Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Exporters

Note to exporters

Information on various sources of statistics relating to the export of military goods and technology, including conventional arms and ammunition, can be found on the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development's Export Permits and Export Controls Web site.

Related Links

U.S. Customs and Border Protection
U.S. Customs and Border Protection is the primary enforcement agency protecting the U.S. borders. Their Web site contains useful information for Canadians exporting to the U.S.

Business Number Registration
The BN is a numbering system that simplifies and streamlines the way businesses deal with the federal government. It is based on the idea of one business, one number. To register for a BN, or to include an RM program account identifier activated for export to your existing BN, call the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Business Enquiries at 1-800-959-5525. BN registration, through Business Registration Online, is also available for small and medium-sized businesses that do not have complex registration requirements.

Canada Business Network
Canada Business Network is a collaborative arrangement among federal departments and agencies, provincial and territorial governments and not-for-profit entities. It provides information relating to all trade-related government departments and agencies including such subjects as starting to export, export financing, export market research, export marketing and entering the market.

The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service
The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service provides on-the-ground intelligence and practical advice on foreign markets to help you make better, timely and cost-effective decisions in order to achieve your goals abroad.

Export Development Canada
Export Development Canada provides insurance and financial services, bonding products and small business solutions to Canadian exporters and investors and their international buyers. They also support Canadian direct investment abroad and investment into Canada. Much of their business is done in partnership with other financial institutions and through collaboration with the government of Canada.

Certificates of origin
For Canadian exporters doing business under a free trade agreement, a certificate of origin must be completed in order for the importer in the foreign country to be able to claim preferential tariff treatment. For more information, please see: Memorandum D11-4-14, Certification of Origin

Duty Deferral Program
The Duty Deferral Program is designed to allow, in certain circumstances, importers, producers and exporters, to either relieve or defer the payment of import duties on imported goods. For more information, please see: Memorandum D20-1-4, Proof of Export, Canadian Ownership, and Destruction of Commercial Goods.

Goods and Services Tax (GST)/Harmonized Sales Tax (HST)
There are various situations that entitle Canadian and non-resident individuals or businesses to a GST/HST rebate. Click on the link above to find out if this is relevant to you, and how to apply for a GST/HST rebate.

USDA Import Requirements for All Firewood and Spruce Logs from Canada
Requirements for Canadian firewood of all species, as well as spruce logs (Picea spp.), have been applied at all Canada-United States points of entry. The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) requirements were published to prevent invasive forest pests, such as the brown spruce longhorn beetle, from being introduced into the United States. Failure to comply with these requirements may result in shipments being rejected at the border.

Exportateurs

Avis aux exportateurs

De l'information sur les diverses sources de statistiques liées à l'exportation de marchandises et de technologies militaires, y compris des armes et des munitions conventionnelles, est disponible sur le site Web du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement, sous la section Licences et contrôles des exportations.

Liens connexes

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (en anglais seulement)
U.S. Customs and Border Protection constitue le principal organisme d’exécution pour la protection des frontières américaines. Son site Web contient de l’information utile pour les Canadiens qui exportent des marchandises aux États Unis.

Inscription du numéro d'entreprise
Le numéro d’entreprise (NE) est un système de numérotation qui simplifie les relations entre les entreprises et le gouvernement fédéral. Le NE repose sur l’idée suivante : une entreprise, un numéro. Pour enregistrer un NE ou inclure un identificateur de compte RM pour l’exportation à un NE existant, veuillez téléphoner au service de renseignements pour les entreprises de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC), au 1-800-959-7775. Les petites et moyennes entreprises dont les exigences d’inscription sont simples peuvent également inscrire leur NE au moyen du service d’inscription en direct des entreprises.

Réseau Entreprises Canada
Le Réseau Entreprises Canada est né d’un accord de collaboration entre des ministères et organismes fédéraux, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et des organismes sans but lucratif. Il fournit de l’information concernant l’ensemble des ministères et organismes gouvernementaux s’occupant du commerce. Divers sujets sont abordés, notamment le lancement d’activités d’exportation, le financement d’activités d’exportation, les études de marchés d’exportation, la commercialisation des exportations et la pénétration d’un marché.

Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada
Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada, grâce à sa présence sur le terrain, fournit des renseignements commerciaux et des conseils pratiques sur les marchés étrangers pour vous aider à prendre de meilleures décisions, de manière plus rapide et rentable, afin d’atteindre vos objectifs à l’étranger.

Exportation et Développement Canada
Exportation et Développement Canada offre des solutions d’assurances et de financement, des produits de cautionnement de même que des solutions pour petites entreprises aux exportateurs et investisseurs canadiens et à leurs acheteurs étrangers. Il appuie aussi l’investissement direct canadien à l’étranger et les investissements au Canada. Ses activités sont en grande partie réalisées en partenariat avec d’autres institutions financières et en collaboration avec le gouvernement du Canada.

Certificats d’origine
Les Canadiens qui exportent des marchandises dans le cadre d’un accord de libre-échange doivent remplir un certificat d’origine pour que l’importateur puisse réclamer un traitement tarifaire préférentiel. Veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D11-4-14, Certificat d'origine pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.

Programme d'exonération des droits
Le Programme d’exonération des droits vise à accorder, dans certains cas, aux importateurs, aux producteurs et aux exportateurs, l’exonération ou le report du paiement des droits d’importation sur les marchandises importées. Veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D20-1-4, Preuves de l'exportation, de l'origine canadienne et de la destruction de marchandises commerciales pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.

Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS)/taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH)
Les entreprises et les particuliers canadiens et non résidents sont admissibles à une remise de la TPS/TVH dans certains cas. Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessus pour vérifier si l’un de ces cas s’applique à vous et connaître la façon de demander une remise de la TPS/TVH.

Exigences d’importation de l'USDA pour le bois de chauffage et les billes d’épinette en provenance du Canada
Il s’agit des exigences pour l’ensemble des espèces de bois de chauffage canadien, de même que les billes d’épinette (Picea spp.), appliquées à tous les points d’entrée à la frontière canado-américaine. Les exigences du département de l’Agriculture des États-Unis (USDA) visent à prévenir l’introduction aux États-Unis de parasites forestiers envahissants, tels que le longicorne brun de l’épinette. La non-conformité à ces exigences pourrait entraîner le rejet des envois à la frontière.

Ces renseignements vous ont-ils été utiles?