Remote Traveller Processing Pilot at Morses Line, Quebec

A remote traveller processing pilot at the Morses Line border crossing in Saint-Armand, Quebec, provides travellers with extended hours of service. During staffed hours, travellers are processed by a border services officer as usual. After the staffed hours at this border crossing, travellers are processed by an off-site officer through a kiosk equipped with two-way audio and one-way video.

The remote traveller processing pilot is only open to citizens and permanent residents of Canada and the United States (U.S.). No commercial goods or carriers will be processed through remote traveller processing after staffed hours of service.

The pilot at the Morses Line border crossing began on January 18, 2016. Registration is not required.

Hours of service

Remote traveller processing hours of service (travellers): Monday to Sunday, 4 p.m. to 8 a.m. EST

Staffed hours of service (travellers): Monday to Sunday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. EST
Staffed hours of service (commercial): Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. EST (except holidays)

How the pilot works

When you arrive at the border crossing after staffed hours of service, you will be processed remotely by a border services officer located at the CBSA Telephone Reporting Centre. The officer will see your vehicle approach using the on-site video cameras.

The officer will then interview you and your passengers using the audio-video system at the kiosk. After the interview, the officer will determine whether you and any passengers and goods in your vehicle are allowed to enter Canada. If you or your passengers owe duty and taxes, you will be able to make your payment using a valid credit card only. The officer will process the payments remotely from the CBSA Telephone Reporting Centre.

If the officer at the CBSA Telephone Reporting Centre determines that you or any passengers or goods require further verification or examination, the officer will advise you to:

Once you are authorized to enter Canada, the officer will open the security gates and you may enter Canada.

Enhanced infrastructure and equipment, such as fencing, gates, increased lighting and video cameras, have been installed to prevent travellers from crossing the border without authorization and to ensure border integrity is maintained.

Date modified:

Projet pilote de traitement à distance des voyageurs à Morses Line (Québec)

Les voyageurs se présentant au point d'entrée de Morses Line à Saint-Armand (Québec) profitent d'heures de service prolongées grâce à un projet pilote. Durant les heures normales de service ou dotées en personnel, les voyageurs sont traités par un agent des services frontaliers au point d'entrée conformément à la procédure normale. Après les heures normales, les voyageurs sont traités par un agent des services frontaliers affecté dans un centre de traitement à distance, au moyen d'une borne permettant une interaction audio bidirectionnelle, ainsi qu'une interaction vidéo unidirectionnelle.

Le projet pilote de traitement à distance des voyageurs est réservé aux citoyens et aux résidents permanents du Canada et des États-Unis. Les transporteurs et les biens commerciaux ne pourront pas être traités à distance après les heures normales de service.

Le projet pilote au point d'entrée de Morses Line a commencé le 18 janvier 2016. Aucune inscription n'est requise.

Heures de service

Traitement à distance des voyageurs – heures de service (voyageurs) : lundi au dimanche, 16 h à 8 h, HNE

Heures normales de service (voyageurs) : lundi au dimanche, 8 h à 16 h, HNE
Heures normales de service (commercial) : lundi au vendredi, 8 h à 16 h, HNE (sauf les jours fériés)

Fonctionnement du projet pilote

Si vous vous présentez au point d'entrée après les heures normales de service, vous serez traité à distance par un agent des services frontaliers affecté au Centre de déclaration par téléphone de l'ASFC. L'agent pourra voir votre véhicule arriver grâce aux caméras installées au point d'entrée.

L'agent vous posera des questions, ainsi qu'à vos passagers, le cas échéant, à l'aide du système audiovisuel dans la borne. Après l'entrevue, l'agent déterminera si vous et vos passagers et les marchandises dans votre véhicule pouvez entrer au Canada. Si vous ou vos passagers devez acquitter des droits et des taxes, vous pourrez effectuer le paiement à l'aide d'une carte de crédit valide seulement. L'agent traitera les paiements à distance à partir du Centre de déclaration par téléphone de l'ASFC.

Si l'agent au Centre de déclaration détermine que vous, vos passagers ou vos marchandises devez faire l'objet d'une vérification ou d'un examen supplémentaire, il vous demandera :

Après vous avoir autorisé à entrer au Canada, l'agent déclenchera l'ouverture des barrières de sécurité et vous pourrez poursuivre votre chemin.

Des infrastructures et de l'équipement améliorés, notamment des clôtures, des barrières et de meilleurs systèmes d'éclairage et de caméras, ont été installés pour empêcher les voyageurs de passer la frontière sans autorisation et pour assurer l'intégrité de la frontière.

Date de modification :