Tariff Classification of Interchangeable Air Springs for Use as Parts on Both Motor Vehicles and Trailers/Semi-trailers

Memorandum D10-14-25

Ottawa, July 2, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (47 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the classification of interchangeable air springs.


Customs Tariff

Parts and accessories of the motor vehicles of heading Nos. 87.01 to 87.05.
Suspension systems and parts thereof (including shock absorbers)
- - Other
Trailers and semi-trailers; other vehicles, not mechanically propelled; parts thereof.

Guidelines and General Information


1.   The following definitions apply to the memorandum:

"Air springs"
are parts of suspension systems for road tractors, heavy duty trucks, trailers, and semi-trailers. The two basic types are convoluted air springs and reversible sleeve air springs.
 "Convoluted air springs"
consist of a rubber air bellow that is squeezed in the middle by a girdle loop. Steel or aluminum bead plates or mounting plates are attached at both ends of the air bellow. An air inlet is located in the upper plate to permit the flow of air in or out of the air bellow.
"Reversible sleeve air springs"
consist of a rubber bellow with a steel upper bead plate that features a built-in air inlet. At the base of the air bellow is a piston made of either steel, aluminum, plastic, or hard rubber. The piston is attached to the air bellow by means of a steel bellow end enclosure.

Harmonized System Notes

Legal Note 3 (Section XVII)

2. References in Chapter 86 to 88 to "parts" and "accessories" do not apply to parts which are not suitable for use solely or principally with the articles of those chapters. A part or accessory which answers to a description in two or more of the headings of those chapters is to be classified under that heading which corresponds to the principal use of that part or accessory.

Explanatory Note (III)(B)(2) (Section XVII)

3. Certain parts and accessories are suitable for use on more than one type of vehicle (motor cars, aircraft, motorcycles, etc.); examples of such goods include brakes, steering systems, wheels, axles, etc. Such parts and accessories are to be classified in the heading relating to the parts and accessories of the vehicles with which they are principally used.

Administrative Policy

4. Interchangeable air springs designed for use on road tractors, heavy duty trucks, trailers, and semi-trailers are to be classified under tariff item No. 8708.80.99 as parts for suspension systems for motor vehicles.

5. Generally, interchangeable air springs, which are designed for road tractors and heavy duty trucks, are also used on trailers and semi-trailers. It has been determined that the majority of interchangeable air springs are used on motor vehicles of tariff item No. 8701.20.00, and heading Nos. 87.04 and 87.05, rather than for trailers and semi-trailers of heading No. 87.16. Accordingly, it was determined that such air springs should be classified under tariff item No. 8708.80.99, which provides for parts for suspension systems of motor vehicles according to Legal Note 3 and Explanatory Note (III)(B)(2) to Section XVII.

6. Air springs that are designed solely for trailers, semi-trailers, and other non-mechanically propelled vehicles of heading No. 87.16 are to be classified under the appropriate tariff item of subheading No. 8716.90.

7. Rubber air bellows, when imported separately, are classified under tariff item No. 4016.95.90 as other inflatable articles of vulcanized rubber other than hard rubber.

Additional Information

8. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

9. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.


Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
HS 8708.80, HS 8716.90, 4016.95
Legislative references :
Customs Tariff, tariff item No. 8708.80.99 and subheading
No. 8716.90
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-14-25 dated January 5, 2007
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des ressorts pneumatiques interchangeables devant servir de parties sur les véhicules automobiles et les remorques ou semi-remorques

Mémorandum D10-14-25

Ottawa, le 2 juillet 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (50 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.


Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique le classement tarifaire des ressorts pneumatiques interchangeables.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

87.08
Parties et accessoires des véhicules automobiles des nos 87.01 à 87.05.
8708.80
- Systèmes de suspension et leurs parties (y compris les amortisseurs de suspension)
- - Autres
8708.80.99
Autres
87.16
Remorques et semi-remorques pour tous véhicules; autres véhicules non automobiles; leurs parties.
8716.90
- Parties

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

1. Les définitions suivantes s'appliquent à ce mémorandum :

« ressorts pneumatiques »
font partie des systèmes de suspension pour les tracteurs routiers, les camions lourds, les remorques et les semi-remorques. Les deux types fondamentaux sont les ressorts pneumatiques circonvolutés et les ressorts pneumatiques en manchon réversible.
« ressorts pneumatiques circonvolutés »
consistent en un soufflet pneumatique en caoutchouc enfoncé au milieu au moyen d'une gaine. Des plaques de la baguette en acier ou en aluminium ou des plaques de montage sont fixées aux deux extrémités du soufflet pneumatique. Il y a une prise d'air dans la plaque supérieure pour permettre la circulation d'air à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur du soufflet pneumatique.
« ressorts pneumatiques en manchon réversible »
consistent en un soufflet en caoutchouc avec une plaque de la baguette supérieure en acier qui comporte une prise d'air incorporée. Au bas du soufflet pneumatique, il y a un piston fait d'acier, d'aluminium, de plastique ou de caoutchouc durci. Le piston est fixé aux soufflets pneumatiques au moyen d'une fermeture du soufflet en acier.

Notes du Système harmonisé

Note légale 3 (Section XVII)

2. Au sens des Chapitres 86 à 88, les références aux parties ou aux accessoires ne couvrent pas les parties ou accessoires qui ne sont pas exclusivement ou principalement destinés aux véhicules ou articles de la présente Section. Lorsqu'une partie ou un accessoire est susceptible de répondre à la fois aux spécifications de deux ou plusieurs positions de la Section, il doit être classé dans la position qui correspond à son usage principal.

Note explicative (III)B)2) (Section XVII)

3. Certaines parties et certains accessoires, tels que freins, dispositifs de direction, roues, essieux, sont susceptibles d'être utilisés indifféremment sur des voitures automobiles, sur des véhicules aériens, sur des motocycles, etc. Ces parties et accessoires doivent être classés dans la position relative aux parties et accessoires de véhicules sur lesquels ils sont principalement utilisés.

Politique administrative

4. Les ressorts pneumatiques interchangeables qui sont conçus pour qu'on les utilise sur des tracteurs routiers, des camions lourds, des remorques et des semi-remorques se classent sous le numéro tarifaire 8708.80.99 en tant que parties des systèmes de suspension pour véhicules automobiles.

5. En général, les ressorts pneumatiques interchangeables qui sont conçus pour les tracteurs routiers et les camions lourds sont également utilisés sur les remorques et les semi-remorques. Il a été établi que la plupart des ressorts pneumatiques interchangeables sont utilisés sur les véhicules automobiles du numéro tarifaire 8701.20.00 et des positions 87.04 et 87.05, plutôt que sur les remorques et semi-remorques de la position 87.16. Par conséquent, il a été déterminé que de tels ressorts pneumatiques doivent être classés sous le numéro tarifaire 8708.80.99, lequel prévoit les parties des systèmes de suspension des véhicules automobiles, et ce, conformément à la Note légale 3 et à la Note explicative (III)B)2) de la Section XVII.

6. Les ressorts pneumatiques qui sont conçus uniquement pour les remorques, les semi-remorques et d'autres véhicules non automobiles de la position 87.16 doivent être classés sous le numéro tarifaire pertinent de la sous-position 8716.90.

7. Les soufflets pneumatiques en caoutchouc, lorsqu'importés séparément, se classent sous le numéro tarifaire 4016.95.90 comme autres articles gonflables en caoutchouc vulcanisé non durci.

Renseignements supplémentaires

8. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

9. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 8708.80, SH 8716.90, 4016.95
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes, numéro tarifaire 8708.80.99 et sous-position 8716.90
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D10-14-25 daté le 5 janvier 2007
Date de modification :