Canada Border Services Agency
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Notice

Information for highway carriers on becoming an Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) client

With the implementation of eManifest, trade partners will be required to electronically submit, for risk assessment purposes, advance trade data to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) before goods arrive at the border, and within prescribed time frames.

On October 31, 2010, EDI transmission options became available for highway carriers who transport commercial goods into Canada to transmit cargo and conveyance data to the CBSA.

Highway carriers and their service providers who choose to use one of the EDI options must apply to the eManifest Technical Support Unit (TSU) by completing the the BSF691 — Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Application for Advance Commercial Information (ACI) form. Some EDI methods require testing with the eManifest Technical Support Unit which can take a minimum of two to three months to complete. A list of EDI software/service providers who have completed testing is available.

This application form should not be used by highway carriers who intend to use the eManifest Portal.

Note: Effective April 1, 2011, all highway carriers must have a unique, CBSA-issued carrier code, and the generic itinerant highway carrier code 77YY is no longer being accepted. For further information on the process for obtaining a carrier code, visit the Commercial Carriers section of the CBSA Web site.

Send the completed EDI client application form directly to the eManifest TSU:

Mail: eManifest Technical Support Unit
250 Tremblay Rd, 6th Floor
Ottawa, ON K1A 0L8
E-mail: tsu.ust@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca
Fax: 613-952-9979

Once the application has been received and processed, the CBSA will contact the client to explain the next steps. In some cases, client testing is required to ensure that electronic communication between the client and the CBSA is fully functional prior to data transmission.

For further information on client testing and to obtain a copy of the testing package, contact the eManifest TSU:

E-mail: tsu.ust@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca
Phone:

1-888-957-7224, press 2 (from within Canada and the United States, toll-free, available 24/7)

Adopt Now

The CBSA encourages clients to adopt eManifest requirements before they become mandatory. Being an early adopter allows clients to benefit from more time to fine-tune business processes and correct problems before requirements become mandatory and regulations come into force.

Manifeste électronique
Renseignements pour les transporteurs routiers pour devenir un client de l'échange de données informatisé (EDI)

Avec la mise en œuvre du Manifeste électronique, les clients sont tenus, à des fins d'évaluation des risques, d'envoyer électroniquement leurs données commerciales préalables à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) dans les délais prescrits, avant que les marchandises n'arrivent à la frontière.

Le 31 octobre 2010, des options de transmission EDI ont été mises à la disposition des transporteurs routiers, qui transportent des marchandises commerciales au Canada, pour transmettre des données sur le fret et sur les moyens de transport à l'ASFC.

Les transporteurs routiers et leurs fournisseurs de services qui choisiront l'une des options d'EDI devront faire une demande d'admission à l'Unité des services techniques aux clients commerciaux (USTCC) en remplissant le formulaire BSF691 - Demande d'échange de données informatisées (EDI) pour information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales (IPEC). Certaines méthodes EDI exigent une mise à l'essai avec l'USTCC, ce qui peut prendre de deux à trois mois au minimum à compléter. Une liste des fournisseurs de logiciels / services EDI qui ont terminé leur mise à l'essai est disponible.

Ce formulaire de demande ne doit pas être utilisée par les transporteurs routiers qui ont l'intention d'utiliser le portail du Manifeste électronique.

Nota : Depuis le 1er avril 2011, chaque transporteur doit obligatoirement avoir un code de transporteur unique, attribué par l'ASFC, et le code itinérant générique de transporteur routier 77YY n'est plus accepté. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur le processus d'obtention d'un code de transporteur, consulter la section Transporteurs commerciaux du site Web de l'ASFC.

Envoyer le formulaire de demande EDI rempli directement à l'USTCC du Manifeste électronique :

Courrier :
Unité des services techniques aux clients commerciaux
L'intégration des systèmes opérationnels de programme
Direction générale des programmes
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
355 chemin North River, tour B, #6066, Ottawa (ON) K1A 0L8
Courriel :
TCCU.USTCC@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca
Télécopieur :
343-291-5482

Dès que le formulaire aura été reçu et traité, l'ASFC communiquera avec le client pour expliquer les prochaines étapes. Dans certains cas, avant la transmission des données, le client devra effectuer certains essais afin de vérifier que la communication électronique entre l'Agence et le client fonctionne.

Pour en savoir plus sur les essais et pour obtenir la trousse de mise à l'essai, communiquez avec l'USTCC du Manifeste électronique :

Courriel :
TCCU.USTCC@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca
Téléphone :
1-888-957-7224, appuyer sur le 1 (au Canada ou aux États-Unis, sans frais, 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7)
Date de modification :