Tariff Classification of Fire Fighting Vehicles

Memorandum D10-14-26

Ottawa, May 09, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (48 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the classification of fire fighting vehicles and other specialized vehicles operated by fire departments and fire services.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

87.05           Special purpose motor vehicles, other than those principally designed for the transport of persons or goods (for example, breakdown lorries (wreckers), crane lorries (mobile cranes), fire fighting vehicles, concrete mixer lorries (concrete-mixers), road sweeper lorries (road sweepers), spraying lorries (spraying vehicles), mobile workshops, mobile radiological units).

8705.30.00  Fire fighting vehicles


Guidelines and General Information

Fire Fighting Vehicles

1.   Tariff item 8705.30.00, which provides for fire fighting vehicles, is limited to those vehicles that are specifically constructed, adapted, or equipped with fire-fighting devices. They must be for direct use in the actual process of extinguishing fires.

2.   Examples of vehicles classified under tariff item 8705.30.00 include pumper units/fire engines, airport crash trucks with halon/dry chemical fire-fighting systems, and aerial ladder trucks with permanently mounted pumps for extinguishing fires.

Other Specialized Vehicles

3.   Vehicles used to transport personnel or equipment such as squad trucks, tankers, and ladder trucks without pumps are classified under headings 87.02, 87.03, or 87.04 depending on their nature at the time of importation.

4.   Emergency rescue trucks, generator trucks, flood light trucks, and other special purpose vehicles are classified under a tariff item of heading 87.05, not including tariff item 8705.30.00.

5.   The fact that a vehicle is operated by a fire department or fire service is not sufficient to have it classified under tariff item 8705.30.00.

Additional Information

6.   For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an Advance Ruling.  Information on how to obtain an Advance Ruling may be found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

7.   For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 - 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
HS 8705.30
Legislative references :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-14-26 dated January 1, 1998
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des voitures de lutte contre l’incendie

Mémorandum D10-14-26

Ottawa, le 9 mai 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (51 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique le classement tarifaire de voitures de lutte contre l’incendie et des véhicules automobiles à usages spéciaux utilisés par les services de lutte contre les incendies.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

87.05           Véhicules automobiles à usages spéciaux, autres que ceux principalement conçus pour le transport de personnes ou de marchandises (dépanneuses, camions-grues, voitures de lutte contre l’incendie, camions-bétonnières, voitures balayeuses, voitures épandeuses, voitures-ateliers, voitures radiologiques, par exemple).

8705.30.00  Voitures de lutte contre l’incendie

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Voitures de lutte contre l’incendie

1.   Le numéro tarifaire 8705.30.00, lequel couvre les voitures de lutte contre l’incendie, ne vise que les véhicules de construction spéciale ou adaptés ou équipés pour la lutte contre les incendies. Ces voitures doivent servir directement à la lutte contre les incendies.

2.   Des exemples de voitures classées sous le numéro tarifaire 8705.30.00 incluent les voitures-pompes, les véhicules aéroportuaires à système au halon ou à poudre chimique et les voitures-échelles munies de pompes installées en permanence pour la lutte contre les incendies.

Voitures à usages spéciaux

3.   Les véhicules utilisés pour transporter les personnes ou le matériel comme les fourgonnettes, les camions citernes et les voitures-échelles non munies de pompes, sont classés dans les positions 87.02, 87.03 ou 87.04 selon la nature de la voiture au moment de l’importation.

4.   Les véhicules de secours, les voitures munies de génératrices, les automobiles-projecteurs et les autres véhicules à usages spéciaux sont classés dans un numéro tarifaire 87.05, autre que le numéro tarifaire 8705.30.00.

5.   Le fait qu’un véhicule soit utilisé par un service de lutte contre les incendies n’est pas suffisant pour que le véhicule soit classé dans le numéro tarifaire 8705.30.00.

Renseignements supplémentaires

6.   Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

7.   Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l’administration centrale
SH 8705.30
Références légales
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-14-26 daté le 1er janvier 1998
Date de modification :