Museum and Other Exhibit Articles (Tariff Item No. 9818.00.00)

Memorandum D10-14-15

Ottawa, April 23, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (50 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • This memorandum has been updated in order to clarify the record keeping requirements of tariff item 9818.00.00.

This memorandum outlines the certification requirements of tariff item No. 9818.00.00.

Legislation

Tariff item No. 9818.00.00 reads as follows:

Articles imported by or for public museums, public libraries, universities, colleges or schools, to be placed in such institutions as exhibits, accompanied by a certificate, in duplicate, in the prescribed form with the information to be provided with the form, and signed by a responsible official of the institution in which the articles are to be exhibited.


Guidelines and General Information

1.   The attached Appendix is a sample of the certification wording that must accompany any museum or other exhibit articles imported under the duty free benefit of tariff item No. 9818.00.00.

2.   A complete inventory of all goods imported in the shipment must be attached to the signed certification. Each article on the list is to be numbered in consecutive order and a detailed description of the good provided.

3.   The certification must be signed by a responsible official of the institution in which the articles are to be exhibited.

4.   Once signed certification has been provided, the institution is responsible to ensure that the imported articles are not diverted or disposed of for uses other than to be exhibited in a public museum or other specified institution.

5.   As per Section 32.2 of the Customs Act, if the articles are diverted, a correction to the original declaration must be filed with the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) and any applicable duties and taxes paid.

6.   For information regarding corrections to declarations of tariff classification, please consult Memorandum D11-6-6, “Reason to Believe” and Self-adjustments to Declarations of Origin, Tariff Classification and Value for Duty, which can be found on the CBSA Web site.

Additional Information

7.   For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an Advance Ruling. Information on how to obtain an Advance Ruling may be found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

8.   For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Certification of Goods Imported Under Tariff Item 9818.00.00

This certification is with respect to the _______________ (quantity) articles numbered consecutively and described on the attached inventory sheet, imported by _______________ (name of importer) are for the _______________ (name of institution) of _______________ (address)

I certify that the goods listed and described on the attached inventory sheet will be placed as exhibits in the institution named above and will not be diverted or disposed of for other use without the correction to the original customs accounting documents, presented at time of import accounting.

_____________________
Name and title of official

____________________
Signature of official

____________________
Date

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
HS 9818.00
Legislative references :
Customs Act
Customs Tariff, tariff item No. 9818.00.00
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-14-15 dated July 31, 1998
Date modified:

Articles qui doivent être exposés dans les musées ou autres institutions (numéro tarifaire 9818.00.00)

Mémorandum D10-14-15

Ottawa, le 23 avril 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (54 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de préciser les exigences en matière de tenue des dossiers du numéro tarifaire 9818.00.00.

Le présent mémorandum énonce les exigences en matière de certification en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9818.00.00.

Législation

Le numéro tarifaire 9818.00.00 est libellé comme suit :

Articles importés par ou pour les musées ou les bibliothèques publiques, les universités, les collèges ou écoles, et qui doivent être exposés dans ces institutions, s’ils sont accompagnés d’un formulaire réglementaire en deux exemplaires, contenant les renseignements devant être fournis avec le formulaire, et signé par un administrateur de l’institution où les articles doivent être exposés.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.   L’annexe ci-jointe est un exemplaire de la formulation d’un certificat qui doit accompagner tout article qui doit être exposé dans les musées ou autres institutions importé en franchise en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9818.00.00.

2.   Une liste complète de toutes les marchandises importées comprises dans l’expédition doit être jointe au certificat signé. Chaque article qui se trouve dans la liste doit être numéroté consécutivement et une description détaillée des marchandises doit être fournie.

3.   Un administrateur responsable de l’institution qui exposera les articles doit signer le certificat.

4.   Une fois que le certificat signé ait été fourni, l’institution est tenue de s’assurer que les articles importés ne seront pas affectés à d’autres fins que celle de l’exposition dans un musée ou une autre institution.

5.   Conformément à l’article 32.2 de la Loi sur les douanes, si les articles sont affectés à d’autres fins, vous êtes tenus de présenter à l’ASFC la déclaration originale corrigée et de payer tous les droits et taxes applicables.

6.   Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les corrections apportées aux déclarations du classement tarifaire, consultez le Mémorandum D11-6-6, « Motifs de croire » et autorajustements des déclarations concernant l’origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane.

Renseignements supplémentaires

7.   Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

8.   Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Certificat pour les marchandises importées en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9818.00.00

Le présent certificat concerne les _______________ (quantité) articles numérotés consécutivement et désignés sur la liste ci-jointe, importés par _______________ (nom de l’importateur) et destinés à ._______________ (nom de l’institution) de _______________ (adresse).
J’atteste que les marchandises énumérées et décrites sur la liste ci-jointe seront exposées dans l’institution susmentionnée et ne seront pas affectées à d’autres fins avant que le document de déclaration en détail original, présenté au moment de l’importation, ne soit modifié.

__________________________
Nom et titre de l’administrateur

__________________________
Signature de l’administrateur

__________________________
Date

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l’administration centrale
SH 9818.00
Références légales
Loi sur les douanes
Tarif des douanes, numéro tarifaire 9818.00.00
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-14-15 daté le 31 juillet 1998
Date de modification :