CANPASS

Telephone Reporting for CANPASS Private and Corporate Aircraft Programs

Telephone reporting is a system used by general aviation, i.e. private and corporate aircraft, to report to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) when entering Canada, as well as by participants in the CANPASS – Private Aircraft and CANPASS – Corporate Aircraft programs.

Introduction

The CANPASS initiatives are joint programs between the CBSA and Citizenship and Immigration Canada that streamline customs and immigration clearance for low‑risk travellers. Faster processing of these travellers enables customs and immigration personnel to focus on travellers who may present a higher risk.

Definitions

Airport of Entry (AOE)
Authorized Canada customs airport of entry and exit for clearance of all classes of air traffic.
Authorized CANPASS only airport (CPO)
A landing facility approved by the appropriate CBSA regional director as an airport of entry solely for those individuals and aircraft enrolled as participants in the CANPASS – Private Aircraft or CANPASS – Corporate Aircraft programs.
General aviation
Registered private or company owned or leased aircraft, carrying no more than 15 passengers.
Telephone reporting
A reporting process that is considered to meet all the requirements for "presentation of persons on arrival in Canada" as required by section 11 of the Customs Act.

Telephone reporting for CANPASS Private and Corporate Aircraft

The pilot must report the estimated time of arrival (ETA) by calling 1-888-CANPASS (1-888-226-7277) at least two hours, but no more than 48 hours before flying into Canada. Should the 1-888 service not be available, pilots must call the Telephone Reporting Centre (TRC) at 905-679-2073 (Hamilton, Ontario). The caller may incur long distance charges.

The pilot must advise the TRC of the following:

  • ETA
  • Aircraft licence/registration number
  • Destination in Canada
  • Full name, date of birth, citizenship for all persons on board
  • Purpose of trip and length of stay in Canada for non-residents
  • Length of absence for Canadian residents
  • A declaration must be provided for each person aboard, either by the pilot or the individual
  • Updates to the original ETA if changes are greaterthan 30 minutes or if any other previously provided information has changed

All travellers aboard must declare any personal goods they are importing, including firearms and weapons, and report currency and monetary instruments of a value equal to or greater than CDN$10,000. For more information on this new requirement, please see Cross Border Currency Reporting. If duties and/or taxes are payable, the TRC officer will also obtain a VISA or MasterCard number and expiration date from the individual concerned, along with the mailing address of the card holder.

Authorization holders can land at an AOE any time the site is open regardless of the hours of business of the local CBSA office. In addition, authorization holders may choose to use one of the designated "CANPASS only" airports.

If the aircraft has to land at a place not designated for customs reporting due to weather conditions or other circumstances, the pilot should call either 1-888-CANPASS or the nearest CBSA office or Royal Canadian Mounted Police office. Depending on the circumstances, the flight may be cleared over the phone, the pilot may be requested to await the arrival of a border services officer at that site, or the pilot may be requested to fly to the nearest AOE at the first opportunity.

CANPASS – Private Aircraft

The CANPASS – Private Aircraft program provides expanded customs services to participating aircraft owners, and their passengers.

The special landing privileges outlined in paragraph 6 only apply where all persons aboard the aircraft are participants in the CANPASS - Private Aircraft program. Should a non- authorization holder be aboard, the procedures outlined in Telephone Reporting for General Aviation must be used.

CANPASS – Corporate Aircraft

The CANPASS – Corporate Aircraft provides expanded customs services to corporations that, own or lease aircraft to carry passengers as part of their business.

Corporate flights are processed in the same manner as outlined in paragraphs 3 and 4 and have the same landing privileges outlined in paragraph 6. CANPASS – Corporate Aircraft authorization holders can transport up to four persons who do not have an authorization but are travelling on a corporate aircraft for a business related need of the company. In order to qualify, there must be at least one authorization holder among the passengers and those who are not authorized must be Canadian/U.S. citizens or permanent residents or resident aliens of the U.S. who meet the normal requirements for entry into Canada, and would otherwise qualify for CANPASS membership. If individuals receive a temporary authorization to travel on a declared CANPASS corporate flight, they will pay a $25 fee, per person, each time they land in Canada. This fee is in effect regardless of airport of entry or whether a border services officer is present. If there are more than four non- authorization holders aboard, CANPASS program cannot be used and the procedures outlined in Telephone Reporting for General Aviation will apply.

Verification of passages

CANPASS – Private Aircraft or CANPASS – Corporate Aircraft flights may at any time be subject to verification by CBSA. Requests for verification may be generated by the TRC or initiated by border services officers.

Additional information

General enquiries and requests for further information concerning telephone reporting for general aviation passages or for information on the CANPASS   Private Aircraft and CANPASS – Corporate Aircraft programs should be directed to Border Information Service (BIS):

  • from Canada call 1-800-461-9999
  • from outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply.
Date modified:

CANPASS

Déclaration par téléphone pour les programmes CANPASS –Aéronefs privés et Aéronefs

Le système de déclaration ar téléphone est utilisé par l'aviation générale, c'est-à-dire les aéronefs privés et d'entreprise, pour les formalités douanières et d'immigration à l'entrée au Canada, ainsi que par les participants aux programmes CANPASS - Aéronefs privés et CANPASS - Aéronefs d'entreprise.

Introduction

Les initiatives CANPASS sont des programmes conjoints de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) et de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada qui visent à simplifier les formalités douanières et d'immigration dans les cas des voyageurs à faible risque. Le traitement plus rapide de ces voyageurs permet au personnel des douanes et de l'immigration de concentrer son attention sur les voyageurs qui peuvent présenter un risque plus élevé.

Définitions

Aéroport d'entrée
Un aéroport autorisé par les douanes canadiennes pour servir de point d'entrée et de sortie aux fins de dédouanement de toutes les catégories de circulation aérienne.
Aéroport désigné CANPASS seulement
Une installation d'atterrissage approuvée par le directeur régional de l'ASFC concerné à titre d'aéroport pouvant être utilisé uniquement par les personnes et les aéronefs inscrits, en tant que participants au CANPASS - Aéronefs privés ou au CANPASS - Aéronefs d'entreprise.
Aviation générale
Un aéronef immatriculé, privé ou appartenant à une entreprise ou loué par une entreprise, ne transportant pas plus de 15 passagers.
Déclaration par téléphone
Une procédure de déclaration reconnue comme satisfaisant entièrement à l'obligation prescrite par l'article 11 de la Loi sur les douanes de se présenter à un bureau de douane à l'arrivée au Canada.

Déclaration par téléphone pour CANPASS - Aéronefs privés et d'entreprise

Le pilote doit annoncer l'heure d'arrivée prévue (HAP) en composant 1 888 CANPASS (1 888 226-7277) au moins deux heures, mais pas plus de 48 heures avant son arrivée au Canada. Si le service au numéro 1 888 n'est pas disponible, le pilote doit composer le numéro du Centre de déclaration par téléphone (CDT); il peut cependant se voir facturer des frais d'interurbain. Le numéro de téléphone du CDT est le 905-679-2073 (Hamilton, Ontario).

Le pilote doit préciser au CDT :

  • l'heure d'arrivée prévue (HAP)
  • le numéro d'enregistrement ou d'immatriculation de l'aéronef
  • sa destination au Canada
  • le nom au complet, la date de naissance et, la citoyenneté de chaque personne à bord
  • le motif et la durée du séjour au Canada dans le cas d'un non-résident
  • la durée du séjour à l'étranger dans le cas d'un résident canadien
  • une déclaration pour chaque personne à bord , présentée par le voyageur ou le pilote
  • tout changement à l'HAP, si celui-ci est de plus de 30 minutes, et tout changement aux renseignements déjà fournis

Les passagers doivent déclarer toutes les marchandises personnelles qu'ils importent, y compris les armes à feu et autres armes. Également, ils doivent déclarer toutes les espèces et tous les effets d'une valeur égale ou supérieure à 10 000 $CA, pour plus de renseignements, consulter la publication Déclaration des mouvements transfrontaliers des espèces. Si des droits et des taxes sont payables, l'agent du CDT obtiendra des intéressés un numéro de carte VISA ou MasterCard ainsi que la date d'expiration de la carte et l'adresse postale du détenteur de la carte.

Les titulaires d'autorisation peuvent atterrir à un aéroport d'entrée en tout temps pendant les heures d'ouverture du site, peu importe les heures d'ouverture du bureau de l'ASFC local. En outre, les titulaires d'autorisation peuvent opter pour l'un des aéroports désignés CANPASS seulement.

Si, à cause des conditions atmosphériques ou d'autres circonstances, l'aéronef doit atterrir à un endroit autre que celui désigné aux fins de la déclaration douanière, le pilote doit soit composer 1 888 CANPASS, soit appeler au bureau de l'ASFC ou au bureau de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada le plus proche. Selon les circonstances, les formalités douanières et d'immigration afférentes au vol peuvent se faire au téléphone, le pilote peut devoir attendre sur place l'arrivée d'un agent des services frontaliers ou on peut lui demander de poursuivre son vol à la première occasion jusqu'à l'aéroport d'entrée le plus proche.

CANPASS - Aéronefs privés

Le programme CANPASS - Aéronefs privés offre des services douaniers élargis aux propriétaires d'aéronef participants et à leurs passagers.

Les privilèges d'atterrissage décrits au paragraphe 6 ne s'appliquent que lorsque toutes les personnes à bord de l'aéronef sont des participants au programme CANPASS - Aéronefs privés. Si un non-titulaire de permis se trouve à bord, il faut appliquer la procédure décrite dans le document intitulé « Déclaration par téléphone pour l'aviation générale ».

CANPASS - Aéronefs d'entreprise

Le programme CANPASS - Aéronefs d'entreprise offre des services douaniers élargis aux sociétés qui possèdent ou louent un aéronef qu'elles utilisent pour transporter des passagers dans le cadre de leurs activités.

Les vols des aéronefs d'entreprise sont traités de la façon décrite aux paragraphes 3 et 4 et bénéficient des mêmes privilèges d'atterrissage que ceux décrits au paragraphe 6. Les titulaires d'une autorisation CANPASS - Aéronefs d'entreprise peuvent transporter jusqu'à quatre non-titulaires d'autorisation dont le voyage s'inscrit dans la cours des activités de l'entreprise. Cependant, il doit se trouver au moins un titulaire d'autorisation à bord et les non-titulaires d'autorisation doivent être des citoyens du Canada ou des États-Unis ou des résidents permanents du Canada ou des résidents étrangers des États-Unis qui satisfont à toutes les conditions normales d'entrée au Canada et qui, autrement, seraient admissibles à participer au programme CANPASS. Les personnes qui reçoivent l'autorisation temporaire de voyager sur un vol CANPASS - Aéronefs d'entreprise doivent payer des frais de 25 $ par personne chaque fois qu'elles arrivent au Canada. Ces frais sont applicables quel que soit l'aéroport d'entrée et peu importe si un agent des services frontaliers est présent ou non. S'il y a plus de quatre non-titulaires d'autorisation à bord, on ne peut avoir recours au programme CANPASS et il faut suivre la procédure décrite dans le document intitulé « Déclaration par téléphone pour l'aviation générale ».

Vérification des vols

Les vols qui entrent au Canada dans le cadre des programmes CANPASS - Aéronefs privés ou CANPASS - Aéronefs d'entreprise peuvent en tout temps faire l'objet d'une vérification de l'ASFC. Les demandes de vérification peuvent provenir du CDT ou des agents des services frontaliers.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Les demandes de renseignements généraux et supplémentaires sur la déclaration par téléphone des vols de l'aviation générale ou les demandes de renseignements sur les programmes CANPASS - Aéronefs privés et CANPASS - Aéronefs d'entreprise doivent être adressées au Système d'information sur la frontière (SIF) :

  • 1-800-461-9999, pour les appels en provenance du Canada;
  • 204-983-3500 ou 506-636-5064, pour les appels provenant de l'extérieur du Canada. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés.
Date de modification :