Access to Information and Privacy

How to make a request under the Privacy Act

Requests for personal information pertaining to the requester and held by the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) should be made to the CBSA under the Privacy Act. The requester must either: be in Canada, be a Canadian Citizen, or be a Permanent Resident.

Submit an Online Request

  • Use the ATIP Online Request service for a faster, easier and more convenient way to submit privacy requests. Apply online today to save time.

Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Online Request

Submit a Written Request

Formal written requests under the Privacy Act must:

  • Be signed by the requester and dated;
  • Include the full name, mailing address, and if possible, a telephone number and/or e-mail address where the requester can be contacted between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. on weekdays.

Written requests may be submitted using the Personal Information Request form (TBS/SCT 350-58 ), or in a letter indicating that the request is made in accordance with the Privacy Act. There are no fees involved with the processing of a request under the Privacy Act.

Requests must include sufficient detail to enable an experienced employee of the CBSA, with a reasonable effort, to identify the records that are being requested. Examples include, but are not limited to, time periods, file numbers, client identifiers, file names, report titles, locations (office, port of entry or region/branch), names of individuals, dates of birth (if requesting traveller history or immigration files).

Requests for personal information that is not the requester's must be made under the Access to Information Act. Please refer to the section How to make a request under the Access to Information Act.

Requests made pursuant to the Privacy Act must be addressed as follows and sent by mail or fax (343-291-7012):

Canada Border Services Agency
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
333 North River Road
14th Floor, Tower A
Vanier, Ontario
K1A 0L8

In addition, inquiries concerning the Privacy request process at the CBSA may be e-mailed to Please note that any inquiries related to the processing of a specific request should be directed to the officer handling your request, and should reference the request number assigned to it by our office in your correspondence.

Date modified:

L'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels
Comment faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Dans cette section

Lorsqu'une personne souhaite obtenir des renseignements la concernant qui sont détenus par l'ASFC, elle doit présenter sa demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels à l'Agence. Le demandeur doit se trouver au Canada, être citoyen canadien ou être résident permanent.

Soumettre une demande en ligne

Demande d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) en ligne

Soumettre une demande papier

Les demandes papier officielles soumises conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels doivent respecter les consignes suivantes :

Une demande écrite peut être présentée au moyen du formulaire de demande d'accès à des renseignements personnels (TBS/SCT 350-58) ou d'une lettre qui précise que la demande est présentée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il n'y a pas de frais à payer pour le traitement de ce type de demande.

Les demandes doivent être suffisamment détaillées pour permettre à un agent expérimenté de l'ASFC de trouver, sans trop de difficultés, les documents voulus. Voici des exemples d'éléments à fournir : les délais, les noms et numéros de dossier, les identificateurs de client, les titres de rapport, l'endroit oùse trouvent les documents (bureau, point d'entrée ou région/direction générale), les noms des personnes concernées et leur date de naissance (si les antécédents de voyageurs ou des dossiers d'immigration sont demandés).

Les demandes de communication de renseignements personnels faites pour le compte d'une autre personne doivent être présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Voir la rubrique Comment faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. doivent être envoyées par la poste à l'adresse qui suit ou par télécopieur (343-291-7012) :

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et
de la protection des renseignements personnels
333, rue North River
14e étage, Tour A
Vanier (Ontario)
K1A 0L8

De plus, les questions concernant la marche à suivre pour présenter une demande de communication de renseignements personnels à l'ASFC peuvent être envoyées par courriel à l'adresse cbsa-asfc_atip-aiprp@cbsa.gc.ca. Il est à noter que les questions qui portent sur une demande précise doivent être directement adressées à l'agent à qui la demande a été confiée. Lorsque vous écrivez à l'ASFC, veuillez indiquer le numéro de référence qui a été attribué à votre dossier.

Date de modification :