eManifest
Advanced Commercial Information (eManifest) requirements for commercial shipments – detailed cargo description

Related links

Under Advanced Commercial Information (ACI) and eManifest initiatives, carriers must provide electronic cargo and conveyance data to the CBSA in advance of arriving at the Canadian border.

The CBSA encourages shippers to assist carriers in meeting eManifest requirements.

To do this, shippers are asked to provide customs commercial invoice level information to carriers about shipments destined to arrive in Canada. This is to enable the carriers to properly report cargo information to meet the CBSA's Advanced Commercial Information regulatory requirements. Examples of customs commercial invoice level information that shippers may provide to carriers include:

Detailed cargo description (requirement)

The Electronic Commerce Client Requirements Document (ECCRD) requires that a cargo description be "a plain language description of the cargo sufficient to identify it for customs purposes." It must be a clear and concise description; the description should be in plain language and detailed enough to allow the CBSA to identify the size, shape and characteristics of the cargo. However, information not relevant to the cargo description (e.g. quantity, type of packaging, carrier disclaimers, etc.), should not be transmitted in the cargo description field.

The provision of accurate, plain language cargo descriptions supports risk assessment and assists the CBSA in identifying low-risk shipments, thus facilitating the free flow of goods.

Any non-compliance with requirements, including the provision of the detailed cargo description, may result in delays and increased examinations of shipments to Canada. Also, clients deemed to be non-compliant may be issued monetary penalties under the Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS).

Date modified:

Manifeste électronique
Exigences liées à l'Information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales (Manifeste électronique) – description détaillée du fret

Liens connexes

Dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales (IPEC) et du Manifeste électronique, les transporteurs doivent transmettre les données sur le fret et le moyen de transport par voie électronique à l'ASFC avant leur arrivée à la frontière du Canada.

L'ASFC encourage les expéditeurs à aider les transporteurs à se conformer aux exigences du Manifeste électronique.

À cette fin, les expéditeurs doivent fournir les renseignements de la facture commerciale de douane aux transporteurs en ce qui concerne les expéditions à destination du Canada. Cela permettra aux transporteurs de déclarer correctement l'information liée au fret afin de se conformer aux exigences réglementaires de l'Information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales de l'ASFC. Parmi les renseignements que les expéditeurs peuvent transmettre aux transporteurs, citons :

Description détaillée du fret (exigence)

Le Document sur les exigences à l'égard des clients du commerce électronique (DECCE) exige que la description du fret soit « une description en termes simples et suffisants pour l'identifier à des fins douanières ». La description doit être claire, concise et présentée en termes simples et suffisamment détaillée pour permettre à l'ASFC de constater la grandeur, la forme et les caractéristiques du fret. Cependant, les renseignements qui ne sont pas pertinents à la description du fret (p.ex. la quantité, le type d'emballage, les dénégations de responsabilité du transporteur, etc.) ne devraient pas être inscrits dans le champ de description du fret.

La présentation de descriptions claires et précises appuie l'évaluation du risque et aide l'ASFC à identifier les expéditions à faible risque, facilitant ainsi la libre circulation des marchandises.

L'inobservation des exigences, y compris la présentation de description détaillée du fret, peut entraîner des retards et des examens accrus des expéditions au Canada. De plus, les clients jugés non conformes peuvent être passibles de sanctions aux termes du Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP).

 

Date de modification :