Acts, Regulations and Other Regulatory Information


Canada Border Services Agency Act [S.C. 2005, c. 38]

The Canada Border Services Agency Act establishes the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), which was created by Order in Council on December 12, 2003. The Act sets out the responsibilities, mandate, powers, duties and functions of the Minister responsible for the Agency and its President.

Under this Act, the CBSA is responsible for providing integrated border services that support national security priorities and facilitate the free flow of persons and goods, including animals and plants, which meet all requirements under the program legislation.

Customs Act [R.S.C. 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.)]

One of the key pieces of legislation governing the CBSA mandate is the Customs Act.

The Customs Act was first enacted in 1867 to do the following:

  • ensure the collection of duties;
  • control the movement of people and goods into and out of Canada; and
  • protect Canadian industry from real or potential injury caused by the actual or contemplated import of dumped or subsidized goods and by other forms of unfair competition.

The Act is not a taxing statute. It provides legislative authority to administer and enforce the collection of duties and taxes that are imposed under separate taxing legislation, such as the Customs Tariff, the Excise Tax Act, the Excise Act and the Special Import Measures Act.

The Customs Act was revised in 1986 to maintain the original Act's three purposes and to allow for greater flexibility in new transportation, communication, trade and business practices. Since 1986, the Act has been amended several times in response to free trade and other related international agreements.

In June 2009, amendments were made to support the Government of Canada's strategy to strengthen security and facilitate trade. With these changes to the Customs Act, the CBSA will be able to strengthen the systems used for obtaining advance data on goods and people arriving in Canada and better manage risk at air and sea ports.

Other acts

The CBSA administers more than 90 acts, regulations and international agreements on behalf of other federal departments and agencies, the provinces and the territories.

Among them are:


A regulation, in its broadest sense, sets out principles, rules, or conditions that govern the behaviour of citizens and organizations. Regulations are known as "subordinate legislation" because the authority to make Regulations is granted by an Act of Parliament, known as the regulation's "enabling legislation".

While the CBSA administers many regulations, the majority of the regulations administered and enforced by the CBSA are made under the authority of the Customs Act and Customs Tariff

Customs Act

Customs Tariff

Other Regulations

The CBSA also shares responsibility for the administration and enforcement of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations made under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Other regulatory information

Delegation instruments

The following instruments delegate certain powers, duties and functions conferred on the Minister and/or the President of the CBSA under the Canada Border Services Agency Act or the program legislation.

Designation instruments

The following instruments have been signed to designate officers to perform certain functions:

Date modified:

Lois, règlements et autres renseignements relatifs aux mesures réglementaires

Lois

Loi sur l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada [L.C. 2005, ch. 38]

La Loi sur l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada établit l'ASFC, qui a été créée par décret en conseil le 12 décembre 2003. La loi fixe les responsabilités, le mandat, les pouvoirs, les fonctions et les attributions du ministre responsable de l'Agence et de son président.

Selon cette loi, l'ASFC est responsable de la prestation de services frontaliers intégrés qui appuient les priorités en matière de sécurité nationale et facilitent la libre circulation des personnes et des marchandises, y compris les animaux et les végétaux, qui respectent toutes les exigences des lois relatives aux programmes.

Douanes, Loi sur les [1985, ch. 1 (2e suppl.)]

La Loi sur les douanes est l'une des principales lois régissant le mandat de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC).

La Loi sur les douanes a été promulguée pour la première fois en 1867 afin de :

  • percevoir des droits;
  • contrôler le mouvement des personnes et des marchandises entrant au Canada et en sortant;
  • protéger l'industrie canadienne contre les dommages réels ou possibles causés par le dumping ou le subventionnement des marchandises importées ainsi que par d'autres formes de concurrence déloyale.

Cette loi n'est pas une loi fiscale. Elle sert à fournir l'autorité législative nécessaire pour appliquer et exécuter la perception des droits et des taxes qui sont imposés en vertu d'une législation fiscale distincte, comme le Tarif des douanes, la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, la Loi sur l'accise et la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation.

La Loi sur les douanes a fait l'objet d'une révision en 1986 afin de maintenir les trois objectifs principaux de la Loi originale et de fournir une souplesse accrue en tenant compte des changements survenus dans les domaines du transport, des communications, du commerce et des pratiques commerciales. Depuis 1986, elle a été modifiée plusieurs fois en raison des accords de libre-échange et des accords internationaux connexes.

En juin 2009, des modifications ont été apportées afin de mieux appuyer la stratégie du gouvernement du Canada visant à améliorer la sécurité et à faciliter les échanges commerciaux. Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les douanes permettront à l'ASFC de renforcer les systèmes qui servent à obtenir de l'information préalable sur les marchandises et les personnes qui arrivent au Canada et de mieux gérer le risque dans les aéroports et les ports.

Autres lois

L'ASFC met en œuvre plus de 90 lois, règlements et ententes internationales au nom d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, des provinces et des territoires, notamment ceux qui suivent :

Règlements

Dans son acception la plus large, un règlement énonce des principes, des règles ou des conditions qui régissent le comportement des citoyens et des organismes. Les règlements sont considérés comme des mesures législatives subordonnées, car le pouvoir d'établir des règlements est attribué en vertu d'une loi fédérale connue comme la « loi habilitante » sur laquelle s'appuie le règlement.

Même si l'ASFC est appelée à appliquer de nombreux règlements, la majorité de ceux qu'elle doit faire observer ont été créés en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes et du Tarif des douanes.

Loi sur les douanes

Tarif des douanes

Autres règlements

L'ASFC partage également la responsabilité de l'application et du contrôle de l'observation du Règlement sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés pris en application de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Autres renseignements relatifs aux mesures réglementaires

Instruments de délégation

Les instruments suivants servent à déléguer certains pouvoirs et certaines attributions ou fonctions qui ont été confiés au ministre ou au président de l'ASFC en vertu de la Loi sur l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada ou d'une loi associée à un programme.

Instruments de désignations

Les instruments suivants ont été signés en vue de désigner des agents responsables de certaines fonctions :

Date de modification :