.

12. For this policy, the meaning of the term “professional medical practitioner” is broadly defined. The term refers not only to physicians, but also to chiropractors, dentists, naturopaths, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists, etc.

13. While conditions such as tension headaches, insomnia, gastrointestinal disorder, external wounds and other maladies may not be considered true diseases or illnesses, they constitute various forms of disorders or ailments.

14. Additional information, such as drug product monographs, can be found on Health Canada’s Web site. Drug product monographs identify the recommended use or purpose for ingredients based on Health Canada’s Natural Health Products Directorate’s evaluation of the safety and efficacy data.

15. In view of the CITT decisions upon which this policy is based, Canada is not able to apply the HS Explanatory Notes, relating to throat pastilles, and three Compendium Opinions, as follows:

  • HS Explanatory Notes:

    Heading 17.04 (v), page IV-1704-1;
    Heading 30.04, page VI-3004-2
  • Compendium of Classification Opinions (CCO):

    1704.90 (3) Throat pastilles or cough drops consisting essentially of sugars and flavouring agents, e.g., menthol, eucalyptol or peppermint oil, (without other active ingredients).

    2106.90 (22) Vitamin C preparation (500 mg per tablet) put up for retail sale in a container holding 130 tablets, containing ascorbic acid, corn starch, cross-linked carboxymethyl cellulose sodium, cellulose, rose hips, stearic acid, lemon bioflavonoid complex, magnesium stearate and acerola. According to the label, the product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

    2106.90 (24) Cough syrup in the form of an aqueous solution of an alcoholic strength by volume of 1.8 % vol, put up in a container of 100 ml (130 g). The product consists of honey, plant tinctures, glucose syrup, invert sugar syrup, cherry aroma, rose oil, sodium benzoate and purified water. According to the label, the product is recommended to be used against respiratory catarrhal diseases and difficulty of bronchial respiratory catarrhal diseases and difficulty of bronchial mucus secretion. The content of active medicinal ingredients is, however, not sufficient to provide a recognisable and clinically proven therapeutic or prophylactic effect.

16. While the Harmonized System Committee of the World Customs Organization has generally classified natural health products in heading 21.06, in 2012 they classified a product based on hops and valerian in heading 30.04; this is reflected in:

  • CCO:

    3004.90 (2) Medicament in the form of pills, consisting of plant extracts (of valerian root and hop cones), maltodextrin, colourings and excipients. According to the label, the product is recommended to be used as a remedy against agitation (two to four pills daily) or sleep disorders (one pill daily). The product contains a sufficient quantity of active ingredients to provide curative or prophylactic effect against disorders such as insomnia or sleeplessness. It is put up for retail sale in packages of, e.g., 60 pills.

Additional Information

17.   For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

18.   For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 - 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
F258860/HS 3004.90
Legislative reference
Other references
D11-11-3
World Customs Organization
Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS) Fifth edition (2012)
Superseded memorandum D
D10-14-30 dated October 13, 2006
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des médicaments, y compris les produits de santé naturels

Mémorandum D10-14-30

Ottawa, le 27 mai 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (91 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour en vue de tenir compte de la nouvelle version du Tarif des douanes, de la jurisprudence supplémentaire, d’une décision prises par le Comité du Système harmonisé de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes relative aux médicaments et en vue de tenir compte des modifications apportées à la structure organisationnelle de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) en matière de classement tarifaire des médicaments, y compris les produits de santé naturels, dans les positions 30.03 et 30.04 du Tarif des douanes. Cette politique est fondée sur la jurisprudence résultant des décisions relatives au classement des médicaments qui ont été rendues par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur et par la Cour d’appel fédérale.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Notes légales

Section VI

Note 1.

  • a) Tout produit (autre que les minerais de métaux radioactifs), répondant aux spécifications du libellé de l’un des nos 28.44 ou 28.45, devra être classé sous cette position, et non dans une autre position de la Nomenclature.
  • b) Sous réserve des dispositions du paragraphe a) ci-dessus, tout produit répondant aux spécifications du libellé de l’un des nos 28.43 ou 28.46, devra être classé dans cette position et non dans une autre position de la présente Section.

Note 2.

  • Sous réserve des dispositions de la Note 1 ci-dessus, tout produit qui, en raison, soit de sa présentation sous forme de doses, soit de son conditionnement pour la vente au détail, relève de l’un des nos 30.04, 30.05, 30.06, 32.12, 33.03, 33.04, 33.05, 33.06, 33.07, 35.06, 37.07 ou 38.08, devra être classé sous cette position et non dans une autre position de la Nomenclature.

Chapitre 30

Note 1.

  • 1. Le présent Chapitre ne comprend pas :
    • a) les aliments diététiques, aliments enrichis, aliments pour diabétiques, compléments alimentaires, boissons toniques et eaux minérales, autres que les préparations nutritives administrées par voie intraveineuse (Section IV);
    • b) les préparations, telles que des comprimés, des gommes à mâcher ou des timbres ou rondelles autocollants (produits administrés par voie percutanée), destinées à aider les fumeurs qui s’efforcent de cesser de fumer (numéro tarifaire 21.06 ou 38.24);
    • c) les plâtres spécialement calcinés ou finement broyés pour l’art dentaire (no 25.20);
    • d) les eaux distillées aromatiques et solutions aqueuses d’huiles essentielles, médicinales (no 33.01);
    • e) les préparations des nos 33.03 à 33.07, même si elles ont des propriétés thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques;
    • f) les savons et autres produits du no 34.01 additionnés de substances médicamenteuses;
    • g) les préparations à base de plâtre pour l’art dentaire (no 34.07);;
    • h) l’albumine du sang non préparée en vue d’usages thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques (no 35.02).

Position 30.03

Médicaments (à l’exclusion des produits des nos 30.02, 30.05 ou 30.06) constitués par des produits mélangés entre eux, préparés à des fins thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques, mais ni présentés sous forme de doses, ni conditionnés pour la vente au détail.

Position 30.04

Médicaments (à l’exclusion des produits des nos 30.02, 30.05 ou 30.06) constitués par des produits mélangés ou non mélangés, préparés à des fins thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques, présentés sous forme de doses (y compris ceux destinés à être administrés par voie percutanée) ou conditionnés pour la vente au détail.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.  Un produit peut être classé à titre de médicament dans les nos 30.03 ou 30.04 s’il répond aux critères suivants :

  • a) il remplit les conditions précisées dans la position et dans toute note légale s’y rapportant; et
  • b) des éléments de preuve attestent de la valeur thérapeutique ou prophylactique du produit; et
  • c) les marchandises sont présentées comme un produit thérapeutique ou prophylactique.

Lignes directrices

2. Les renseignements présentés ci-après peuvent aider à déterminer le classement tarifaire des médicaments en fonction des décisions antérieures du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) et de la Cour d’appel fédérale. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, la définition de « médicament » peut comprendre les produits de santé naturels.

3.  Définitions :

aliment
toute substance susceptible d’être digérée, de servir à la nutrition d’un être vivant
aliments diététiques
Aliments préparés pour répondre aux besoins nutritionnels particuliers des personnes chez lesquelles l’assimilation et la métabolisation des aliments sont modifiées ou pour lesquelles un effet particulier est obtenu en contrôlant l’absorption d’aliments ou de nutriments particuliers. Ils peuvent être composés pour des personnes souffrant de troubles physiologiques ou pour des personnes en bonne santé ayant des besoins supplémentaires.
curatif
qui est propre à la guérison
maladie
altération organique ou fonctionnelle considérée dans son évolution, et comme une entité définissable.
malaise
sensation pénible (souvent vague) d’un trouble dans les fonctions physiologiques
médicament
substance active employée pour prévenir ou traiter une affection ou une manifestation morbide.
prophylactique
qui prévient une maladie
thérapeutique
qui concerne l’ensemble des actions et pratiques destinées à guérir…; apte à guérir

4. Dans leurs décisions, le TCCE et la Cour d’appel fédérale ont fait un certain nombre d’observations et ont tiré certaines conclusions concernant le classement des médicaments dans le SH, comme suit :

  • a) Aucune disposition des notes légales du Système harmonisé, des positions 30.03 et 30.04 ou des Notes explicatives connexes n’exige qu’un produit contienne une certaine quantité d’ingrédients médicinaux pour être classé comme médicament. En outre, selon le libellé de la position, aucune preuve scientifique de l’efficacité du produit ou de son aptitude à vraiment guérir une maladie, une affection ou un malaise n’est exigée. Toutefois, les positions 30.03 et 30.04 visent spécifiquement les marchandises qui sont de nature médicamenteuse. Il est précisé, dans le libellé de ces positions, que le produit doit avoir été préparé à des fins thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques (médicinales). Le simple fait de déclarer qu’il s’agit d’un médicament ne suffirait pas à justifier le classement d’un produit à la position 30.03 ou 30.04.
  • b) Les éléments de preuve se rapportant à la commercialisation, au conditionnement, à l’utilisation et à d’autres aspects du produit (p. ex. le témoignage d’un médecin praticien ou un texte reconnu) et montrant que le produit est vendu à des fins médicinales (thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques) sont des facteurs déterminants pour le classement à la position 30.03 ou 30.04. Il doit y avoir une indication à l’effet que ce produit peut servir à prévenir ou à traiter une maladie, une affection ou un malaise.
    • Exemples
      – L’extrait d’huile de millepertuis de St-John, mélangé à de l’huile d’olive, est utilisé pour traiter des affections telles que la dépression de gravité légère à modérée, les céphalées de tension et l’insomnie. Lorsque ce produit est importé en vrac, il peut être classé sous la position 30.03 ou 30.04 s’il est présenté sous forme de doses ou conditionné pour la vente au détail.
      – L’eau redistillée est normalement classée à la position 28.51, mais lorsqu’elle est présentée sous forme de doses ou conditionnée pour la vente au détail comme un médicament devant servir au traitement d’une maladie, elle peut être classée à la position 30.04.
      – Le souffre, lorsqu’il est conditionné pour la vente au détail et produit à des fins thérapeutiques (comme scabicide, par exemple), est classé comme médicament à la position 30.04, et non à la position 25.03 ou 28.02.
  • c) Les médicaments ne sont pas habituellement inclus dans la définition courante du terme « aliment ». Toutefois, certains compléments alimentaires ou nutritionnels, parfois considérés comme des préparations alimentaires, peuvent être classés à la position 30.04 en tant que médicaments. C’est le cas des suppléments devant servir expressément à la prévention ou au traitement d’une maladie, d’une affection ou d’un malaise, lorsqu’ils sont présentés sous une forme précisée dans le libellé de la position. Par exemple, l’ail en poudre devant servir à la fabrication de produits alimentaires (comme substance aromatisante) relève de la position 07.12. Toutefois, lorsqu’il est présenté sous forme de comprimés (doses) ou conditionné pour la vente au détail et vendu pour ses propriétés curatives (p. ex. traitement des maladies cardiovasculaires), il peut être classé en tant que médicament à la position 30.04.
  • d) Les préparations alimentaires contiennent principalement des substances nutritives, les principales étant les protéines, les glucides et les matières grasses. Alors, les produits composés principalement d’une ou de plusieurs substances nutritives utilisées dans le cadre d’une thérapie nutritive, éviter un ingrédient quelconque en vue d’atteindre un résultat particulier lié à la santé, sont toujours considérés des préparations alimentaires et doivent être classés dans la position appropriée et ce, malgré leur effet thérapeutique ou prophylactique reconnu. Par exemple, les aliments et boissons ordinaires, ainsi que les produits telles des préparations en poudre à base d’aminoacide, contenant des aminoacides simples au lieu de protéines complexes qui facilitent la digestion chez les bébés (0 à 12 mois) et les enfants (1 à 10 ans) qui ne peuvent métaboliser les longues chaînes d’aminoacides qui composent les protéines alimentaires standards qui se trouvent dans le lait maternel, les préparations pour nourrissons, les préparations à base de soja ou de protéines hydrolysées, se classent dans la position 21.06.

5. Les pastilles pour la gorge ou contre la toux peuvent être classées à la position 30.04 lorsqu’elles sont présentées sous forme de doses ou conditionnées pour la vente au détail à condition que chaque pastille contienne au moins un ingrédient médicinal en faisant un produit thérapeutique ou prophylactique.

6. Même si les autorités nationales en matière de santé donnent une définition différente du terme « médicament », il n’y a pas de doute quant à l’effet thérapeutique ou prophylactique des vitamines et des préparations vitaminiques. Il a été établi que les vitamines pouvaient traiter et prévenir efficacement certaines maladies (p. ex. le scorbut, dans le cas de la vitamine C, et l’anémie pernicieuse, dans le cas de la vitamine B12). Elles peuvent donc être classées comme médicament. Les vitamines qui sont considérées comme des médicaments ne comprennent pas les marchandises relevant de la position 29.36, à moins qu’elles soient préparées à des fins thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques et présentées sous forme de doses ou conditionnée pour la vente au détail.

7. Lorsqu’une vitamine ou une préparation vitaminique est ingérée dans le but de prévenir une déficience qui pourrait être la cause d’une maladie, d’une affection ou d’un malaise, ou dans le but d’y remédier (à des fins thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques), il s’ensuit que l’ingestion d’un tel produit vise à prévenir ou à guérir une maladie, ce qui indique qu’il s’agit d’un médicament destiné à l’usage auprès des humains ou des animaux, même si les essais ne sont pas concluants.

8. Il ne suffit pas de déclarer qu’un produit est un médicament pour qu’il soit considéré comme tel. Cette déclaration doit être appuyée par des éléments de preuve, par exemple, les publications techniques ou spécialisées du fabricant ou du producteur qui peuvent faciliter le classement. Il en va de même pour les études techniques de professionnels de la santé qui ont été publiées dans une revue professionnelle et qui pourraient fournir des renseignements sur l’usage thérapeutique ou prophylactique d’un produit, ou l’avis d’un spécialiste d’une maladie, d’une affection ou d’un malaise particulier.

9. Plusieurs produits que certains considèrent comme des médicaments, tel qu’un produit de santé naturel traditionnel, sont exclus des positions 30.03 et 30.04. Par exemple, les aliments pour diabétiques, les aliments enrichis et les compléments alimentaires contribuant à la santé et au bien-être général ainsi que les boissons toniques (vins médicinaux à base d’herbes), etc., sont expressément exclus (voir la Note légale 1 du Chapitre 30), même s’ils peuvent être considérés comme des médicaments à cause de leur utilisation et de leur réputation dans le domaine de la phytothérapie traditionnelle.

Renseignements généraux

10. Si l’étiquette d’un produit ne fournit pas les renseignements nécessaires pour déterminer s’il est destiné à un usage thérapeutique ou prophylactique ou si les propriétés thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques du produit ne sont pas évidentes, l’importateur doit fournir les renseignements nécessaires.

11. Un texte reconnu, telles que les publications mentionnées à l’annexe B de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, le Compendium des produits et spécialités pharmaceutiques (CPSP), le Merck Index et les articles publiés dans une revue médicale reconnue telle que le Journal international de médicine, qui sont examinés par un spécialiste en la matière, etc., peut aussi fournir des renseignements utiles sur les propriétés thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques d’un produit. Puisque les documents techniques publiés dans des périodiques reconnus ne sont pas toujours revus, une vérification pourrait être nécessaire dans le cas de ceux qui n’ont pas fait l’objet d’une telle révision.

12. En ce qui a trait à la présente politique, la définition de « médecin praticien » a été élargie pour inclure non seulement les médecins, mais également les chiropraticiens, les dentistes, les naturopathes, les infirmières, les pharmaciens, les physiothérapeutes, etc.

13. Même si les céphalées causées par la tension, l’insomnie, les troubles gastro-intestinaux, les blessures externes et d’autres problèmes de ce genre peuvent ne pas être considérés comme de véritables maladies ou affections, il s’agit de troubles ou de malaises.

14. D’autres renseignements, tels que les monographies de produits pharmaceutiques, sont publiés sur le site Web de Santé Canada. Ces monographies indiquent l’usage ou l’utilisation recommandée pour les différents ingrédients, selon les résultats de l’évaluation effectuée par la Direction des produits de santé naturels de Santé Canada pour en déterminer la sécurité et l’efficacité.

15. En raison des décisions du TCCE sur lesquelles cette politique est fondée, le Canada n’est pas en mesure d’appliquer les notes explicatives du SH portant sur les pastilles pour la gorge et trois avis du Recueil des Avis de classement, comme suit :

  • Notes explicatives du SH :

    Position 17.04 (v), page IV-1704-1;
    Position 30.04, page VI-3004-2
  • Recueil des avis de classement (RAC) :

    1704.90 (3) Pastilles pour la gorge ou bonbons contre la toux constitués essentiellement par du sucre et des agents aromatisants, par exemple, menthol, eucalyptol ou essence de menthe (sans autres ingrédients actifs)

    2106.90 (22) Préparation à base de vitamine C (500 mg par comprimé), conditionnée pour la vente au détail dans un flacon contenant 130 comprimés, composée d’acide ascorbique, d’amidon de maïs, de sodium carboxyméthylcellulose rétifié, de cellulose, de cynorhodon (fruits de l’églantier), d’acide stéarique, d’un composé bioflavonoïde de citron, de stéarate de magnésium et d’acérola. D’après l’étiquette apposée sur les flacons, le produit en cause n’est pas destiné à diagnostiquer, traiter ou prévenir une quelconque maladie.

    2106.90 (24) Sirop antitussif sous la forme d’une solution aqueuse d’un titre alcoométrique volumique de 1,8 % vol, conditionné en flacon de 100 ml (130 g). Le produit se compose de miel, de teintures de plantes, de sirop de glucose, de sirop de sucre inverti, d’arôme de cerise, d’essence de rose, de benzoate de sodium et d’eau purifiée. D’après les renseignements figurant sur son étiquette, le produit est recommandé contre les catarrhes bronchiques et les insuffisances de sécrétions bronchiques. La teneur en ingrédients actifs médicinaux n’est toutefois pas suffisante pour démontrer un effet thérapeutique ou prophylactique reconnaissable et cliniquement prouvé..

16. Bien que le Comité du Système harmonisé de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes classe habituellement les produits de santé naturels sous la position 21.06, en 2012, il a classé un produit à base de cônes de houblon et de valériane dans la position 30.04. Cela est tenu compte dans :

  • RAC :

    3004.90 (2) Médicament sous forme de dragées, contenant des extraits végétaux (de racines de valériane et de cônes de houblon), de la maltodextrine, des colorants et des excipients. Selon l’étiquette, l’utilisation du produit est recommandée pour traiter l’agitation (deux à quatre dragées par jour) ou les troubles de l’endormissement (une dragée par jour). Le produit contient une quantité suffisante d’ingrédients actifs pour avoir un effet curatif ou prophylactique contre les troubles tels que l’insomnie ou le manque de sommeil. Il est conditionné pour la vente au détail dans un contenant, par exemple, de 60 dragées.

Renseignements supplémentaires

17.  Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

18.  Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l’administration centrale
F258860/SH 3004.90
Autres références
D11-11-3
Organisation mondiale des douanes
Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises (SH) 5e édition (2012)
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-14-30 daté le 13 octobre 2006
Date de modification :